Ugly but real smile

29 48
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Hello ladies and gentlemen of readcash, how was your day? Mine was stressful as hell 😩 My classmates and I were helping a Ph.D. student carry out an experiment in the laboratory and it was more than we bargained for.

We used a microscope to count the number of cells in the sperm of a fish and then we also counted the number of eggs in the ovaries of the female. We spent hours doing that and we had little breaks in between. I was finally able to take a breather at about 6pm, it was indeed a stressful day.

I laughed when I saw that tweet on Twitter, it is funny but it's also kinda true (at least for me). Looking at most of my childhood pictures, I was smiling widely and I know those smiles back then were genuine because I didn't have a lot of responsibilities back then (except house chores πŸ˜†).

Childhood was a stage where we didn't have anything to worry about, life was a lot simpler back then and a lot of us dreamed about becoming adults, but if we had known it will turn out this way, we would have chosen to remain as children πŸ˜†

Now we have gotten to adulthood and we have started missing being a child (at least for me). Most of our pictures now comprise fake smiles and beautiful faces. I don't even bother to smile in pictures, it's only in some rare cases that I have managed to crack a smile while taking pictures.

Image source

There are lots of things to worry about as an adult, and some of us aren't even fully independent of our parents. We still depend on them for things like shelter and sometimes food, but that still doesn't stop us from thinking about our future because we know we can't depend on our parents for long.

The mistake a lot of youths make is to be too comfortable in their parent's house, they end up believing things are always going to be that way and so they don't even bother to fight for their future. It works out for some of them, especially the ones that have rich parents and always get what they want.

The unfortunate ones even after inheriting a fortune from their parents end up losing everything because they don't know how to manage their assets properly. Our parent's house is where we are allowed to make all the mistakes we want in order to know how to properly face life as an adult.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Even after knowing how to cope on our own, life still doesn't give us enough reason to smile. There's always one thing or the other that we have to worry about every day as an adult. Be it food or shelter, most of our worries all boil down to money; we basically need money to take care of almost (if not all) our needs.

The funny thing is that some of the smiles I have on my face sometimes are because of me remembering some of my childhood memories. But does that mean there are no fun memories as an adult? Of course not, but it can't be compared to the ones we had as a child.

But at the same time, it's not everyone that had a fun childhood. Some people didn't enjoy their childhood because of one reason or the other and they only experienced the sweet part of life when they are already adults. So I guess we can say it's not the same for everyone (it's always not the same).

Image source

The good thing with this is that even when life finds a thousand reasons to knock us down, we still look for a reason to stand up and smile, we can't afford to let life win and we just have to keep going. So, just remember to keep smiling and be positive that everything will be ok at the end πŸ˜‰

Big shout out to @Jane for her sponsorship renewal. You have put a smile on my face today and I am very grateful for it Ate πŸ€—

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Friday March 11, 2022

18
$ 3.06
$ 2.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Amazing-grace
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

You had a tough day Kush counting eggs and sperm. It might have been fun at some point but if done for hours, ouch!

And very true, our childhood smiles are the most genuine☺ How nice of you to share and make us reminisce our tender years

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't actually take part in counting of the sperm cells, I had to focus on other aspects that won't bore me to death πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aah, that's cool then haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

... I remember those days in histology lab, where we would use a microscope to study done epithelial cells and tissues of various organs in the human body. Counting the sperms of fish? . Laugh want kill me for here. who is that wicked person that give you that kind work 🀣🀣. Hmm, some people are not afraid of God sha...... Sometimes I wish I was 15 years younger 🀦

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ it's actually a PhD project and I actually had fun with it, but I guess that's because I wasn't part of those counting the sperm cells πŸ˜‚ I just focused on dissecting the fish and extracting their sperm sacs and ovaries

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The childhood memories can’t be forgotten at all and it’s that the smiles back then is genuinely real sometimes when I check my childhood pictures on my Facebook account I smile but not my recent pictures. We now sad generation with happy pictures πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We still find a reason to smile these day even when life wants to make us sad 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things like football I think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is true, childhood happiness was real happiness and that joy we experienced as children still makes us happy as adults when we think about it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Reminiscing about our childhood is a sure way of remaining happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The memories of our childhood can't be compared to when we become adults,I miss childhood where we used to play around with tyre and sand those memories can't be forgotten.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did a lot of those outdoor activities back then, but these days we don't even have time for that anymore coz all of us are busy chasing money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great post, For me the beginning of my path to independence was after I started asking myself what will happen to me after my parent won't b there anymore. I realized how fragile I was and since then I started trying to find a way to overcome this vulnerability by becoming less and less reliant on people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A lot of people still haven't come to that same conclusion, they are still under the illusion that their parents are always going to be there for them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Suddenly i remember my childhood memories upon reading this article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a good thing that you remembered those memories 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, I just being reminded of how I was in my childhood days. I have this moment that I wasn't able to show my biggest smile ,especially when I've got a tooth decay. Hehe. But seriously, even I am ugly or in bisaya term, "Yagit" at that time, all the good memories before are the best and I have come to the point that I put a big smiles in my face even though I am ugly.πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The happiness we had in our childhood was very real because we didn't have much to worry about. I am glad you still found a reason to smile in your childhood and even now πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always the smile that makes us beautiful 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And those smiles came easily back then 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah i remember those days too. So carefree and it seem s like I have no problem at all. Everything is fine everytime. My husband feels the same too but we do have wonderful Moments now as a family, and we do everything to make our kids feel the way we do as kids

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very nice of you and your husband, your kids should have a very wonderful childhood so they can have good memories to look back to in their adulthood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly we had fantastic moments during our childhood days, some of the memories put lovely smiles on my face, adulthood is stressful and full of responsibilities that are ready to break one down or shatter us to pieces.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Adulthood is truly the stage where life tests our resolve, it's only those that have fully prepared for it that can come out victorious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Preparing and never giving up, that's the zeal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww I felt like my mind started to reminisce the memories of my childhood days, and this is really legit, when I'm looking back at the photos and videos of my childhood, those smile I see was so genuine like there's no faking it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We didn't even have to think before smiling back then, the smiles just came naturally and easily as it's meant to be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The beauty of kids' hearts is unique and I was I could carry it on from then to adulthood, this stage na scam. Our parent painted the wrong picture for us, they make it look like adulthood is the best and we fell for it.

I just understood that it is only filled with responsibilities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all thought adulthood is going to be a straight road, but it's now that we have realised the road is filled with bumbs and potholes

$ 0.00
2 years ago