Remains in our Heart

30 58
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

We have a lot of celebrations like wedding, birthdays, fiesta, and many other yearly tradition that we enjoy. Among these celebrations, Christmas is my top favorite and since I want to save my stories about Christmas for December, I will go for my second on the list which is the Halloween.

Yes, as a typical Filipino we celebrate Halloween, not with a trick or treat but with a family gathering. How I spent it? Let me first share you first some of our beliefs during the day of burial.

Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Let me Flex to you my sponsors, one of those persons who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)

________________________

Burial : Beliefs and Tradition

Years ago when my grandfather died due to cancer(May God Bless his soul), and everyone filled with pain because of that. He was a strict father but a very kind and loving grandfather. I know it is God's will to let him rest; a blessings in disguise.

Every one of us wears white on the day of burial as a sign of peace. We relatives must pass under his coffin before delivering him to the cemetery. Those men carrying the coffin raise it higher, and everyone begins to pass beneath it. There is no turning back; once you have passed, you should not look back. I remember my aunt holds my head so I don't look back when it's my turn to pass.

The next stop will be the church, where a mass must be held to bless and pray for the soul of my grandfather. This is also the location where his children will speak in front of all of his relatives about his life in this world. Everyone must then form a line to shower him with holy water after. The final stop is at the cemetery. There was still a short prayer, and then a time to place flowers above his coffin before they will bury it. This is what the elders told us: don't let your tears fall into the coffin. I don't know what is the reason behind this, but we prefer to follow it.

I wasn't in the mood to eat bread at the time, so I hid mine in my shoulder bag until my mother noticed it and told me to bring it out and eat it. I asked her why, and she said, "It's for respect, and it's already dirty when you bring it home." Food prepared for the cemetery should not be brought home; it should be left or done in the cemetery. Finally, before we go home, we this. what we call "pa-usok," in which we start a fire and then extinguish it to create smoke through which we must pass and step out. There is no going back; once you are done, you should not return.

Halloween Celebration

Most Filipinos celebrate Halloween between the last week of October up to the second day of November. In our family, we go to the cemetery every November 1 or 2, which is All Saint's day and All Soul's day respectively.

This is our second-biggest gathering, where all of our relatives go to the cemetery. There are layco/laity (are church members who can preside bible study and conduct property blessings; such as house blessings) who you can easily approach to conduct a short prayer for your loved ones. After the short prayer, we have some goods for my grandfather.

Unsplash - by Julia Kadel

The first is the flower, which is the most common gift for loved ones. At the cemetery, you don't have to worry about this because when this event occurred, there were many vendors available. Since we have a lot of flowers, it's me and my mother who prepare it at home. Next was the food; we always give a small amount of food. But always remember to open it so that the souls of your loved ones can smell and taste the aroma of the food. We put some drinks(an alcoholic drink), because my grandfather used to drink when was with us. So my grandmother always brought some for him. After this, we will all gather at my grandmother's house and cook different foods, that aside for gathering again, it's my cousin's birthday also.

Unsplash - by David Monje

When we got home at night, we made an altar with candles and foods for my mom's parents, who died when she was young. We put a candle in each door of our house, a belief that it will light their path as they enter.

All these things are done to respect and pray for their souls; that will always remains in our heart


This is my entry for @LykeLyca 's one year anniversary here in read.cash. To you Sis, happy anniversary and I wish you for more success here in read.cash and also in your personal life. May GOD Bless you more!

If you guys want to join her giveaways you can read it here.

#13

________________________

Lead image was edited using PicsArt

****

Author's love message :

Hello lovely readers!

How was your day?

We have different beliefs and tradition, but there is only one thing that we must have, and it is to respect. For those readers out there who are still crying inside because of their love ones who passed away. May GOD heal your heart and trust him with all your heart.

For you to fully understand this beliefs of us, I recommend you to watch Coco and The Book of Life, these two are animated film which can teach you about the meaning and importance of the life in other world.

GOD Bless!

Sending hugs.

Ps. Once again thank you Sis Bloghound for the renewal of your sponsorship. You are always there to support us. Just want to Flex you again and again. To Lucifer01 who likes to dedicate articles to us, that was so sweet. May you have a more fruitful journey here.

September 15, 2021

-Ling

14
$ 3.52
$ 3.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.05 from @Marinov
+ 6
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Mga Pinoy talaga ganito mag celebrate ng halloween. I remember, I wrote one last year about our halloween tradition, and of couse cooking our favorite Biko hehe! Biko din ba tawag sa inyo? haha! basta un na un..

Btw, thanks for joining and this is timely, malapit na rin halloween!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo Sis Biko, at may Binignit pa hahahha Ito agad pumasok sa isip ko after ko basahin ang article mo. Buti nalang at gumana agad utak ko. Thank you din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what Halloween celebration is but we always celebrate burial and we do remembrance as well

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It became part of our culture Sis, but I know you understand how it goes because you have this burial belief too:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawa cool. Yeah, this is a true traditional event and holy events bring a lot of joy and happiness. Keep enjoy dear and stay happy. You deserve more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same wishes with you. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are most welcome ling! Keep doing well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A part of the tradition interests me; during your grandpa's burial, When you pass under the coffin, you mentioned that you mustn't look back. May I know why? It's caught my interest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I didn't asked my parents or aunt about it Kris, at that time we just follow everything they said without asking why :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want the full story, could you possibly ask them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, let me ask them tomorrow :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traditional works are getting lost day by day. But it was great to see that you are prioritizing this work first. I appreciate your work. I know you are a good person.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! And speaking of work. I have seen a notification about your work, I will read it:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also do "pagpag" after the burial, to ensure that no one will follow as one of the beliefs. In the recent times some children wear costumes and ask for candies during halloween haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sa palabas ko lang talaga nakita tung pagpag, but di ko pa nasubukan or narinig sa relatives ko :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know about your that how you celebrate. We do celebrate in different ways. Btw, best of luck for your entry.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, it's part of our culture. Btw, did you join this too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope didn't join yet but I am thinking to join.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traditional works are getting smaller day by day. But you put that priority first. I appreciate your works. I know you are such a pure soul.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You always appreciate my works. A lot of thanks for that. GOD Bless! And I know you have a pure soul too, keep motivating other readers:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have a lot of ways how to celebrate. Thanks for sharing your ways. ☺️ And I am glad to meet another writer because of your article. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also met other users because of you Sis hahaha small world lang tayo dito:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha totoo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi namin pinag didiwang ang Halloween o undas ,minsan nag hahanda at pumupunta kami sa mga namayapa naming Mahal sa buhay ☺️ dahil minsan lang sa isang taon ang Halloween kaya nag hahanda talaga kami😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kahit kami Sis, di talaga mawawala ang biko at binignit hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo... Biko po talaga ang number one lutuin saamin kapag Halloween haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We dont celebrate Halloween in my country, they say its a cursed event sadly so we cant

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's okay, we have different beliefs and perspectives. Just in our country it's part of our tradition :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago