It's all about Christmas

28 39
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Christmas

Howdy folks 🀠 how did your Christmas celebration go? I hope you had a lot to eat and drink today, a lot of people didn't have that luxury so we have to be grateful to God.

Image source

I woke up at about 8am today to meet my brother in my room staring at me, then the next thing he said was "coming and prepare the eggs for us". Great, looks like it will be up to me to prepare breakfast for my siblings.

It has become a tradition for us to eat bread, egg sauce, and tea on Christmas mornings. It's me and my mom that know how to do it in a way that everyone will enjoy, but she was busy that morning. And besides, my siblings prefer if I do it 😁.

Chopped onions, pepper and tomatoes

It's quite simple to do, as what is needed is fresh tomatoes, pepper, onion, seasoning cubes and of course, the eggs. I fried the pepper and onion together before proceeding to add the fresh tomatoes that has been sliced by my brother. After some minutes of frying, I add a little seasoning before I pour in the eggs.

And voila! The end result

After breakfast, I went around taking pictures of the food items being prepared by my mom and sisters. My mom noticed me taking pictures and asked what was going on and I told her; "it's for my article" πŸ˜‰

She wasn't done when I took this, but I didn't even know that πŸ˜†

My mom opted for fried rice and vegetable salad for this Christmas instead of the usual white rice and tomatoes stew we eat most Christmas. I actually would have preferred the white rice, I have gotten tired of fried rice.

Before now, I usually stay in my room for most of the day on Christmas watching movies or playing games, I only come out of my room when it's time to eat πŸ˜† But now, I am all over the place taking pictures coz I want to share it with you guys here.

When my mom heard I was taking pictures for my article, she gave me all the support I need. Whenever I am in my room and any major thing is happening, she calls me to come take pictures, my mom is the best.

And here she was done adding all the ingredients

The food got ready after a while and my mom dishes out mine. When I got to the kitchen, I noticed the salad on my plate wasn't having lots of cream, so I added more to it. I usually like my salads to be extra creamy.

That's the fried rice, salad and fried chicken πŸ˜‹

The reason for the season

As ate Jane mentioned in her article earlier today, a lot of people have forgotten the true meaning of Christmas and only focused on getting the most out of this season.

To a lot of businessmen and women (especially traders), they see Christmas as an avenue to maximize profit to the detriment of other people and if you ask them why they are doing it, they will respond with; "it's Christmas".

I had a horrible experience at the market yesterday when I went to buy some items for myself. I noticed the prices of most things have been increased by 50%, some have even doubled in price! Nobody told me the reason but I suspected it's because of Christmas.

Image source

@Mhizutty also talked about her experience at the hands of commercial bus drivers and how they hiked the bus fare to over 400% and when she asked why it was so, they told her "it's because of Christmas". Some people see Christmas as an avenue to get richer, it's all about the money.

People have different reasons for celebrating Christmas; some see it as a day to eat and drink as they like, some see it as a day to visit friends and relatives, some see it as a day to party till dawn, while some see it as a day to make lots of money via gifts.

Christmas is a day to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, he is the reason for the season. It's a day to remind ourselves that God sent his Son in human form to come live among us so he can die and save us from eternal condemnation.

It's a day to celebrate the birth of Jesus, but it's unfortunate that a lot of persons ignore that fact and focus more on themselves, it will even look like it's their birthday πŸ˜†. We should all remember that we are celebrating christ today, and as we are receiving and giving gifts, we shouldn't forget to give him the gift of praise and worship.

Speaking of gifts, I got quite a lot of gifts this year from the likes of Jane, @Talon, @Cogamedia, and some members of the Nigeria BCH forum, I am very thankful to you all for making this Christmas memorable for me πŸ€—

Still on gifts, I saw something on nairaland.com some few days back that made me smile; animals got wrapped presents! Some animals at a zoo in Pretoria, South Africa received Christmas gifts and they unwrapped them themselves, it was really adorable.

That's a Bengal tiger opening his present
And that's him enjoying his gift, it's a chunk of meat. He should have waited till today before opening it, bad tiger πŸ˜†

That's how Christmas should be; it's all about giving and shouldn't be an avenue to enrich ourselves, just like how some traders in my country are doing. Let Christ be in our hearts this season and we should all let love lead in whatever we are doing.

Merry Christmas to you all once again and thanks for reading as always πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday December 25th, 2021

16
$ 3.57
$ 3.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 11
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Christmas

Comments

Lol, Santa is quite far from my house, we just made do with what we have to celebrate Christmas in a great way for us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have a merrier christmas and prosperous new year with your family πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you Melissa πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mentioned it all, a lot of us have different ways of celebrating this season but the one that surprises most of the high increase of living, the cost of good always get skyrocketed as well as transport fair. I remember when I was going to Imo State from Delta last two years immediately after the new year celebration (3rd to be precise), they tripled the transportation fair and not begging anyone to patronize them. Of course we don't have option than to enter, otherwise na trekking 🀣

Merry Christmas broπŸŽ…πŸŽ„

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They know those things are in high demand this period, so they will take advantage of it by hiking the price, no joy at all. I wish you all the best this season bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the food you have there Kushy, the fried rice and the fried egg with lots of spices. You did enjoy your Christmas, that's really nice...So sad to know about all those things that happened during Christmas, Christmas should be about giving and sharing not the other way around

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a season to spread love and not to take advantage of others. I hope you had a great time with your family this Christmas ma'am 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's right..We've had fun and enjoyed it, Kushy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems Santa reside in your house Kushyzee.

Mom cooks best, I wish I was the one devouring that mouth watering fried rice and salad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, Santa is quite far from my house, we just made do with what we have to celebrate Christmas in a great way for us 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love the fried rice Kushyzee.πŸ₯°πŸ€€ It's really yummy. I missed my mom cook a fried rice every breakfast. I wish I can travel home but a lot of complications. It's perfect Kushyzee, the fried rice, salad and fried chicken.🀀

Hehe we're the same Kushyzee. I love taking pictures also. I enjoy my Christmas but there are times that I felt sad too because of my family. I have a tears everytime I remember my family. They celebrate Christmas without an electricity.😒πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But at least they are alright, nobody in your family died because of typhoon Odetta, so you shouldn't cry but thank God for their lives. You celebrated Christmas away from your family, hope it went well?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe I was smiling as I relate myself with you kushy. My mom also called me whenever there's something she wanted me to took a picture on a certain thingπŸ˜… Anyway, I love your scrumble egg lots of tomato and onions🀀 It looks so yummy! Merry Christmas kushyβ­πŸŽ‰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you too Kleah πŸ₯³ I hope you have lots of fun yesterday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh thank you kushy. Yeah! I hope u too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had similar thing today too. I was busy taking pictures of everything today and it was fun. My siblings already know my purpose of doing that.

Don't mind those hiking the price of everything all in the name of "It's Christmas". They do not truly understand the reason for Christmas. There are those who can't afford such hike naπŸ˜–

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's quite unfortunate that some persons are using Christmas to cash out, there are people that can't even afford things when they are normal, but now the prices have been doubled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas was a lot of fun yesterday all these food looks amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was really fun, now we just need to prepare for the new year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that is my plan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fried rice looks so appetizing 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Jinifer. Merry Christmas to you πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas dear and the food looks bomb :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was bomb 😁 hope your Christmas was awesome as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know in our place, some would borrow money just to have a grand celebration. . where in fact, they can just have nothing or just simple... Go to church and thank God..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, some people get into debt just because they are in a competition with others to have the best Christmas, it's not supposed to be that way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much mom for making me so beautiful. I find these foods a lot of fun at Christmas. Hope you had a great time with your family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I did, hope you had fun with yours too

$ 0.00
2 years ago