Traded 10000 Bitcoins for Two Pizzas

21 99
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Date: April 28, 2022 (Thursday)

Photo Credits from Unsplash

Have you heard about the guy who traded his 10000 Bitcoins for two pizzas?

If you haven't heard about his story yet, you might be wondering: why would someone exchange his 10000 Bitcoins worth of millions of dollars already today for only two pizzas?

It was around 2010 when cryptocurrency specifically, Bitcoin, was reasonating around the world. Howbeit, Bitcoin hasn't had a real-world transaction yet. A lot of people even called Bitcoin as something not worth keeping for as it can't even be used in exchange for goods in the real-world.

Having said that, the story of the Florida-based man named, Laszlo Hanyecz, came in. He wanted to purchase a couple of pizzas using only his 10000 Bitcoins. He didn't want to purchase using cash, or gift cards, he just wanted to buy pizzas using his Bitcoin funds alone. That's when he posted a thread in an online forum about trading his 10000 Bitcoin for a couple of pizzas. Then on May 22, 201o, there's this user from England who took the offer and delivered two pizzas right into Laszlo's place in exchange for the 10000 Bitcoins. Just so you know, the pizzas where the first-world transaction happened was at Papa John's pizza shop in Florida.

Back then, 10000 Bitcoin was still worth around $40, not worth millions like what we have now. One can just took that amount for granted. Some can even do experiment from that amount which Laszlo did.

Hearing that story, you might think how foolish he was for doing so, but don't you know that we must be thankful for him in the first place?

Photo Credits from Unsplash

The First Real-World Purchase

You see, if he hasn't made that decision to trade his Bitcoins for two pizzas, Bitcoin may not be as popular as what it is now. People may not thought of Bitcoin as something with a great value. Back then, Bitcoin was only in cents, not even worth anything. But then, after that remarkable moment that the Florida-based man did, things have changed at their best. You see, someone has to start something in order to prove that it can be possible and it can have a value. And that courageous man, did an awesome job of initiating something that's life-changing.

We can't deny the fact that people only believe on things if they are already proven. People have doubts always especially on diving into something new, or not yet mainstreamed. Not to mention, Bitcoin has no greater value back then that the man just took the initiative on trading that Bitcoin to prove something and in the end, he indeed has made a mark.

If you're that man, how would you feel knowing that at the present, one Bitcoin is already worth around $40000 and an all time high of around $60000?

If I were the man who did that thing back then in 2010, I might have some regrets in my heart knowing that today, I might become an instant millionaire out from that 10000 Bitcoins that I had. If only I just hodl those Bitcoins, if only I just trust the process, things would have landed on a different angle.

Everything happens for a reason.

It's truly heartbreaking to know how things turned out, but if I were that man, I will just think that everything happens for a reason. Imagine if that certain event, didn't happen. Imagine not being able to prove that Bitcoin could have a value. Imagine if things were left there untouched. Can you imagine our Bitcoin value these days? Do you think it will be as popular as it is now?

Closing Thoughts

Truly, we have a lot of things to say for that man. But we should salute him as well for doing so, as today, we are enjoying something coming from that initiative.

Above all, things in life happens for a reason, we should not regret everything that happens in our lives as they are meant to happen. At the end of the day, we will always land on the path that we are meant to be.

Ten thousand Bitcoins for two pizzas, not bad at all, let's just talk on how wonderful the event turned out, and the rest were history.


Photo Credits from Unsplash
Recent Posts:

Lead Image Source (GIF): Credits Unsplash


noise.cash account | LeticiaFelize

19
$ 4.86
$ 4.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.04 from @yhanne
+ 7
Sponsors of LeticiaFelize
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for LeticiaFelize
2 years ago

Comments

Laszlo Hanyecz has an estimated net worth of $700,000 - $1,000,000. He's fine!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder how that guy is feeling now. He must be angry at himself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope that the man who trade his bitcoin for pizza had left some for himsef 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, and I also wonder if these days he has buy some cryptocurrencies hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The man has become part of Bitcoin's history and his transaction is recorded in the blockchain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah and he's so lucky to be recognized. It's just sad that after people have learned about his story, they tend to call the guy foolish where in fact, it has helped a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe you my friend LeticiaFelize that if 10000 readers. Surely the lives of many are good

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe everything happened for a reason and I wouldn´t blame him because anyone can do such thing. As I was reading this, I was thinking about BCH too. What if the price goes up massively just like bitcoin? We all would be an instant millionaire, but just as you have said, let´s trust the process while we are patient not to do things in an hurry.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Years from now, BCH might pump real high, we don't know. But let's trust the process for sure, continue to grind, have faith, who knows in the near future we will reach what we desire in our heartss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were the man I would not regret, I'm actually proud because the man was the first user in the real transaction.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same thoughts my friend qheer, I'm truly gratefuo and proud for that man. Through his initiative, things became possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am just quite amazed with that man..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I rwad about the story 3 years ago, and I was like, what a foolish man, but after reading this one, i was like, oh yeah, we should thank him for doing that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here my friend, the first time I heard his story and not going into the details, I thought what he did was foolish, but he has done it with a purpose so it's fine

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I heard about that I mean read. 10,000, if they are still holding that now they surely have a good life now. 😲

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We will surely get instant millionnaires or even billionnaires if we have that kind of amount my friend Ruffa hehe. But things do happen for a reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh wow. It happened for a reason as it is happened.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed my friend Kleah, everything happens for a reason. He should not fret as what he did was truly helpful to this day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly crave for pizza as I read your article my dear. Hahaha! Should I trade my bch for pizza too? Anyway you are right, everything happened for a reason and for sure the Florida man might have regretted his decision but I guess he has learned his lesson as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree my friend yhanne. He has truly learned his lesson from that experience. But what he did was truly helpful in our present crypto status hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

now that me struggling to get 0.00001 btc

$ 0.00
2 years ago