I Started Writing Even It Is Not My Passion

39 390
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

I really hated writing since then, but it taught me a lot of things.

Photo by Tirachard Kumtanom from Pexels

Every time I share my experience in writing, I am always saying that writing is not my passion, I don’t like writing. But it changed over time, I learned how to embrace it.

You see, when I was an elementary student, my age was around 11-13 years old. Not to mention, I was a straight honor student since pre-school. I loved science, in fact, I am always the candidate in the science quiz bee when different schools have competitions.

Fast forward, my teacher told me that we will participate in a school quiz bee; it is journalism. They said I wrote a good piece of news, news editorial, etc. Little did they know that most of those papers were written by my mother – yes, my mother was helping me.

I can’t write independently. I don’t have any interest in writing. Also, our school does not focus on writing news and any type of journalism. So, I don’t have any idea. 

The time came. If my memory serves me right, it was the time to write a news editorial. Break time. My teacher approached me, he said, “Write about Diskwento para sa mga senior citizen”. It is not the exact headline, but I remember the word diskwento and senior citizens.

Translation: Discount for senior citizens

As a 12-year-old kid who doesn't have any background in writing, I only wrote the title and then submitted it. 

It was my elementary story that I will never forget. Since then, I told myself not to join and participate in anything related to writing. I prefer solving math problems to writing; it was my motto in high school.

I graduated from Junior High school believing that solving math problems is easier. I never liked writing essays.

Until the pandemic started. I am always looking for a side-hustle to provide for my personal needs. Then someone referred me to join a platform where we can earn by writing blog posts.

Of course, I had second thoughts, I don’t know if it will work, but I gave it a try. The thing is, I did not write my blogs, I was plagiarizing content and got banned from the platform.

Before getting banned, I was earning money. I decided to join again with this on my mind: “I am going to write on my own”.

Until now, after almost two years, I am writing on the same platform. In fact, I already built camaraderie in the community. I have friends and followers. 

This community made me want to become a writer. I am surrounded by people who have a good mindset and are passionate about writing. I copied them, I did the same. Little by little, it caught my interest and I started reading writing tips from successful writers.

Writing became part of my routine. I am now writing my journal, documenting fun experiences, etc. Now, I am pursuing this career and hoping to become a freelance writer. In fact, I decided to start my website as the first step toward becoming a freelancer. I want to build my portfolio and become a successful writer someday.

My experience on my writing journey was bad from the start. But this bitter experience taught me a lot of things. Every time that I remember my experiences, I am smiling because I never thought that I would become a blogger and writer. The good thing is I am now enjoying writing.

Who will think that the person who hates writing will start to embrace and pursue it? But seriously, sometimes I am still thinking if this is my line of interest…is this a temporary hobby? 

But I know that writing offers huge opportunities not only financially but also mentally. At least, I can free my mind and express myself through writing.


Originally published on my website: marklaurence.net


Also written on:

  • Medium

  • Hive


Published: June 21, 2022

27
$ 13.48
$ 13.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
$ 0.05 from @tpkidkai
+ 12
Sponsors of Laurenceuuu
empty
Avatar for Laurenceuuu
1 year ago

Comments

I won first place in an editorial writing in high school. That's the time I started to think that I can do something good. Of course writing will always be part of my job being the head of the finance section since I need to write communications, memos and terminal reports. As a student, having a good foundation in writing will help you in countless ways. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am more of a storyteller rather than an article writer. Naligaw nang landas na pero I would agree sometimes even if it isn't our passion the monetary rewards will push us to be better in the said field.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman parang 'di ko niche ang story. Nagsusulat ako sa Inkwell before pero parang tamad ako gumawa ng story haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah Tagalog ang medium ko. Back then nung wala pang Inkwell, labo labo ang mga post as in scatter talaga.

May discord server nun na nag rereview ng mga post para ma curate ng mga curation groups at nagbibigay ng guidelines on how to improve pa tapos once published ni sa submit nila sa mga guild para may extrang reward. Haha those days grabe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly Lau, it's not my first time to read from you that writing is not your passion because I have read it for so many times but what I am wondering all the time is that why writing is not your passion when you are in fact good at it?

Maybe you should think a lot and maybe you'll realize writing is your talent and passion too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learned to embrace it though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan akala natin we hate it, pero doon pala tayo mag-eexcel someday. Congrats! Ako rin, hindi ko akalain na magiging writer ako haha. And isa pa, na magwowork ako sa field ng Freelancing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana all may clients! Ang hirap kumuha ng client especially kapag first client pero go lang hahahaha todo hanap din ako e.

Btw, nasa tg or discord ka pa?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me I don't even think I will able to write a single article and now I am publishing article on daily basis read.cash change my whole life and help me to recognize my abilities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This platform is life-changing indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The same here too. Writing has never been my passion. But read.cash gave me a platform.and the opportunity to embrace it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good one for us😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also believed in sleeping talent, hehe. Siguro dahil as the time passes and more exposure doon nagigising ang sleeping talent natin, me either, I don't want writing and I was weak in term of narratives back those times. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe they said think outside of the box😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me, I never really thought na makapag susulat ako ng mga ganito. Never in my wildest dream tbh that I thought of this. I also dream of making a story yes before pero never kong nagawa un, nangyari lang napunta ako diti. Really awesome. I am just thankful to read coz we are free tocwrite anything here ☞ ̄ᴥ ̄☞

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing diba hahaha I think I can continue writing with my website and other platforms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

halos same tayo. nasali rin ako sa journalism pero sports writing, hindi rin pinalad haha, at hindi ko rin talaga passion ang writing kahit pa communication ang major ko ngayong college haha pero dahil sa platform na 'to, mas naging open ako sa pagsusulat at I am now trying my best to learn and improve my writing skill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good luck for improving your skill, nathawriter!

I am still on the process of improving my works. Hope we can be successful someday😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did not notice that you hate writing in your style over the past article of yours that I have read. You got potential, buddy. Whether it's just a temporary hobby or not, it's fine I guess as long as you like what you are doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Ayane-chan! I will take it as a compliment. I really hate writing, my friends and family knows it.

Then this platform came and started to write, now I can express myself through writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But look at you now bro. The boy who doesn't have interest became a source of inspiration to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I can really inspire people 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako Naman since elem love ko na pagsusulat sa diary 🤣 Bet na bet ko mga essay pero hanggang dun lang Kasi nga diman ako magaling mag English

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hahahaha I never liked Diary before. Toxic culture na kinalakihan ko is kapag may diary ka, bakla ka.

And now I am writing on my journal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're doing great! Over the two years I've been reading your posts, I know you'll soon be an authority in crypto-blogging :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww let's manifest it. Thank you po😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Genius

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the part of admitting your not doing it then as honest as you are right now. And later pushed yourself to discover your skills on it and write your very own. And now your doing it great. Galing!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, grey! It was all part of my past and ain't bitter any more. Every time that I remember it, I am just laughing to myself.

Thank you for reading my work 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your welcome. I already bumped into some of your works and your friends are right. Your doing it great . A carreer on it sounds good on you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope you learned something from my works 🍀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman po sa Feature Writing Contest sinali ng teacher ko dati, buti na lang po naging okay naman at nanalo pa ako kaso District Level lang po tsaka Feature writing Filipino yun. Pero nung napahinga ako nahirapan na din po ako sa pagsusulat ulit at itong read lang ang nakapagpabalik sa natutulog kong utak sa pagsusulat hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice! I never won with any writing contest on our school hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha na-chambahan ko lang po hehehhe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brother when we hate something, it is start of likeness for that. When we get experience of that thing then it becomes our passion. More best wishes because you are one of my best content writer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, BlueFlipper. As they said, the more you hate, the more you love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! that was a great turning point. From just writing the title (it made me laugh by what you said, it is like I answer without following instructions and got zero hahaha) to a freelancer. Might be writing is really your hobby. Me too I really don't know if I will be here longer because i am not into writing too but I hope I am learning day by day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am still finding my purpose as a writer, we'll get there! Just pursue our passion hehe.

Thank you for reading, JenThoughts:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh hopefully you can find it very soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago