It's better to be safe than sorry

16 31
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Hello ladies and gentlemen, happy Easter to you all. How was your Easter celebration? Mine went well, even though I had to constantly remind myself that today is Easter because it just felt like every other Sunday.

I didn't go to church today and that is because I went last night (which was actually my main reason for going, so I wouldn't have to go today 😆). While preparing for church, I quickly started writing my article and I was almost done with it but it was already time to leave or we will be late.

I initially planned on taking my phone along with me and completing my article in church but I was having second thoughts because the mass is going to end around midnight and I will have to walk home with the risk of getting robbed and losing my phone. I decided to just risk it because my siblings were also going with theirs, so I guess I would find comfort in the fact that we all lost our phones (not really).

Image source

My sister came into the house shortly later and dropped her phone, saying the road is too dark and lonely. Others dropped their phone as well and at that point, I was defeated, I had to leave my phone behind as well 😩. My sister kept saying I shouldn't worry that the mass is going to end before midnight, but I knew that wasn't true.

The mass dragged on longer than I thought and it ended shortly before 1am. I was walking back home alone without fear (because I had nothing to lose in case I come across a robber 😆) and I noticed everywhere was bright because it was a full moon and there was also electricity. I didn't see anybody outside and I got home safely, while my siblings and mom arrived shortly after.

It was already 1am and I haven't published my article for the previous day, I wasn't even done writing it. I told my sister that I should have just risked it and taken my phone along because outside seemed totally safe but after a while, I had a second thought. What if I took my phone and ended up coming across an armed robber, wouldn't I have regretted it as well?

Image source

I might have been lucky because I didn't see any criminals while walking home without my phone but it could have also gone the other way; I will come across one if I took my phone. A few hours in church without my phone is far better than totally losing it and having to buy a new one.

"Better safe than sorry" is a proverb that means it's better to be cautious than to end up taking rash actions that will make you regretful later. It's a way of saying you should always weigh your decisions very carefully before proceeding to take action, so you wouldn't end up disappointed later on.

Sometimes, regrets can come in no matter what decision you make (just like in my story above), at that point, it's better to pick an option that will have a lesser effect (like me picking to leave my phone at home instead of taking it along with me and risk losing it). Some people end up with regrets because they failed to make a proper observation of the choices before them and they end up taking the wrong one.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Take for example, someone that is about to write an exam they are not prepared for. They are faced with the option of just writing down what they know (which is next to nothing) or indulging in examination malpractice while at the same time risking being caught and getting punished. The stakes they are faced with are; risking failing that particular course or risking getting expelled from the school.

Let's say the person picked the second option and decides to cheat during the examination and then they are caught. The school management decides to punish the person by suspending them for 2 years, which means they will have to repeat that particular class after 2 years while their mates are already in 2 classes higher.

A person in that situation failed to weigh the options very carefully and ended up picking the wrong one; which is risking repeating the whole class. If they didn't decide to cheat and just write the exam unprepared, they will only be risking that particular course at that point which they can write again next year, but at least they will be in a higher class.

We must always think carefully about any decision we are going to make and weigh it against other options to see which one will be better and safer, so we wouldn't end up with disappointments and regrets later on. Remember, it's always better to be safe than sorry 😉

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Sunday April 17, 2022

17
$ 4.40
$ 4.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 8
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

yup yup, It's better to be safe than sorry because regrets will always be in the end. So, it's better to prevent that from happening

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just one of the ways to prevent disappointments 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow, you be careful okay?? Criminals are everywhere and they are not hesitating to damage others even for pennies... always be preventive

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Prevention is better than cure 😁 I rather be very cautious than risk losing my phone to robbers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, it is better safe than sorry. Perhaps you would have been robbed when you take your phone or you might not, but one has to think deeply before taking any decision so they don't regret later.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, the risk of getting it stolen and losing it forever is far better than just leaving it at home for just a few hours

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed better safe than sorry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have been in similar shies before... Twice my phone have been stolen in the market. After the second occurence, I vowed never to go to the market with a phone again, not even a small one, no matter how careful I would be. There are some things that are just inexplicable. Just as you said, it's better to be safe than sorry. " had I know is a brother of Mr. Too late".. Mom would say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They stole your phone twice in the market? Ah! Is it Lagos market? That experience is more than enough reason for you to keep your phone at home, losing it a third time in the market will definitely be like juju

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you did the right thing of not bringing your phone with you :) It's a good feeling too without having to constantly look at the screen. You even walked and noticed the moon hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you're right Ate, apart from the fact that I felt safer without it, I also paid attention to things around me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree Kushyzee. It's better we need to be in advance than it's too late and felt the regrets. It's better to be careful. It's better to be at first than late and to be sorry. We should always remind ourselves with that. We need it. We must be careful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We just have to think twice about our plans before we carry them out, that's how we can be safe. Thank you Ramona 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed Kushyzee. We should always think twice. You're always welcome Kushyzee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd add with you one thing.. In my opinion taking time is also a factor to find out inner self.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes that's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago