How do you know a person is intelligent?

12 39
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Intelligence

Howdy folks 🤠 how are you today? Today started very slow for me and that's because I woke up very late (I still don't know how that happened) and it ended up disrupting my entire daily routine for today. Before I move on to the main article for today, I want to share an interesting video I saw on Whatsapp (which I have turned into a GIF).

Some of you might remember my article where I talked about what the world will look like in 100 years and one of the things I talked about is flying cars. Well, that GIF above is a visual representation of what the world will look like if we have flying vehicles, it looks good, right? 😁 Or you might disagree. Anyway, let's begin today's article.

An intelligent argument

I came across an interesting post on nairaland yesterday and the poster was talking about ways to identify intelligent people and one thing he mentioned was that intelligent people love to ask questions, they are naturally curious so they ask lots of questions just to satisfy their curiosity.

I agreed with the curiosity aspect but I disagreed with the asking lots of questions aspect (at first). I was thinking "I am intelligent but I don't like asking questions, so this person is wrong". I decided to go through the comments just to see other people's opinions and some persons who were school teachers also followed my line of thoughts.

Model Source

Some of them said that the really intelligent students in their class never ask any questions and they barely contribute anything, and I agreed with them coz that's basically me 😆. But then someone mentioned that they were all thinking the poster was talking specifically about school but he was talking generally about life, and it's not only in school a person can ask questions, that was when I realized I was looking at things from one angle.

Just in case you don't get it, let me explain. First of all, what's the main reason a person asks questions? It's because they are curious and will want to satisfy their curiosity, but is it only by asking questions in class that they can satisfy that curiosity? Definitely not! Some people satisfy their curiosity by making personal research, they are also asking questions but they aren't asking the teacher, they are asking books, journals, articles, the internet, etc!

I will tell you the main reasons why I don't ask questions in class. Firstly, I can easily understand what I am been taught (unless I find that thing boring! 😆). Secondly, I am a shy person. I don't feel comfortable asking questions and will rather do my own research. Thirdly, I learn better when I figure out the problem on my own. Even if I ask a question and it got answered, most times I am not satisfied with the answer I get and will still make research to know more.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

And my most preferred way of doing research is to use the internet, specifically Google. Anytime I come across a new word that I don't know the meaning of, I quickly google it. Some people prefer using dictionaries and in the past, I have also tried to get used to using a dictionary but I always go back to using Google and you want to know why I prefer google? Diversity!

A dictionary will give you the meaning of a word just from the perspective of that particular dictionary (maybe Oxford or Macmillan) but using Google, I get to see the different perspectives of more than one dictionary! In addition to seeing different perspectives of that word and better understanding its meaning, you will also end up learning more things via the "people also ask" section.

I asked for the meaning of assertion

How do I identify an intelligent person?

That's actually kinda tricky because we have different types of intelligence. You might ask a person who's musically intelligent questions about maths and because the person couldn't answer, you conclude that they aren't intelligent. "Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid"

But I can sometimes tell a person is intelligent just by having a conversation with them. Intelligent people get tired of small talks (general mundane conversations like talking about the latest clothes in town, or the recent celebrity gossip), they prefer deeper conversations and can go on and on when talking about their favorite topics (I am that way when I am talking about computers 😆).

But the true test of intelligence comes in problem-solving. The ability to take what you know and use it to solve a problem or make a decision is one of the meanings of intelligence. It's one thing to acquire knowledge but it's a totally different case to be able to apply that knowledge in the real world. I mean, what's the essence of acquiring knowledge if you don't know how to use it?

So, what do you think? How do you know a person is intelligent? Check out this article; highly intelligent people have these traits. See if you can relate to some of those traits that are talked about 😉

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Monday July 25, 2022

11
$ 1.47
$ 1.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Infinity
+ 2
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Intelligence

Comments

All smart people (geniuses) are a little "crazy. Well, that's how it seems to the average person. You can tell if a person is smart or not by his actions and deeds.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, just by watching the way a person does things, you can tell if they are highly intelligent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you nailed some points. During my secondary school days, we were in groups, the ones that ask questions on every class and WE that don't like to ask nor answer questions. And surprisingly when result comes, teachers will be searching for so so and so because he/she doesn't expect an unknown person to be at the top. I remember when I was top on biology class, it got everyone amazed. I had a friend too that misses school like mad because of his mom's shop, but he always flocks around me to get notes after school, during one tough promotion to ss3, he was among the 12 of us that were promoted, it shocked everybody. Intelligency is not a show off thing like the way people see it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aswear bro, that's how most intelligent people are, they always stay hidden and will shock everybody during exam 😆 some are actually very vocal and participate a lot in class, but most are very quiet and only name their moves during exam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are no traits or personality to identify an intelligent person..everyone has their special endowment. Habit you see in an intelligent person like being quiet or being inquisitive could also be portrayed by an unintelligent person

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's why I actually said it's tricky to identify an intelligent person because sometimes, an unintelligent person can also exhibit some of those traits. But when it comes to being inquisitive, you will actually know a person is intelligent or not just from the way they ask and answer questions, you will instantly know you're conversing with an intelligent mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I tend to ask questions if I don't know about something and want to know about it but in school I am.not like that too because I am shy too during school days but fortunately I have adjusted and know to interact sometimes now..

For me and intelligent person is the one who have wisdom and know how to understand others too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's how I see it also, wisdom and understanding are part of the traits of an intelligent person, there are several other traits as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Identifying an intelligent person is quite an easy task, from the way they dress, composure and how the answer questions you will be able to identify an intelligent person, or goes to sit in a corner and just observe all what people are doing...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You got it right, these are also part of the traits of a very intelligent person, the way they answer questions is a good sign and also, they love to observe a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The fish who can't climb thinking he is stupid is a hilarious situation haha. We all have intelligence, its just that we have masters one or more things or given talents. Skills can be enhance and improve. Asking questions or not, as long as you can use it practically and solve problems, you are intelligent, like a fish 😅.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😆 the fish analogy makes sense because fishes are masters of the sea, they can swim very well more than any other creature and if you're to equate it to intelligence, then we can say fishes are very intelligent when in water. The same way we can say a person is intelligent when they are in their field, we tend to become masters of one or more things and we can say we are intelligent in those things

$ 0.00
1 year ago