Ladies, who do you dress to impress?

38 53
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Women, Dressing

Howdy folks 🀠 how was your Tuesday? I was a bit frustrated today because of the absence of electricity. I started a new coding project on Monday but I got to a point where I became stuck but I was able to figure out what I did wrong after watching a few videos on YouTube about the problem.

I was so eager to go back to the project the next day (which is today) but I woke up and met total darkness. I was hoping power will be restored later on but my hopes were dashed! Till now the power supply still hasn't been restored and my laptop only works with electricity πŸ’” this is why I need to buy a new laptop and I could have done that this month but BCH decided to go crazy, I will just wait and observe the outcome of July (or maybe August?).

Today's article is inspired by the above picture I came across on Whatsapp. I know it's looking grainy but that was how the person posted it. I will write out what is on the picture for those who can't see it:

Girls be spending 150k for hair, 10k for eye contacts, 5k for eyelashes, 10k for acrylic, to impress a nig*a that loves me, me that don't even comb my hair πŸ˜‚

I actually laughed out loud when I read that, it's funny but it's also something that I have seen happen; a man will ignore a lady that is looking sophisticated with a lot of expensive accessories and settle for the one that is looking plain and average. These things have actually led to a phrase I have been hearing too often: women dress to impress men.

Do I agree with the above statement? Yes and no. I know you're wondering why I have two contradicting answers, that's because there's no right answer here, it all depends on the person involved and I will explain what I mean later on. I will divide this article into two sections which will mirror my answers and the reasons behind them.

Yes

Image source

Some ladies out there actually do dress and put on a lot of accessories in a bid to attract men. They dress seductively and they aren't afraid to show some skin (or a lot of skin, a cringe-worthy amount of skin) as long as it can help them achieve their goal(s), they don't care what anybody says.

These are the set of ladies that will modify their body just to meet the industry standards of what they think most men go for: fair skin, thin waist, wide hips, etc. Some of them do end up losing their lives in the process and even with the number of deaths that have resulted from these procedures, a lot of women still jump into it.

The problem with this certain group is that they are always under pressure to keep up their charade, they dare not show their face in public without makeup, they are ready to do anything just to keep up that appearance, they have very expensive taste and most of the time they end up trading their body just to have the money to fund their lifestyle

No

Image source

These are the set of ladies that don't dress to impress anybody, they only do what they feel comfortable with and don't care if you like it or not. They are not moved by the latest trends in the fashion world and will only buy a particular fashion item because they really want to, not because other women are buying it and they want to jump on the trend.

They can have an expensive taste as well but the key difference here is that they don't depend on anybody to buy them what they want, they prefer working and earning their own money to fund their expensive lifestyle but they do this in moderation, they know the value of money and won't go all out when it comes to spending on luxury (unlike the yes group).

The interesting thing about this group is that they are very simple, they can wake up in the morning and go out still in their pajamas and messy hair to get something from a shop across the street, they simply don't care about what you think! They are very comfortable in their skin and don't live their lives to draw the attention of anybody.


Initially, I said they are only two groups but I lied, there's one last group I didn't mention earlier and they are the intimidation gang πŸ˜† the maybe group!

Maybe

Image source

These ones have only one goal: to rub their collection of fashion items in the faces of other women. I might be wrong but this group is the largest! There's always that subtle force in them to try and outshine the next woman, and most times it happens subconsciously.

In the past, I used to think it was only two groups that exists (the first two I mentioned) but after a while, I realized a third group exists and it's very well hidden (they are like the Illuminati πŸ˜‚). I can't remember the number of times I have come across ladies arguing about who has the best hair (longer, fuller, lots of hair at the front, etc).

Most times I don't even understand some of the terms they use to describe their hair and the one that is even crazier is when they start talking about hairstyles. I remember telling a female friend some years back that I don't see a reason why a lady will spend as much as $500 for Brazilian hair or Peruvian hair but most men still can't tell the difference between that and a regular wig.

Image source

That was when she told me that most of those ladies don't do it to impress men, they do it to intimidate other women. That was when it clicked; it's only other women that can tell the difference between those hairs! A lady walks into an occasion with a $2000 hair and all eyes are on her, but most men won't even look at her twice because to them it's the same hair as the $50 wig that is worn by Alicia.

But other women can smell the $2000 hair from afar, even if they don't know the exact price, they can tell it's very expensive. From there you will start hearing things like "wow, that is a 45-inches original Peruvian hair, she even did full frontals!", Meanwhile the lady putting on that wig is enjoying all the attention, as well as the regular jealousy and envy that goes with it.

This also applies to other things: shoes, bags, clothes, makeup, other accessories, etc. I am still trying to wrap my head around why a set of makeup will all look alike and will even have similar colors and they will end up having different names. I can't tell them apart but another woman will be able to tell which is which! That's pure witchcraft πŸ˜‚

So, which of these sets of ladies are you? Do let me know in the comment section

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday June 28, 2022

10
$ 2.21
$ 2.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Cogamedia
$ 0.02 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Women, Dressing

Comments

The spending on Brazilian hair is a perfect example because me in particular don't even know the difference between Nigeria and foreign hair. Ladies do most of these to impress other ladies.

Just two days ago, a lady in my workplace bought bag and was asking me if it's fine and my reply didn't moved, she went further to ask if the one she bought and the one the other lady bought, which one is more beautiful. That is it! Competition!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ they are always trying to outperform each other, the competition just dey baffle me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very interesting categories Kushy hehe. I am more of a NO, I dress for my own convenience and not to impress anybody else.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A lot of women out there are also that way, they rather keep things simple and wear what they like

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think that it is so simple, and you can separate all women in 3 groups. For me, I don't usually dress to impress anyone, I dress what I like and how I like it. But do I dress up more for some specific situations? Of course, there are places where you need to be dressed up more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Majority of women if not all fall into each of these groups. Since you said you don't dress to impress anybody, then you're in the second group of women who only dress the way they like and wear what they feel comfortable in

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, but that doesn't mean I wear only comfortable clothes. It means I have my own style and don't care do other people like it or not. And again, it doesn't mean I never dress even more fancy and what you will consider "to make an impression". My point was, yes, answer to question "do you dress to impress someone or not" has yes or no answer, but it is not connected to style at all. And by that logic third group will also be first, since they do dress to impress, just not man but other woman. Which group are you in?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you're mixing up what I said. As I clearly stated in the article, the second group have their own style and do not dress to impress anybody, they wear what want and they are not under pressure to stick to a particular style just because someone else likes it. I also mentioned that this group of women can also have expensive taste and do dress in a stylish way, but the key difference is that they don't do that to please anybody but themselves. We are basically saying the same thing here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand, but you included too many things. If someone doesn't dress to impress they know value of money even though they can have expansive taste? Like these things are not related, its generalized too much. Life is not black and white like that. If we talk about impressing in general then there is answer yes or no, but otherwise it is not related to anything else. You can dress to impress and not have operations to change body, and you can not dress to impress and have small wraist. I don't see how can it be either this or that. It's not that simple.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not a fan of make-up as well as wearing some flashy outfit, I prefer wearing clothes that are comfortable to wear hehe I guess these preference of mine in terms of my outfit aids me to save money

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, ladies like you don't spend too much money on fashion, they have other priorities which they channel money into

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have too haha I can't ask for my parents for an allowance all the time that is why my top priority is to save hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then after the "maybe's" has show up the expensive hair and other jewelries she has, the ladies that can't control their taste will now go back home to their boyfriends and start tasking the innocent guys, haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ you sabi am, that's exactly how they go up and down putting unnecessary pressure on innocent guys

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha i never mind about them but one thing i know in myself, i dress up for myself. I wear and put on something that i am comfortable with. I will just ask my husband if it is okay or not because he is my judge hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Married women usually seek validation from their partners about what they wear and that's because their husband is the best person to know if it looks good of not before stepping out of the house, they truly are the ultimate judge 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will be a judge to your wife soon. You can say don't wear that its not good in the eyes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have already had some practice with my mom, she sometimes ask me if what she's wearing is good 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh thats a good training hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My partner is simple, she dressed according to wgat she likes. She don't wear accessories she don't like it and she always wear pajamas even though I did not stop from wearing shorts. Anyways I just love how this lady take care of her body ever since before I met her. She put make up when she needed to but to seduce other men, nahhh she don't know ho to act like that. So ai am happy I have her as my partner.
By the way I'm newbie here

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love simple women like that, they don't have to put so much effort into looking beautiful but they still end up looking so beautiful.

Welcome to the platform 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes simple is more beautiful for us. Thanks bro I appreciate your warm welcome. I just subscribe you because i would like to read more coming from you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I dress to impress myself, lol! I am not that fashionable though I can dress it depends on the occasion or event.. In short I am not a high maintenance womanπŸ˜‚.

Though I also spend some time in spa for my hair, I think I highest budget I spent was $65. Yet, hey that's my own moneyπŸ˜….

Hmmm, all I can say if a woman is really fond of spending on whatever they wanted , it is okay! As long as they can afford it.. yes they! Not depend into other people like their partner..πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A lot of them don't even depend on just their partner, then tend to play mind games with other men just go give them an illusion that they are interested in a relationship, but their true aim is to keep collecting money from the person

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha in thay case men should be wise enough too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I personally just loving looking good, but not to dress and kill 😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, some ladies mainly dress to kill, those ones always have an ulterior motive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I dressed up for myself to look presentable whenever I am out to somewhere. But only when i needed to. I don't kike accessories so i don't have those things hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have met some ladies who don't like accessories as well, they like to keep things simple 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me wey no even know the difference between human ans non-human hair, so if na me you dey vex fof

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ aswear, I can't tell the difference between those things, all of dem resemble

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me , I dressed up according to my mood. If I want do so sassy well I will, if I wasn't in the mood to dress up it could be so simple. I dislike dressing up just to impress others instead I dress up for myself and for comfortable feelings as I carrying my clothes, that's matter the most.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dressing to impress others can make as person depress after sometime, especially if no one approves of that style of dressing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah thats true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Literally the reason for most of our actions and interest are to earn the attention of the opposition sex, same for girls and boys alike.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess so, but I can't say that is true for everyone. Some people don't really care about what other people think

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Women will say they are not dressing to impress any man that all they do is for themselves. Well if they like they should put gun on my head I will not agree.. lie lie

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣 Most of them that say something like that already know the truth, no matter how they try to deny it they know the reason why they dress the way they do

$ 0.00
1 year ago