Needs vs wants; how do you spend money?

34 64
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Economics, Needs, Wants, Money

Need: require (something) because it is essential or very important rather than just desirable (definition from oxford languages)

Want: To have a desire or a wish for something/somebody (definition from oxford learner's dictionary).

Notice the difference? Your needs has to deal with things that are very important or essential to make your life easier or to help you with your work, while wants are just something desirable, in economic terms, it's simply something a person would like to have, even if it isn't important.

Image source

A lot of people use these terms interchangeably when in essence there are not the same thing. Needs are things like food, water, shelter, and all other basic necessities while wants are something like ice cream or that bar of chocolate you always buy while returning home πŸ˜‰

Some persons make the mistake of using the money meant for their needs to satisfy their wants. Take for example someone that needs foodstuffs at home and has just $100 which will be enough for a week's worth of food items, but on his way to the market he sees the latest edition of Nike sneakers worth $100 and he buys them! Can you see the problem here? Which of these two items does he need; the shoes or foodstuffs?

image source

There's something called the scale of preference in economics, and according toΒ explain.com.ng, it's an economic term that means ranking our needs and wants based on their importance. What does this all mean? Let's go back to the example I gave above.

Seeing as the guy (let's call him John) have just $100 and he needs foodstuffs, he sees some cool shoes on his way to the market but he weighs his options; "which one is more important at the moment?". It's the foodstuffs, so he puts that as his priority (top of the list).

After satisfying his need for foodstuffs, John ends up with another $100 some days later and after checking and confirming that he doesn't have any immediate needs, he decides to buy the shoes. That's what we call scale of preference.

So in essence, the scale of preference involves ranking your most important needs and satisfying them first before moving down the list to other items. When I am resuming school in a new year, the most important things I need are house rent, school fees, and foodstuffs, and this is how I rank them;

1. House rent

2. Foodstuffs

3. School fees

4. Other things

The reason why school fees is very low on the list is that we aren't forced to pay it at the beginning of a session, it can be paid within the session which usually spans 6 to 7 months. The most important one there is house rent and I strive to pay that first so I wouldn't end up on the bad side of the landlord.

Image source

Like I said earlier, some persons use needs and want interchangeably and end up spending heavily on things they really don't need while neglecting essential things. I usually see a lot of scenarios like this in my country when it comes to internet fraudsters.

You will see a lot of fraudsters after successfully defrauding their victims, the first thing they do with the proceeds from their crime is to buy cars and lodge in hotels, spending heavily in clubs all around the country.

These are people that are still paying rent but instead of looking for ways to build their own houses, they rather spend their ill-gotten money on frivolous activities. I am in no way supporting crime but those guys are really not smart when it comes to money but as they say; easy come, easy go. But do they get the money easily? That's a topic for another day.

You can see that I mention cars in the above paragraph, does that mean buying cars can't be classified as a need? The funny thing with needs and wants is that they sometimes interchange; what you think is a need today can become a want tomorrow and vice versa.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

A car can be a need for someone that wants to be a driver (maybe a taxi or something like Uber). He needs a car to help him make money to satisfy other needs and wants, in this case, the car will be higher on the scale of preference.

Needs and wants are subjective and depend on the individual, what John needs might not necessarily mean that's what peter needs as well. It's just like a person using all her money to buy a camera just because her friend who is a professional photographer brought one, one is a need while the other is a want.

Human wants and needs are insatiable and what this means is that our wants are unlimited but the resources to satisfy them are limited (money), so it's important we know how to differentiate between our needs and wants and rank them properly on the scale of preference.


Closing thoughts

Β I fell in love with this topic back then in secondary school and even after so many years, I still remember a lot of what I learned back then about wants, needs, the scale of preference, and opportunity cost (I didn't talk about this one coz I don't want to bore you guys πŸ˜†).

I have been using the scale of preference most of the time but sometimes I do give in to my wants and buy something outrageous and not needed, but most times it has helped me to effectively manage my resources.

Do you also use the scale of preference? most people use it without knowing what it is, they just use it subconsciously.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday December 12, 2021

10
$ 4.36
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Economics, Needs, Wants, Money

Comments

Luckily here education is free, health too. Housing If you can buy a house, something that not many can, then you are tax free. Few of them are rented. I always try to have some money saved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really like your country, some of the basic needs are already free and people can focus on other necessities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so easy to mistake want for need and need for want, as it is easy to substitute one for the other. Needs should always come first, as they are necessities whether or not we want them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Local man welcome back to the platform πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. You make it sound like I went on holiday. Who am I kidding, I did go on a holiday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used the "need and want" phenomenon to help a fiend battling gluttony. She would always buy biscuits, meatpie, coke,groundnuts and other junks and money spenders on d way even after we had just finished a meal. I would always ask her her, do you really need this? Instead of eating to live, the girl was living to eat. Iuntil I warned her about what sugar would do to her in middle age, thats when am she began to adjust. I advice's her that whenever she feels the urge to eat this foods that are not needed by the body, she should try out fruits instead since she cannot stop herself from eating always. Her body needs them and would time she would form an habit of wanting these fruits too. And by the way, they are far more cheaper than junks.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're on point! Instead of wasting money on junks, she should just channel it to something that will actually help her body which is fruits, that's a brilliant approch to curb gluttony

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You took us back the secondary stage of economics studies, I had a good knowledge of this topic to the extent that I loved to keep the basic terms of the definition of terms, just like defining WANTS without putting "MERE DESIRE"🀣🀣 Somehow all of us are practicing economics in our daily activities without knowing, just like when you have $20 and hunger is dealing with you, no one will tell you to go for other thing first before food 🀣 while some also are just the opposite. The fraudsters, I think the social influence is terribly working on them. That's it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most times economics is just common sense, we practice it everyday without even knowing. I mastered the act of economizing when I got into university, you got to manage the small money wey dey your hand before sapa finish you πŸ˜‚

Wait o, na now I even dey notice, you no dey use that your former account again (Sley)? Na now I even recognize say na your new account be this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulting it is!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

needs and wants vary depending on what the situation is, it may be a want for us but for others, it's their needs.

But these days, we should really be mindful of buying wants and learn to buy things that can benefit us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just the best way to help us manage our money; knowing the difference between wants and needs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am too careful about money. So whenever I used it I make it sure that I will gonna enjoy spending some wants in myself like pampering myself and skincare . Need is very important among them all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I usually leave things that aren't necessary and focus on them when I have met all my needs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I try to spend as much on needs but I feel I am spending more on wants. However, I do make sure to pay for needs first.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If our immediate needs has been satisfied, then it's alright to spend on wants

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always spend my money on the things that we really need like food since it's what we consume everyday. For the wants? I don't remember when was the last time I used my money on it because as a mom I should be practical most of the time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Moms are the best economists you can get in this world and that's because they know what the family needs everytime and help to provide it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always like to spend money on my needs. I bought two things out of need. But what I really need is first. Going beyond the need of the hour is really a tap.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As long as the thing you're buying is very important, then it's a need πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I spend money more on needs. Occasionally on wants. We should be practical nowadays as living in this world is getting expensive

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really expensive these days, and it's even worse in my country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My priority is always the needs of my family rather than my wants,we have only a limited budget that's why I really focus on what really matters for the week.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Having a family to take care of always open our eyes to what is important and needs to be spent on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember in secondary school we were taught that human want are unsatisfiable

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was one of my best topics in economics back then in school

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps you should talk more on Opportunity cost next time so as to better understand you just like I did here.

We need to understand Needs and Wants or else, we might be regretting our actions

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I actually talked a bit about opportunity cost in this article just that I didn't point it out, I just thought it isn't as important as the others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should always differentiate our needs from our wants since the capital (money) is substantial,we need to plan the way we spend, let's try to place our needs above our wants.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Since we are not billionaires yet with a large sum of money, we ought to plan how our money is spent especially on wants

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're right,even billionaires usually make plans and spend their money wisely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because we sometimes doesn't really need all those things that we want. I'm guilty of this and sometimes I even justify my wants and turn it to needs just to fit in to the category lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am guilty of that as well and I will always try to convince myself that I really need something when I actually don't πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago