Let's do a little social experiment. Care to join?

20 78
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

I have been laughing and quite intrigued since I learned something new today and I believe y'all will find it fascinating as well. But before I reveal what it is, I will like to ask a question and I want you to follow along and keep the answer in mind till the end of this article. First of all, allow me to set the stage for the question.

Imagine you moved to a new town and one day you went out to have dinner and you saw two restaurants sitting side by side. The first restaurant's name is Tasty treats and the second one is Wendy's and they both look very similar with a very beautiful environment and great interior design. But nobody is eating at Wendy's while Tasty treats have some people eating there, which restaurant will you pick? Now keep that answer in mind as we continue with the rest of the article πŸ˜‰

Model Source

Ok. I spent a lot of time on Twitter today just browsing through my feed and learning new things and that was when I came across a particular tweet involving monkeys in a room and a banana hanging from the ceiling. The tweet talked about how the group of monkeys will always gang up and beat any monkey that tries to climb a ladder to get to the banana. And why did they do that?

It's because the monkeys have been made to believe that something bad will happen if anyone gets hold of the banana. I won't be explaining more about the tweet coz this article will end up very looooonng, but if you're interested then you should read it here. Trust me it's very interesting πŸ˜‰. In the comment section, someone said those were animals and it can't happen to humans, so someone posted a video of a similar experiment being done on humans and that was when I went to YouTube to do some research.

Social Conformity

Did you watch the above video? What will you do in such a situation? You might think you will remain seated but if you're a stranger in a place like that, the compulsion to conform to what looks like a norm among the majority of people there will be very strong! You can see that someone tried to resist that pull to follow the crowd but in the end, he also joined them to do what they are doing πŸ˜‚

Social Conformity is what is also called herd mentality and it's something that has been proven to work over and over again. People that are familiar with psychology must have heard about this concept ( @Princessbusayo you must have come across it before, right?) and it's very intriguing and quite true if you think about it. It's things like this that makes me love psychology.

Humans are social creatures and whenever we are not sure about what's going on, we look at what the majority of people around us are doing and then just go along with them because we believe they know something we don't. It even happens to most people who know what's right but because everyone else is choosing another answer, they begin to doubt themselves and end up following the crowd as well.

The above video is even more funny πŸ˜‚

Now, back to the question I asked earlier, let's walk through it together. Tasty treats and Wendy's are both new restaurants that opened in the city on the same day and at the same time. The first customer might come and see both restaurants sitting side by side and empty, he is confused about which one to choose so he just goes with his guts and picks Tasty treats.

The second person comes along and sees nobody in Wendy's but someone is eating at Tasty treats and he thinks "there must be a reason why nobody is eating at Wendy's, Tasty treats food might taste better" and then he goes into Tasty treats as well. The third person arrives and figured there might be something wrong with Wendy's and wastes no time before going into Tasty treats.

Some persons might even assume that Wendy's has run out of food and that's why nobody is there, they believe everyone at Tasty treats has done their research so they know better but in reality, Wendy's food actually tastes better but everyone is at Tasty treats because the first person picked it without anyone influencing his decisions but every other person's decision was influenced by the people they see in Tasty treats

Source

Heck, a rumor might even break out this way. A curious person might just come along and ask someone eating at Tasty treats why there's nobody at Wendy's and since the person doesn't have any reasonable answer and won't like to look foolish by saying "I saw everyone eating here, so I came here also", they might end up saying something like "I heard the food at Wendy's isn't that good" and boom!

The word goes around and Wendy's reputation is ruined without anybody even trying their food. One of the reasons (the main reason actually) why people may end up eating at Wendy's later on is if someone is brave enough to go there and then starts telling people that Wendy's food is actually better, then the reputation will start building up as more people hear about it

These things happen in our daily life as well. There was a day I went to an ATM spot to withdraw some money and I met people in a queue, so I joined them. There was another ATM nearby but nobody was there because everyone assumed it isn't dispensing cash until someone came along and went there to withdraw money and left. The rest of us were just looking at one another in disbelief πŸ˜†

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Social Conformity is also the reason why a lot of unreasonable customs and traditions are still in place in society. Whenever someone asks why things are been done this way, nobody seems to know a reasonable answer and they only say "this is how it has been done", but why? Nobody can answer why, they just go along with what they grew up doing even if their ancestors that started the practice were wrong.

I have been itching to relate it to religion as well but I won't want to start that violence here πŸ˜‚. Anyway, the herd mentality isn't totally bad in its way, most of the time it helps you to make a quick decision without having to go through the process of finding out things for yourself and maybe getting hurt in the process. You might go to a new town and you notice everyone is avoiding a particular part of the town, will you go there to find out why they are avoiding it?

Some people might have been declared missing when they went there, and then everyone learned from that experience and decides not to go there as well. BUT the herd mentality becomes a problem when you don't ask questions. Everyone is doing something that is confusing to you but you also decide to do the same without asking questions because you don't want to be left out.

Source

And guess what? They herd mentality also exists in the cryptoverse! A whale suddenly buys a coin with a very large sum of money, some group of people sees it and believes the whale might know something they don't, so they buy the coin as well. Everyone starts buying the coin because of FOMO and then you too also hop on the choo-choo train because at this point the coin is pumping fast and you don't want to be left out. Herd mentality.

So, which restaurant did you pick from the first question? You're not allowed to change your answer now πŸ˜‰ Don't worry if you picked Tasty treats, I will pick it as well. I have actually been in some situations like that in the real world and I ended up choosing Tasty treats without giving Wendy's a chance. And if you picked Wendy's, care to explain why you made that choice?

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday August 13, 2022

8
$ 1.86
$ 1.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Infinity
+ 4
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

This is exactly what happens to us especially in Africa in terms or religions and all

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I know why I avoid that aspect, make rusty no go ban me for starting violence πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Normal level πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still choose to eat at Wendy's restaurant eevn though I'm just aline there hahaa I hate too crowded places haha and also I wanted to be unique and besides I love Wendy's since I was a kid haha. So there is a Wendy's restaurant in your country ha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah there's 😁 but let's assume the restaurant isn't Wendy's but a new restaurant which you haven't heard about before and you don't know anybody that has eaten there, will you still go in when you see there's nobody eating there but some people are eating at Tasty treats?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guy, you nailed this oneπŸ’―. I'm very fond of the ATM, I think everyone fall on this group sef🀣.

You remember the time of ebola with bathing with salted water? This same scenario happened to us🀣🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ you sabi am. When it's the time of confusion, people will usually follow the majority and that's what happened during that ebola period. As for me I knew the dangers of bathing with salt water, I no try am πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If money is not a problem, it's a no brainer for me I'd eat at Wendy's because I want to avoid people hahaha. I don't like crowded places but Wendy's might be a bit expensive that's why there are no people eating there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If it actually happens in the real world, you won't even consider trying to avoid people by going to Wendy's, the first thought that will cross your mind is probably their food is too expensive or it doesn't taste good, and you wouldn't want to find out the hard way πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so true.. people tend to follow the majority .. Just like how we go along with the flow of this society.. I remember something from the Cinderella movie before. "Not because it was done, it should be done." (not exact words I guess, but same meaning)

This was about the prince setting for a marriage to a princess since it has been their tradition, but he likes the lady he met in the woods which is Cinderella..

Nowadays, many are copycats too. They will do what other people will do. Here in HK, when a lot of people go to a certain restaurant, that restaurant will go viral so fast..and the price is even expensive.

One time I ate in one of that viral restaurants with always a long queue. I thought their foods are yummy, but no, it's the same as another ordinary restaurant.. I just paid an expensive amount for the food that tastes the same as the cheaper one, lol.

My boss, for instance, will always check the viral videos and would visit that restaurant just because it is viral, lol. The same as picking clothes. Those with many buyers will always be sold. The quality is just the same as ordinary clothes anyway.. It's just expensive because of the name of the shop and the location,πŸ˜…

And guess what? Some suicide because of those suicidal videos they saw online..absurd right?.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's exactly what I'm talking about Ate, people will always be influenced by the decision of the majority because nobody wants to end up making a mistake by picking something nobody picks. Most businesses take advantage of this fact and pay influencers to advertise their products and make it go viral.

And when it does go viral, the price are jacked up and it gives the illusion that the product is of high quality, even if it's just like every other regular product in the market. People will always clamor for their products even when they know it's the same as all others because we humans have a base instinct to be identified as part of the herd. No matter how you try to downplay that instinct, it's already there by default

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I know that there are Wendy's restaurant in your country kushyzee. I love Wendy's. My partner and I love eating that restaurant kushyzee. In airport he always eating at Wendy's restaurant.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly Ramona, Wendy's is a very cool restaurant and their food is awesome! πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes kushyzee that's true. I love their foods too. ❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right... Word of mouth can be a good or bad advertisement depending on how it is been stated. We have to be very careful on what we say as it can really ruin other people reputation.

As I can observe this has been a norm. Even when I was in college I hear someone saying they do not like a certain person just because of what they heard not because they have witnessed it. It is so hard to be judge based on rumors but then that is how it is. I salute those who do something different out of the so called "NORMS" though coz they give a different impact.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's the same in all aspect of life, rumours always go viral and the more viral it gets, the more people want to be part of that rumour because just like I said earlier; most people will choose to align with the crowd and believe what they hear not because they have witnessed it but because everyone believes it too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always came along with your article because all of this was quite interesting and informative.I really admire your dedication to drafting an article and you make sure that your readers can relate to the topic. sometimes I do that also hahaha Out of curiosity.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Awww, thank you for your kind words ma'am πŸ€— I always try to make my articles interesting for my readers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When it comes to a choice for a good restaurant, I think I won't hesitate to pick tasty treats. Since I believe they are qualified and knows what they are doing .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You based your choice on the choice of others as well, that's exactly what most people will do too 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago