Pursue it further or let it go?

24 42
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Hello ladies and gentlemen, how have you all been? I finally left Lagos and I am back in my city, I am currently in my apartment at the university and I have no plan of going home to my parents anytime soon. The university is currently on strike and I was expecting to see it devoid of students but the reverse was the case; there were still lots of students around.

Yesterday was when we traveled out of Lagos and the journey was a smooth one. We got to the university ground after 5 hours of traveling and everyone took their bags and left for their various hostels. My girlfriend was going with me because her sister is with the key to their hostel and she will be bringing it the next day (Saturday).

I decided to book a bolt ride (similar to Uber) which will take me straight to my hostel and within 5 minutes, the driver arrived. As we were loading our bags into his car, the driver told me that I will pay extra money for the load and I actually thought he was joking but he repeated the same thing.

Image source

I asked him how much does he want to carry the load and he told me straight that it was NGN2000 ($3.6), that's like 2.5 times what the ride costs! I thought he was joking and I told him that since the ride is NGN800 ($1.4), I will just make it NGN1000 ($1.8) because of the load but he refused and said I should pay NGN1600 ($2.9) or he will cancel the ride.

I immediately got angry and told him to go ahead and cancel it, I opened the door and brought down all my bags. I have been using bolt ride for over 2 years to take my bags to the university but this is the first time I am hearing a driver ask for extra money, we usually pay what the app says is the amount for a ride.

After bringing down my bags, the driver came to me and said I owe him NGN600 because he has already started the ride before he canceled it. I was very pissed off when he said that and I asked him; "why the hell will I pay for a ride I didn't take?" He kept saying that he already started the ride and I told him that it was his business.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

He said he is going to report me and my account with bolt will be blocked. At this point I laughed and told him to do his worse, that it's very easy for me to open another bolt account but "what will happen if I report you and they fire you, will you be able to register with them again?", I asked him. He just got angry and drove off.

I was still pissed off and the bolt app was still open on my phone asking me to rate the driver, I gave him one star ⭐ and then proceeded to pick the reason why I gave one star. There was a box to drop a comment but I didn't use it, and I regretted it later on.

I booked another bolt ride and a new driver was assigned to me. He arrived after some minutes, packed the bags into his car and we left. I was still angry at that point and I told my girlfriend that I need to make a comment about the previous driver and let bolt management know what transpired but the review page has already closed.

Image source

My girlfriend asked the new driver if there's a way to report a bolt driver and he said yes, that we should check out ride history and we will see details of the driver there. He then asked us why we want to report the previous driver, then we explained everything to him.

He said it's very wrong for the previous driver to request extra money because of the bags we are carrying but we should just forgive him because working as a bolt rider can be very frustrating sometimes. He then explained what they (the bolt drivers) have to pass through, which is even now worse because of fuel scarcity and its subsequent price increase.

But is that an excuse for the driver to take out his frustration on innocent passengers? He can just quit if the job is no longer favorable for him, instead of trying to milk out money from others. After the whole explanation, I decided to just let it go and let karma sort out the previous driver, but it seems my girlfriend didn't let it go πŸ˜†

My girlfriend left for her apartment earlier today and she booked a bolt ride. After some minutes, she called me and said she has told the driver that was driving her about the incident of yesterday and he said he will personally report the driver. I was surprised by this and asked her if she was still thinking about yesterday's event and she said yes.

Image source

She called later again and said I should go to the bolt app and take a screenshot of the driver's profile and send it to her on Whatsapp. "This girl is still pursuing this case?", I asked in my head. I told her to just let the whole thing go because it was already looking stressful but she refused, she said other people have reported the driver before now and she still has to do the same, I just knew I have to let her do what she has in mind or she won't give it a rest.

I won't be surprised if she calls me tomorrow and says she has sued the driver and will like me to appear in court as a witness πŸ˜‚ I am a very gentle person and isn't someone that carries an issue too long in my heart, I have already forgotten about the whole thing since yesterday but I guess everyone can't be like me.

So, what about you? Are you a person that easily lets go of things when you have been offended or you are someone that likes to pursue it till the very end? Take this bolt ride issue as an example, will you let it go just like I have done, or will you keep pushing it till the very end? Do let me know in the comment section πŸ˜‰

Big thanks to @Bloghoundfor her huge sponsorship renewal 🀩 I am very honored to have you as one of my sponsors, you're a wonderful person ma'am πŸ€—

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday March 19, 2022

16
$ 4.58
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @yhanne
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Lol, money for luggage with Bolt? And 600 naira for standing in one spot when the whole journey is 800. That one is just a thief. I would have been hella pissed if it was me too. I think what's motivating your girlfriend to keep pursuing it is the fact that other people have reported him before. So if she says you should go to court, dust your suit and go πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ the guy is a big thief, he even looks like one. The last I heard about the case is that he has been suspended πŸ₯±

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lwkmd. He isn't actually supposed to ask for extra. Each ride is for four seats, and what of a case where he has four passengers and each of them has a luggage, would he charge all of them extra? That's quite greedy of him. Whether I let it go or not depends on a lot of factors and my mood at that moment it happened, as well as his tone..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My mood at that point was to drag him to hell πŸ˜‚ but I later calm down after the other driver apologized on his behalf

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The bolt driver could have just explained the reason behind asking for extra instead of acting out of frustration and I can see your girlfriendΒ΄s frustration and ager too. Well, to me, I would have let it go because I am not that kind of person to keep things in my mind. The matter would die there immediately while I move on with my life. I donΒ΄t like trouble and when one is coming around, I will just dodge it and let it slide.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here o, I don't like trouble at all and I always try to avoid one when it presents itself, but some people are not like that, if you look for their trouble they are ready to follow you to hell πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tor, if this your girl happens to handle a land case, she'll win hands down. Na this kind person we need in our community. Lol. I'm the type that easily let go but it the attempt is made again by the person, I will carry it on my headπŸ’ͺ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I only let it go because of the other driver, if not I for drag the guy till e body peel πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don’t usually pursue things to the end but in this case I’ll surely follow it to the end because how could you ask for payment for service that he didn’t render? I’m even imagining how agree him go to get.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was infuriated at that point and could have pushed it further if not for the other driver that pleaded on his behalf

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When they unjustifiably abuse my rights as a citizen, I proceed legally, just as your girlfriend is doing. I congratulate her for that because it is a way to control people who abuse other people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you're right, the best way to stop someone from doing the same wrong to someone else is to make them learn their lesson

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how some of these drivers are. Ofcourse the economy is hard, but exploiting other citizens who are also feeling the heat is very unwise. These are the kind of men that would still go and vent their frustration on innocent woman and children at home.... So, there are still students in your school? the university management practically chased us out of hostels back home

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They chased out people from hostels as well over here, but most people are still around in off campus hostels, it just looks like nobody left πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow... have seen so many drivers like this... also to answer your question, I like to answer them in one line and leave the argument.. as a person who grew up in toxic house, I hate arguments

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also don't like arguments because I have a way of escalating them and I end up having headaches πŸ˜† so I rather just avoid it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah definitely... I have anger issues, so I better be shut up before ending up killing someone haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ same here, I get murder tendencies when an argument becomes too hot πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, he might be needing some money or he does it to his other customers. Your girlfriend is persistent which is cool and be prepared to stand as a witness when she sues the driver, lol! I can just let go of things but sometimes I get furious too :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I get furious as well but it doesn't last long, I cool down after a while 😁 I am guessing the bolt driver has a targetted amount of money he needs to achieve in that day and he decides to fleece it out if innocent customers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The driver was wrong, they are bolt drivers doing shit lately, and you should be careful with them.

Reporting him is not bad since you didn't lie against him, ladies don't let things go easily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ladies that can bear grudges against someone for years just because the person borrowed their shoes without asking first, I am definitely not surprised πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, 21 min of publishing and Rusty has already visited you. Amazing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am very much surprised by that 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago