Do Plants Have Souls?

20 104
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Plants is part of our life, and it is used for many purposes; for trees, it shield us from too much heat, for flowers it adds beauty in our surroundings, for fruits and vegetables it makes us more healthy and serve a delicious food. These things that I have mentioned are just few to hundreds and thousands of benefits that plants can offer to our life. But does it comes in your mind if they have souls too?

________________________

Biotic and Abiotic Factors

In Science, we have these two factors which make up the ecosystem. First is the Biotic factors, these are the living things, such as human, plants and animals. While Abiotic factors are those non living things such as, air, water and light.

My former biology teacher asked us if black board (the one the we are using in school) is Biotic of Abiotic factor, ofcourse we all answered that it was Abiotic as it is a nonliving thing, yet he explained that it was still a Biotic factor since it was made from a tree which is a living thing. For the plants, we know that Bio means life, in which some people and Philosophers considered plants to have souls, as for them every living things have souls as part of life.

Human Behavior

Talking to plants is so common for those Plant Titas and Plant Titos out there. According to them, talking to plants help them to grow healthy and nice. Just like how we pet our animals, that we must also treat them as part of our family. In human body, we have the brain and spinal cord, as the center of our nervous system which controls our actions. Plants don't have these, which could be conclude that there's a possibility that they have souls, although some said that the reason why they grow is only because of the carbon dioxide that we produce while talking. Lol

The movements of plants is also one of the basis which others believe that they are literally alive. In the Philippines, we have Makahiya as the most common plant which closes when you touch. At first you will see that it is alive, but in studies this is only how the plant reacts to stimuli, to avoid predators.

If you haven't seen Makahiya yet, this is how it looks;

I laughed when one commentor said, "see vegetarians? Plants have feelings too". Then one user replied, "Oh then, What should we eat?".

We also have Carnivorous plants such as Venus Flytrap.

Unsplash - by Carla Quario

Just imagine that we are not taking care of our nature, then climate change worsen. This kind of plants evolve in order to survive and now looking for humans instead of insects to eat. Nothing, just reminding.

Aristotle's Philosophy

Aristotle believed that there are 3 Types of Souls : nutritive, sensible, and rational. According to him, everything with life has a soul, not just humans but even plants. Particularly, for the plants, there's this vegetative/nutritive soul being the most prevalent soul found in living things. This type of souls help the plants for it's development and reproduction, referred to be "material" not because it is made up of stuff, but because it is organically dependent on matter for its growth and survival. Just like humans that can produce offspring, plants also produce their own offspring through asexual reproduction urges by it's nutritive soul.


Whether the plants have souls or none, what we MUST do is to take care of them. Plants is equal to our nature, and how we treat them is one major outcome of our future. Our planet is already exhausted, let's help it to relax through taking care of our plants.


Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty

Flexing my sponsors, people who guide and support me throughout my journey here. You guys can check them too:)


Images were edited using Canva/PicsArt

read.cash|Telegram|gmail

April 23, 2022

-Ling

35
$ 6.81
$ 5.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Alther
$ 0.06 from @Dreamboy
+ 29
Sponsors of Ling01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ling01
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is my first time to see this kind of plant. I have question to you buddy, Is this plant really can feel human touch?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plants are wonderful living beings and probably the best. Think about how Jagadish Chandra Bose experimentally proved that plants are living beings. Prof. Bose demonstrated with his own designed stringed instruments to draw ECG-like breathing output of plants on a coal-ash blackened glass drum. How can plants be devoid of souls?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe they do, although in a subtler way. Aside that there are plants that behave much like animals, like the carnivorous ones. Aside the biology of it all, plants have emotions and love being cared for too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Whether the plants have souls or none, what we MUST do is to take care of them" This says it all. I have been in argument about plants having soul or not. Well I chose the side that they do not have souls but taking care of them is the most important thing, wether or not they have souls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plants are living things created by God as friends and food for our lives as humans. In my opinion plants have no soul because only humans have souls because plants will have no further purpose in life while humans will have goals after the world ends. I am sorry if I am wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a good one, it's an exposition. I've never thought of treating plant the same way we cater for pet. The only time we give plant intention is when weeds are attacking them, which we clear of to give them space

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plants, for me, are alive and they have souls and emotions. We should really take care of them because they are one of our hopes in letting the air breathe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WE have that plant "makhayia" as "chhui mui" in english as said 'touch me not' plant, well i have only touched it once when I was little and went to a batchmate's home. He showed it to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that plants have soul. Because they have ability to identify their gardener.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you still studying ate? We have a lot of makahiya plants here near in our farm. When the first time I encountered them, I am so curious why they are closing their leaves all of a sudden. I have this habit of touching all the Makahiya when I see some haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako I believe they have souls talaga they are living creatures kaya so may soul yan haha sabi pa nga nila kausapin mo para mas mabilis lumaki ang halaman haha and I did muka lang akong ewan haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama Sis, yun nga madalas sinasabi nila, lalo na yung mga Momshie at Lolas haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do believe they have soul that is why when a tree is cut I can't look at it. It is like killing them. Whenever I talk to plants and flowers at work, they bloom beautifully more. This made me think they have souls.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will totally have to agree with Aristotle's philosophy there because it only makes sense to believe that every living thing has a soul.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Titas tree we called in Bangladesh its sorminda tree. Because when we touch it feel shy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hmmm maybe really talking to plant help their vitals because we were releasing carbon dioxide and monoxide and they could easily absorb that so they do replenish photosynthesis hehe. Yeah, I think that plant had a soul, it has a cell so it has a life. Oww, I had a vegan friend and I got something to discuss when we met in somewhere hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They said that the reason why vegetarians only eat vegetables is that they feel pity to animals. But I don't know what's the side of the others haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very informative one, title caught my attention and the content reminds me of my college days where our instructor also lecture us about Biotic and Abiotic factors..

I already forgot all about it, but my mind refresh after reading it..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm glad that this help you Dawn. I'm fan of this kind of topic, especially science :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe true, I love science also but I am more in english haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago