Are husband required to "SURRENDER" their ATM cards (salary) to their wives?

38 117
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago
Sponsors of Lhes
empty
empty
empty

Hey, by just reading the title perhaps those who are still single could not relate with this. It is fine, you may give your opinion based on your perspective if ever you get married. Hehe.
Actually I was just curious so I decided to write and somehow I would like to know everyone's stand with regards to this.

When I was still a kid, I always witnessed my parents having an argument due to financial issues. My Father most of the time does not "REMIT" his income to my Mother. Don't get my Mom wrong, she is just mad as all my Dad's income was all spent into vices. 😬


We are also aware that the OLD tradition was, the husband would give his income to the wife and the wife would be the one to budget. That was because women are just staying at home to fulfill her role as Wife.

Nowadays things are different. There are even a lot of working moms, raise your hands if you belong.

So here are two different scenarious;

When my older sisters got married and I was in high school, that time, I knew that their husbands " ATM's card" was on them. It was surrendered, lol! Thus I could sometimes hear them and complaining it was hard to budget. Like their husbands want this and that, spend this and that but income is not enough. So it was hard . It's was so challenging to balance when income is deficit versus with expenses right?
So I told them , maybe it would be better to return the ATM's card to their husband then they will be the one to do the budgeting.

Yet my sisters do not agree as they say, it's the wife's responsibility.

That made me think, aw it's hard to be a wife.

I got a different perspective when I started working.

It was just normal conversations with my female officemates that time that are married. Most of them are actually married . I was surprised upon knowing that most of them are not holding their husband's ATM cards. They are just dividing the expenses at home. Maybe not that equally divided, lol! They don't give a demn, if their husband would spent their remaining penny into something they want as long as they provided what they need to provide at home. In addition the same applies with them with regards to their salaries. Oh, that was cool, right?

For sure there would be no arguments about financial matters.

Same goes with my male officemates. Though there are some who chose to give their ATM to their wives but maybe only 1%. I remember one of them, which was our Area Sales Supervisor told me that he already surrendered his ATM to his wife. I was in awe as I did not expect it. Yet he added that his wife was already pregnant with their first baby so she doesn't want her to be stressed. But what happened after his wife gave birth? Well he takes back his ATM card. Awit! , I laughed the moment I knew about it. He further told me that he is making sure that he provides all the needs at home.

Image Source

My opinion;

In my case, if you're going to ask me, it's a NO. My husband's ATM card is not on me. Hehe, is an OFW and when he stayed here for two years after we got married he was jobless so there is none to be remitted or to be surrendered, lol! Though he says, he is sending all his salary to me. He just got some for his monthly allowance. His remittances varies, yes I know how much is his salary as stated in his contract. Yet it is not fixed, they sometimes have OT.

If you will ask my point of view with regards to this, I am okay if he would give his card to me. I am okay if not and we will divide expenses at home.
Life is hard now, with an ongoing price hike with everything couples should really help each other. Aside from that I don't want to have issues with regard to financial aspects. It is not healthy at all.

Yet whay important is which ever set a couple into, they both agree with it. Right?

How about you? Are husband required to "SURRENDER" their ATM cards (salary) to their wives?

I would like to read your comments, opinions at the comment section.

If you feel bored and want someone to talk with you can contact me here. I would surely reply as long as it's not my office hours.
Noise cash

Telegram

20
$ 4.76
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Avatar for Lhes
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

We don't have money at ATM so it's useless if I give it to wife or hold it myself. LoL. Because what we get today we use as well as possible For the most important needs, the rest for tomorrow and so on, this is more than enough most importantly we don't owe anyone. About saving at an ATM, we can't save it yet, hopefully in the future we can

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha you have a point, what's the use of ATM if doesn't have money hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Samin, hindi sis! Glad I was already making money before I got married so...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same sa amin sis. hindi naman siya nakikialam sa pera ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes or no? On my part naman sis di required at all si hubby lang ang nag insist since wala naman ako work. Yung salary atm nya nasa kanya pero ung allotment atm na sakin, pag uwi naman nya binibigay nya lahat ng sahod nya, tas nanghihingi lang sya ng allowance once dito sya sa Pinas. I guess lucky lang ako kasi kahit payslip pinapakita nya di ko naman hinihingi😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wow, kawerte mo nga sis, it simple means din na he trust you well. Magaling ka din maghawak ng monye siguro kaya panatag din siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magastos lang ako sa food sis, pero sa ibang bagay hindi, si hubby ang mahilig gumastos kaya cguro binibigay nya sakin kasi pag na sa kanya baka kung anu ano pa mabili nya😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah ako hindi naman magastos, nag problem kapag nabibigla. mas maayos humawak pera asawa ko sa akin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Baliktad pala tayo sis, hahaha pero I am sure kapag nagkaanak ka na maiintindihan mo kung bakit ako matipid😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha, siguro. Madalang lng naman ako nagastos. iyon nga lng kapag nabigla, spur at the moment lng na may nagustuhan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magbabago yan sis, maniwala ka sakin:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah siguro sis. iba pa kasi kapag wala pa baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it is the last resort if the husband is not responsible with finances but I don't believe that they should surrender it. You are right that that is the tradition. We talk about women empowerment and independent women. It's still wise that before a woman gets married, set herself first to be financially stable, both the husband and wife actually and then both will share in everything. That is more ideal. Of course we can't discount the fact that other factors come into play like other financial responsibilities especially the family. What if, God forbid, the woman lost her husband? What then? So securing your future is really important.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree with your opinion. It is really important for a women to be financially independent as aside from losing a husband due to death, what if due to infidelity? Seeing many broken marriage now? Tssk, another is this could lessen domestics violence against women. Why? Simply if the man sees his wife was financially capable I somehow believe he will have a doubt hurting her. For the fact he knows, his wife could leave him any moment.

parang gandang topic to, haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go na at gawan na ng post yan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala ako balak mag asawa kaya no 🥺 chariringfff hahahaha. I think mas better if budget lang for the whole month ang ibbgay. Wag namang lahat na wala ng natura sa asawa. I mean, sila ang nagpagod dun so deserve nilang gastusan din ang mga sarili nila diba diba.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahah pwede din, hindi pa masakit sa ulo magbudget kung kulang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I'm not a married guy. No idea about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe it's okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that's the right thing to do to make all things right. It is my wife who holds my ATM then everytime when we have our salary, I ask her a little amount.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, your okay with giving your a to your wife if ever?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very okay with as long as it is spent wisely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis kung ako nasa situation okay lang sakin na ibigay niya sakin kung hindi niya ibigay okay lang din sakin. Ang mahalaga nagtutulungan parin kami sis. Halos na sa wife sis nuh. Mostly yan naririnig ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dati sis, pero now iba na. Same tayo, ok lng ibigay niya ok lng din hindi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe for me who is not married I may have a perception in myself that if we get married we will probably talk about it together because this is important because financial management must be a priority because this is a source of life for needs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, what ever the set will be okay. As long as both of you agreed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't know people surrendered their salary. In my country, I heard that so many years ago, women were asked to submit theirs to their husband, he would take some/most of it and give her whatever he leaves. I don't know if it truly happened though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe and the husband was the one doing the budgeting?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unbelievable, I thought that didn't happen anymore. Well, in my opinion, all countries have been victims of that time when women depended on men, today I fully support the fact that women she does not see her partner as a father who has to support her, she is independent and sure of herself and no longer needs someone to solve her problems

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That was the old tradition, hehe unlike now women are really independent. Which is much better right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

father ko kasi nasa nanay ko ang sahod nya, kasi malakas manigarilyo tatay ko tska salat na salat din kami noon. Ako, wala sken ang sahod ng asawa ko. Mahirap kapag pera ang pinagaawayan ng magasawa. Mauuwi sa bangayan, sisihan, sumbatan etc. Tska tama ka sis, mahirap magbudget mas okay na ang husband ang magbigay ng budget para mas sumakit ulo nila hahahha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha diba sis? Sasakit pa ulo mo paano pagkasyahin. Kaya nga , mahirap kapag pera na pinag aawayan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis sa aking experience ang atm ni hubby ko ay nasa akin. Pero kapag pay day siya nawidraw kase madalang ako lumabas. Pero kapag nawidraw na niya ibibgay na niya sa akin lahat at bibigyan ko n lng siya ng kanyang allowance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow galing. Hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think husbands are already tired of their wives heheh And if a wife asks her husband for her ATM card, she will not be bothered.😅😅🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, to.avoid rants?

$ 0.00
2 years ago