You're not scared of making friends

37 55
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Today was a somewhat busy day for me, I was arranging the things I needed to take back to school. As I mentioned in my article yesterday, I went home to my parents to collect foodstuffs from them coz I already exhausted the ones I took to my field practical training which ended recently.

I initially planned on staying back home for 2 or 3 days, but I remembered it tends to get very boring since I will be the only one left at home on weekdays, so I decided to just come back to the university today. While I was relaxing in the morning, a friend of mine called and said she was bored at home, that she is there alone.

I told her I would have come over but I am not around the school environment, so I advised her to go out and maybe visit her friends, then she said she doesn't have any friends (at this point I was like; so what am I? πŸ˜†). Then she later said that most of her friends are in other cities, so I said she can make new friends but she replied with; "I am scared".

Image source

I thought about what she said, then I told her; "you're not scared of making friends, you're scared of getting hurt". She paused and pondered about it, then said; "I think you're right" (of course I am right πŸ˜…). It might be from past experiences but people tend to build up walls to protect themselves from getting hurt by friends.

Most of the time, we might think we are afraid of a certain thing but it turns out our fear arises because of something else. Take for example, most people will say they are scared of being alone in the dark, but what they actually fear is finding out they aren't really alone in the dark.

One minute into staying in the dark and your brain starts playing tricks on you, shadows start to look real and you start getting a feeling of someone (or something) watching you, that's what brings up the fear.

I saw a quote some years back; "you're not scared of saying I love you, you're scared of the response", isn't that right? Of course it is. Before a person says I love you, they are already thinking; "what if she doesn't feel the same way?", "What if he laughs at me?", That's the real source of the fear.

Image source

Seeking new friends tends to scare a lot of people, most people will prefer to be on their own in a bid to prevent disappointments and betrayal from the people they call friends, especially when they have been hurt in the past. This is the reason why I will advise anybody not to trust anyone completely, humans are very complicated.

The fact that someone is always talking with you and both of you have fun together doesn't mean they are your friend, most people are extra careful of who they label as friends these days. I relate well with a lot of my classmates but does that mean they are all my friends? Of course not! πŸ˜ƒ

A friend is a person with whom you have a bond of mutual affection, but sometimes that bond isn't always mutual and it tends to be one-sided. There are a lot of parasitic friends out there who are only with you because of the benefits they are getting and when they have finally milked you dry, they abandon you.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I am always on the lookout for "friends" with such parasitic traits and I immediately cut them off when I notice it, it's better to cut off the head of the snake while it's still a baby than to allow it to grow, it might end up biting you when you least expect one day.

I will like to round up this article by asking the ladies this question; Do you prefer having male friends to female friends? My friend mentioned today that she prefers having male friends and a lot of ladies have also told me the same thing in the past, and what was their reason? Because females have too many problems πŸ˜† is it the same thing for you or do you have other reasons?

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Monday January 24th, 2022

17
$ 4.67
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

I have make and female friends but my males friends are more.My few female friends are the ones we have known each other since childhood,the rest are acquaintances. Sorry I might not be able to tell you the reason because of other girls that might see it in the comment sections and won't be happy with it. All I can say is that my male friends have a much more free mind towards me than my sisters.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally understand, we wouldn't want to risk reducing the number of female friends you have right now πŸ˜† but I have grabbed the little I can from all these, thanks for your input πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for understanding..... That's one of the reasons ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe you are more than a friend to herπŸ˜„ kidding!

And when it comes to friends, I don't choose the gender, but rather how I feel :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, that's the same for me but I have found out that most females in my country are extra picky when it comes to friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you missed the possible "green light" she was giving you lol. But you're right though, it can be scary to put yourself out there to make friends because of the fear of getting hurt

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trust me I didn't miss that green light 😁 I am just playing the long game, I am not in a hurry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣 🀣 Alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me the question for the people you asked, no matter how strong we claim we are to accept any responsibility given to us by someone you are ready to give our all if the response isn't something we wanted to hear it will surely break a place in us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmm, that's another angle and i think you're right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same is with me, my all friends live in different cities now but I still make new friends./

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great that you're open to making new friends 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Broken Friendship is more pain than breaking up with partners. That's why we need to choose wise when making friends, because not everyone is your friend some are just strangers that makes you laugh for a moment then leave. Alsonwe need to put our trust to those who really deserve it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A lot of people aren't supposed to be in our lives forever, some of the ones we call friends are just there to teach us some certain things in life and when we have learnt it, they leave

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friends are needed in everyone's life but in some cases we are too scared to make friends. And what you said is really something to think about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just because we are scared of the result that comes with making friends. Thanks Mazekin πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friendship is not easy to keep. Me, I have many people I flow with but not friends...just like you said. Talking about male or female friends, of cos ladies like male friend to female friends for two reasons;

  1. The problematic nature of ladies

  2. Because they benefit more finally from guys. 🀦🀦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, that number 2 is very correct o, I haven't actually thought if it that way. Having lots of male friends are very beneficial for them especially when it comes to their birthday, their female friends won't even do anything for them but the males are ready to buy heaven and earth πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You get the point now. I love female friends but I maintain some good boundaries. I'm not father Christmas πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really common Kushy! Even you are together we really don't that he/she is our true friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We just have to make sure not to trust people easily, there are lots of fake friends out there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always laugh that I don’t want anymore friends, I have many, yet the new ones always find me πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Among the many friends you think you have, you already know the ones that are your true friends πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally, I am particular when it comes to people I call FRIENDS and friends can break your heart too, believe me, I know, felt it time and again. When it comes to gender I prefer as friends, I am do not mind really, any would do.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's usually the females that are picky about the gender they keep as friends, I also don't mind either

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most annoying thing is when you get an ungrateful friend. exist when we are not needed and disappear when we need it. In this context, I learn from life experience because indeed every human being has a different character, sometimes the person we think of as a good friend is the one who will be a barrier but there are also people who are not always with us can be familiar friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Someone you know for just 5 minutes might help you more than a friend you know for over 5 years, friendship can be really crazy sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's a very useful remark and I have to give appreciation for this interesting remark, friend.. good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A big TRUE for this kushyzee. We are not scared on what we are going to do, what are the plans we have, the real is we are scared on what will be the result or the response. It's the main reason why we have a fears to try the things.

Yes Kushyzee you're right. It doesn't mean that you are in together then laughing and enjoying they are your true friends. Reals friends are very rare. Some are sticking with you because of the benefits they get.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the reason why we must try to hold on to the true friends we have, because it will be hard to replace them when they are lost

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Kushyzee that's true. Keep and treasure them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Female friends. I'm not comfortable hanging around with males 🀣. I do have male friends in college, but that was because they're my classmates lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜† I think you're the first female I have come across that isn't comfortable around males

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said...most of us are scared of making friends so we won't be hurt of betrayed by them, it's better to stay lonely than to have friends who are just there to benefit from you and leave you when you are broke.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly bro, we must do well to guide our mental health from getting hurt by fake friends

$ 0.00
2 years ago