Why You Shouldn’t Force and Pressure Yourself: The Power of One Step at a Time

17 116
This image was made by the author using Canva

For some reason, I always push and pressure myself to work hard to increase my productivity and earn more money so I can provide for my needs and buy the things that I want. To the point that I am opening myself to all opportunities that I discover, it is like doing a lot of things every day and it is draining and makes me do the opposite of what I suppose to do.

In my previous post, I mentioned that surrounding yourself with people with the same habit that you want, they said surrounding yourself with successful people will also be a helpful key to becoming successful. I believe in it, but the downside that I noticed is that it is hard to stop your mind to compare yourself with them. They are successful and you are not, they are earning a lot and you are not. It is easy to say that you should stop negatively but you know, I think it is natural for the person to compare themselves…and it is hard to avoid.

The thing is, once you compare yourself to them, you will not notice that you are pressuring yourself by doing a lot of things that you are not even sure if it helps you in your life and career.

Although learning a new skill and having another side-hustle is good, it becomes unhealthy if you are doing a lot of things at one time. You are stressing yourself. Don’t say that you are multitasking…but sorry to burst your bubble, multitasking does not exist. According to Harvard Business Review, “multitasking does not exist, at least not as we think about it. We instead switch tasks. Our brain chooses which information to process.”

You see, I am writing on several platforms to start my writing career and earn some money from it but I am still seeking more because I feel that the money that I am receiving is not enough…and comparing myself with others is one of the reasons for this dilemma.

The solution that I am doing is working harder and exploring new things with or without relation to writing – which is I think a not-so-effective solution. As time passes by, every time I do my side-hustles, I realize that I can’t concentrate and focus more than before. The reason is that my time is divided and I am having a hard time growing in every community.

Every day, I have a lot of stuff on my plates and I found out that instead of working for them, I am discouraged because my mind will automatically think that my day is difficult and it is like a punishment for myself. 

This might be quite contradictory to being productive every day, building a new skill, and side-hustle. I learned that doing things slowly by executing them one step at a time is better than having a full schedule every day. Giving yourself free time every day for at least 30 minutes can refresh your mind. Pressuring yourself will never be helpful, yes, you can do a lot of tasks, but the question is, is it healthy? Do you enjoy it? Are you sure that you grow? Think again and ask yourself.

Now, I found a helpful way to overcome this pressure-yourself-thing and it is by choosing the things that you need to prioritize (you can rate it from 1 to 10), then making a schedule for each side hustle. For example, you can set writing and publishing on Monday, promote your blog posts on Tuesday, sell your services on other platforms like Fiverr and Upwork on Wednesday, and so on.

This is what I am doing right now as part of my experiment to myself where I could be more productive every day.

In short, you don’t have to pressure yourself to become successful, especially when you are young. I used to complain every time I encountered a person who earned twice my earnings but then, they said I should stop complaining because I am still young and I have more time to grow. I also learned that not giving a f*ck on everything and to everyone is also helpful for self-development.



Published: May 22, 2022

24
$ 15.04
$ 14.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.07 from @tpkidkai
+ 9
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty

Comments

I think it's natural to compare yourself to your peers. A good thing is to try and build community and that way, lift everybody up. Thanks for sharing on Dreemport.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sounds like you have a sensible plan to conserve your energy for now. If you allow the joy to dissipate then what is there left, right? Good article. I enjoyed reading this in Dreemport this evening. As an aside, did you know that there is a Canva protocol for image accreditation? Let me share an article written by @dreemsteem on Hive recently that will help you to provide clickable URL links going forward for Canva images and creations to ensure you meet Dreemport requirements :-)

How to properly cite images designed in canva

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take it easy younger bro - you are doing well. Compared to the teens nowadays ( and even me back then) your learning curve is superb. Keep it up !PIZZA aahhaa baka maligaw si bot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana tama ka! Hahaha

Minsan gusto ko din magka tipping bot dito hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people can grow and can work efficiently under pressure. I can testify to that. If I'm pressured, thoughts and ideas just kicked in while if I'm relaxed, I can get nothing out of my brain, and sometimes I even get writer's block. Though I work in that way and can handle the pressure, there is still a limit to that, of course. Every one of us has our limits, right? Then, so do I.

In terms of getting insecure when seeing other people's income, I also felt that back then. Well, as I grow up and learned a lot about life lessons, I just looked at them as my inspiration to work harder so that I can earn my desired income.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just looked at them as my inspiration to work harder so that I can earn my desired income.

At some point, I am doing the same.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we begin to compare ourselves with everyone, we are just putting unnecessary pressure on ourselves and it's not right neither is it nice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree with you, Mhizutty. So it's better not to compare ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First of all, there is no need to compare ourselves with others as all have separate skills. This jealousy can make us non-productive. We should focus on our strong points and improve them as much as we can. There is no need to pressurizing to brain as it is non-healthy job. You present your view in well splendid way brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for reading, BlueFlipper! I just find it difficult not to compare myself...but at some point, I use them as my inspiration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Comparison for inspirational purpose in not bad although. Thank you friend for reaction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said!!! Megan Has caused this turmoil!! She married into the family. has absolutely used Harry and the royal family. She is ungracious !! also pushing American attitude on the naturally reserved British! Harry needs to be home. HERE ➤➤ http://workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you are greedy, my dear. greed is good but too much is bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We don't have to jump. We do not need to pressure ourselves in life. The pressure may only lead to hypertension. If we take one step at a time, we'll still get there. Slow and steady is the goal. Let's take it little by little because if we pressure ourselves and rush too much, we may lose all at once

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the last statement that you've said. This is why taking one step at a time is better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's important not to pressure yourself, cos it doesn't increase but rather reduce productivity

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you are right. I even prove it to myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago