"Bayle", one of our Dance tradition

25 1214
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

"🎶🎶🎶I can't believe what I just heard, could it be true. Are you the girl I thought I knew. The one who promised me her love. Where did it go, does anybody ever know🎶🎶🎶" Anyone familiar with this song? A lyric from " How do you heal a broken heart'. Maybe some here are not, as it was I guess released during the 80's.

I just overheard this song from our neighbor and it made me reminisce about some of my teenage years. During our time there was no social media where you can meet someone. So if it happened you had a crush on someone living in the next town. You would be lucky if you can see him often.

So I went back to when I was still a teenager in the early 2000's. Hahah. Are you trying to compute my age? Teenager in our Barrio are so excited for "Fiesta" ( it is a celebration of our patron saint). Why? It is because of BAYLE.

BAYLE is a social gathering usually the highlights of events during fiesta. It is held at night at the town plaza. So visitors as well as natives of the area are invited to this event especially the gentlemen and maiden. Oh, before I forgot it is not for FREE. There is an entrance fee and gentlemen usually pay higher than the ladies. Well sometimes ladies get a free entrance. Sounds unfair? hahaha that's the tradition.

During this event, people are just there to enjoy, specifically dancing. There are three categories of music.

Disco - this is you can freely dance even alone with those melodic and upbeat songs. You can even jump or head bang if you want too.

Cha-cha - is a ballroom dance which is under the Latin American dance category. I actually did some research and I just knew as of today that it actually originates in Cuba. Wow, and it even reaches the Philippines. Amazing.

The last but not the least is SWEET.

Sweet - because music played is love songs. This is the chance for the gentleman to ask the lady he likes to dance with him. So now you understand why gentlemen pay higher? Hehehe. Well, we girls can't ask the guy we want to dance with us.
I,on the other hand, usually chose to leave if this is the music played. Not because I don't want to, but because my strict Mom was just outside the plaza. She is just standing there and never lets us out of her sight.
So as a typical teenager how can I do some "landi-landi" (flirting)? It is so awkward right?

I remember there was a time, my crush who lives in the next Barrio approached me. We exchange few a conversations, usually getting to know each others questions. I was so KILIG that time. When the sweet music played, he asked for a dance. And since mother is making " bantay"( guarding) I declined him. He thought I was just shy, so he asked me if I wanted to go outside to have some refreshment maybe. Still I declined and told him that I can't and I pointed to my Mom standing in a corner. Without a word he left. Huh! and I don't understand why.

I attached here a video courtesy of YouTube for better references as I am not sure if I had described it well.

Closing thoughts.

That was the reason why that song I overheard from our neighbor reminds me of my teenage year. I remembered all my failed supposed to be moments with my crush. My parents were really strict back then and we are only allowed to go to " bayle" only in our town. Unlike teenagers in our Barrio, they visit other " Baylehan".
My Father reasoned out that it is not necessary for us to go since we have nothing to do there aside from flirting. Oh Father was so judgmental. Could it be we , my sisters and I just want to enjoy?

I bet only few have experienced this.

Have a good day everyone. I need to sleep as it's already 09:38 PM here as of this writing. I still have work tomorrow and I need to get up at 5:00 AM.

Find me at noise cash, here.

13
$ 2.16
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 3
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

To remember is to live. We enjoy remembering those special moments. Do you go to bed so early? I usually go to bed at 12pm and up. And I get up early too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I usually go to bed early because I wake up early regardlesss what time I slept the previous night. Yeah it was fun remember those memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe you will always come first in your youth in the memories of this youth. The most beautiful and never forgotten rights are the most memorable times as a teenager. did you ever do mischief as a teenager...heheh maybe it's memorable..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahah I was Ms goody shoes when I was a teenager.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much relate for this sis. Actually I don't have any experience. My father is really strict about this thing. I was excited when it comes to fiesta because of the disco since you will feel the fiesta of a place if there will be a loud sound.

My aunt knows how to "Cha-cha" sis. The "Sweet" also I understand it. My classmates always told me about the sweet songs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Somehow it is okay that are parents are strict sis, cause some of my neighbor married early. They meet this spouse thru bayle😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I agree with that sis. My parents is in the middle. They know how to balance. There are things that they are super strict but there are things not totally strict.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait sis bisaya ka ?hehe from the word bayle , Naalala ko din to kasi lola ko kapag may Fiesta sa Barrio namin siya yung kinukuhang magdadasal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ilonggo ako sis. Though I can understand I little bit of Bisaya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah akala ko bisaya bayle din kasi tawag sa amin sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha medyo may hawig lng ng salita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Bayle sounds like so much fun! It will be cool to experience something like that. Do you know how to Cha Cha?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it was indeed fun! Just basic Cha cha but I am not good in dancing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it's still nice that you even know the basics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baylehan naman samin sis. Every fiesta may paganyan sa probinsya jusko tapos daming nasayaw. Si hubby since Aklan ang province bayle ang tawag din. One time nung nagfiesta sa kanila nakapunta kami sa bayle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Taga aklan pala sila Hubby mo? Hirap ng dialext noon, hindi ko matutunan. Kami din kapag fiesta lng sa amin nakakapunta. Sobra higpit nina tatay. D makapaglandi😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true, my Mom told me about the time they were using the postal office to send messages, unlike now that we can just send it through email. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Life was really different back then!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me check it more. I had no idea about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe it you don't have that tradition in your country Devil

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Disco, nah I actually don't go when any event happen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are so excited during our times sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mostly this kind of tradition matatagpuan sa mga probinsya. one time my bisaya friend from Leyte nagshashare sya ng mga ganyang party sa baryo nila. hihi. I have many Bisaya friends at school. they teach me Bisaya words too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I guess mostly sa province lng to. Maayong buntag!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maayong buntag saiml! tama ba? hahaha. gosh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago