Science students; but not the regular type you know

28 53
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Howdy folks, how are you all doing today? It's like 8 days to Christmas already, are you ready for the celebration? I am not sure if I am ready, I will probably find out when I leave school on Sunday and go back to my family's house.

The weather has been very cold for the past few days all thanks to the harmattan that is blowing across the country, I expect it to be this way for the rest of this year. This harmattan season also comes with a high rate of dust but luckily for me, I am mostly indoors.

Now let's head over to the main topic for today; science students. I won't be talking about the usual science students we have in schools, I will be talking about those found in the streets, those of you in Nigeria would have figured out what I mean by now, a popular musician sang about it some years ago.

Image source

The science students I am referring to are the drug lords, the youths that are mixing and taking drugs in every nook and cranny of society and have become a menace. It's quite baffling the type of substance these individuals take all in the quest to get high, a quest to get them even higher than the clouds.

A couple of years ago, I came across a post on nairaland where a lady listed some of the dangerous substances that are taken by the youths in my country and they are; Codeine (cough syrup), Tramadol, Dry pawpaw leaves, Hypo in lacasera (a soft drink), TomTom in lacasera, Burnt bitumen, Dry plantain leaves, Burnt tires, Spirogyra, Rephnol, Methylated spirit in codeine, Colorado, Cannabis, Gum, 10days urine.

That list is really crazy! Seriously, burnt tires and 10 days urine? Some people have a death wish. I have also heard about people smoking burnt scorpions, all because they want to get high.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

The most common one in my country is marijuana (cannabis, Indian hemp, weed, or any other name you know it as). It's usually from this one that most abusers start and then graduate to other types. I have friends that started with marijuana and then moved on to other drugs and substances.

The one that's currently trending and making waves in my country is methamphetamine (the short form is meth). I thought meth was an exotic drug just like cocaine which is only meant for the elites, but I am surprised that it's now everywhere in my country.

I know some group of persons including a friend in my hostel who takes it and I didn't actually know it was meth because they called it another name; ice. It was when I was reading a post on nairaland about the effects of methamphetamine that's when I discovered the street name was ice.

This is why it's called ice, it looks just like it. Say hello to crystal meth

Image source

According to people who take it, it makes them "high" and also keeps them focused and makes them not sleep (it's crazy right?). But what those people don't know is that meth is highly addictive and as usual, something like that will come with loads of side effects.

While reading the article about meth on nairaland (check it out here), someone talked about some of the effects it has on the people taking it, and I will just post screenshots of it

Screenshot of the comment
Another screenshot

Seriously, that's one hell of a drug! I have talked to the people I know that are into it about the side effects but it all fell on deaf ears. One of the things they usually tell me is that drugs act differently for everyone and they are already strong in taking it so nothing will happen. I just pity them coz I know they will end up like everyone else if they don't stop taking it.


Closing thoughts

No matter how you choose to look at it, drugs are bad on all levels and it's repercussions far outweigh their benefits. I don't understand why anyone will choose to go down that dangerous path and end up ruining their lives.

I think the youths need to be sensitized to the harmful effects of drugs and where it will lead them if they indulge in them. It might be too late for someone that is already addicted to it, but the awareness can help to save someone that's new to it or is been pressured to join the league of science students in the streets.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Friday December 17, 2021

13
$ 6.68
$ 6.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

OMG! I've heard of drugs they take but never reasoned but never reasoned to that extent of the names you mentioned.

The truth is that, all these have effect, it might not result to anything serious immediately but I'd surely chop off or damage a part of the body. I know of a guy that in my villa that started with mixing some herbs to spirit, became addicted and moved to India hemp and that was when the brain scattered. They chained him immediately. But now he's roaming the street. Outsiders would see him and say village are working on him but no

$ 0.02
2 years ago

"they chained him immediately", that part choke me πŸ˜‚. That's just the truth, some of the mad people that are roaming the streets are there because of hard drugs. The one wey dey create mad people pass na Colorado, that one even get colo (kolo) for e name and people still have the mind to take it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are the discoiples of narai marley and co, although i feel he doesn't take drugs as much as people claim. Drug abuse is now a menace affecting we youths .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, I also feel naira Marley don't take it that much, that's someone that even has a master's degree but trust youths to always hype rubbish

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of these guys claim those drugs make them see far and helps helps think straight. Unfortunately it eats up their brain as well.

Speaking of Christmas, I'm already anticipating Christmas especially with the harmattan that began yesterday. My lips are so so dry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Harmattan has been here in Benin for over a week now, my lips are sore most of the time despite the fact that I am mostly indoors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've got vaseline on my lips already. I stay in lagos so you don't expect it to be as harsh as over there in Edo state.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's true, it will be a lot harsher here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It might shock you to know that young women abuse drugs and substance more than the guys up here in the north... You know, it is easier to deceive a young lady that it is to deceive a guy of the same age. You would see a 17years lookin 39. Drug have completely ruined him/her. Some of them move with swollen hands because of constant injection of these drugs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I heard about the north, that girls over there even take it more than the guys. Some girls also indulge in it down here in the south, but it's not a lot of them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anything beyond average ain't healthy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right ma'am

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually drugs are good but it will become bad if people abusing it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything becomes bad when you abuse it, including drugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigerian youth are crazy about drugs and it is the first time I will be hearing about meth but loud is the trend in my place.

There is no future with drugs because when one becomes addictive, that's the end of one's life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Meth has blown up in the east and it's trending all over the internet, they call it "mkpuru mmiri"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The youths of nowadays needs awareness so they won't fall into danger,they need to know the side effects of anything they take into their body.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Even some that knows about the side effects still choose to damn the consequences and keep on taking it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

10 days urine ke, I never heard of it before. So people actually drink stuffs like that they are really science student πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Say no to drugs

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guy the thing shock me, I am baffled by all the crazy shits people take to get high

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You reminded me of the Breaking Bad series. One of my favorites. !No to drugs!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Walter white comes to mind 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Drugs was mainly created to cure sickness. It's just that, others are using it in a bad way..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's just the same way people are using so many things that were created for good the wrong way, it's just how most humans are

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray Gods help all of us. I literally don’t know what they see in drugs but only God can help us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I seriously don't know what they see in it but I guess it's only people into it that knows how it feels

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awareness like this is what the youths really need. For one thing, most that are into these substances are oblivious of their side effects. Hence they need to be enlightened. Another thing is the addiction, once you get used to it it will take miracle to break out of it. So preventive measures like this article are needed instead of corrective ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, many of them don't know about the dangerous side effects that comes with those drugs. Even when they do know about the consequences, some of them can't stop because they have been heavily addicted to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago