Forces of darkness are here

35 41
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Yesterday was a pretty crazy day for me, and I haven't been so busy for a while like the way I was on Tuesday. We carried an experiment yesterday and a practical class, this is something that shouldn't have been done on the same day.

The experiment we did is crossbreeding of catfish. This means that we have to produce some baby fishes by using two different fish (male and female) from two different locations and also having a control experiment by using a male and female from the same farm. We are trying to see which one will give better results.

Due to this, I had to leave my house as early as 7 am that day so we can induce the female fish (injecting her with a hormone so she can shed eggs πŸ˜‰).

Another group was also doing their experiment at the same time as us (my group is A, while the other is B). Group B immediately had a problem before they started, when some of us arrived at the farm we saw that group B's fishes are no longer in the bowl they kept them.

They made a mistake by putting the male and female fish together in a bowl, obviously they are going to fight in the middle of the night and jump out from the bowl.

We picked up the female fish behind the farmhouse door and we were all looking for the male when we noticed it's under some old machines. The female wasn't so bad off, but the male is already very weak and looks like it might not survive.

We decided to salvage the situation by putting it back in water, but it wasn't responding much. That's the male they are going to use to fertilize the female, but now it looks like it's going to die and there's no other adult male around, which means we will have to give them some of ours. Forces of darkness at work.

Image source

I went back to my group and we carried out the inducing by injecting the female with a hormone, and then we just have to wait for her to be ready to bring out eggs πŸŽ‰


Practical class?

Immediately after the inducing, the lecturer that was going to take the practical class arrived, just when I was thinking about going out to take breakfast 😩

He started the class, but instead of getting right to the practical, he instead was giving us theories we already knew. The practical is fish feed formulation, which means we have to mix different ingredients to make feed for fish.

We had to improvise a lot because we didn't have access to most of the equipment. The lecturer was still going on and on about the formula to use in making the feed, and most of us were bored out of our minds and some were sleeping.

Me ranting on noise.cash yesterday

After 2 painful hours, we finally started by first missing all the ingredients together, and then it was time to pass it through a pelleting machine. This machine makes it come out in pellets (something like peanuts).

Suddenly, the machine stopped working and we noticed the socket it was plugged to got burnt. The machine was too powerful and it ended up burning the socket box, and we haven't even started pelleting. Forces of darkness at work.

After some brainstorming, we took the machine into the farmhouse and tried to connect it to a direct wall socket, and hope it doesn't work. It finally worked and we were all happy, the feed was pelleting very well.

The pelleting machine

I was standing close to the machine taking pictures of the whole thing, and then I noticed one of my classmates coming close to see how the machine is grinding, but the problem is that she was coming from the back of the machine.

The machine I am talking about is the one used to grind tomatoes, which has a fan-belt at the back rolling at a very high speed which helps to turn the motor used for grinding.

Image source

My classmate came close and her clothes got caught in the fan-belt, the machine immediately stopped working as it tried to roll with her clothes still stuck to the belt. It was chaos as everyone panicked and there was screaming when the machine suddenly sparked and got smoky.

One of us quickly ran and turned off the power switch of the building, and the machine stopped. We helped to disentangle her from the belt, and everyone was saying she was lucky that people were around when it happened.

We tried to start the machine after the whole problem, but it refused to start. Something has gotten burnt within the engine of the machine, everyone was frustrated coz we haven't made much progress.

That was when one of my classmates said "we have forces of darkness in this class that always spoil things" (I guess he is referring to the girl that got caught in the machine).

We ended up using a thrash basket to force the mixed ingredients through its pores so they can come out in "pellets". The work was very rough but we didn't have any choice, or the whole thing will go bad. We all contributed a lot of money to do the project, so we wouldn't want it all to go to waste.

We were supposed to leave it in the sun to dry up after pelleting it, but at that point, very heavy rain started falling πŸ˜† we all concluded that there are indeed forces of darkness working against us.


Rounding it up

Yesterday was just like I said earlier; very crazy. A lot of things went wrong with the activities we did yesterday, and we failed at most of the tasks.

Group B's male fish finally gave up the ghost before they even have the chance to use it to fertilize the female, we had to give them one sperm sac from our male. But even at that, the whole experiment wasn't successful when I checked the " fertilized" eggs and saw that they are all dead.

As for the fish feed-making project, there was heavy sunshine today and when I arrived at school, I saw all the feed outside in the sun. But I have doubts if any fish will agree to eat that atrocity πŸ˜†

The feed been tried in the sun

But at least there's a silver lining to the heavy cloud yesterday, which comes in the form of eating the catfish πŸ€—. After using the huge female and the 2 males, we had no further use for them and we shared them amongst ourselves.

As usual, I'm the chief butcher, so I cut out a huge chunk for myself πŸ˜‰ I got home later that night at about 7:30pm and I immediately prepared pepper soup with the fish. I bought a bottle of predator energy drink to accompany the journey of the fish into my stomach.

Catfish peppersoup and predator

I guess that was the only good thing that came out from yesterday, eating the fish of our labor πŸ˜‚ I was able to properly have a rest at around 10pm, at that point I was too tired to do anything else but to sleep. It was indeed a stressful day.

Thanks @FarmGirl for the sponsorship renewal, I am very grateful for it ma'am πŸ€—

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Wednesday November 3rd, 2021

15
$ 5.97
$ 5.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

That machine needs utmost caution whenever one is using it, I could remember it almost claimed my friend's middle finger. It was a crazy day you had indeed...LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That machine is like a death trap πŸ˜† anything that uses a fan-belt is not to be played with

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WAHAHAHAH o can't stop laughing! Hahahahhahahhahaha what a crazy day your right! About the girl? Hahahhah didn't she have the knowledge that a machine needs distance, why suddenly she stand there hahahhah it is the beginning of you crazy day. Hahhaha tou did not make up the experiment but you jave a free food from the fish just got labor hahahahahha! And then we noticed that yesterday we have a huge rain here i was just wondering of your work hahahahahha lol i love it!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you found my article to be funny, it was truly a funny day for us πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where are the people giving applauds to the how he prepared the pepper soup? That pepper soup look so watery na, too much waterπŸ₯±πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£. The forces of darkness were really at home and normally, prayer supposed to follow and I think there was no 'churchy' person in your group. He for bring compulsory prayer pointπŸ₯±

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Considering the fault that I used just peppersoup spice and fresh pepper, how else did you expect the peppersoup to be?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But how to distinguish the male to female fish? We also has that "darkness of forces" thingy in our place when something unexpected happened. We really can't blame anyone so better to blame it to the darkness of force lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can distinguish them by looking at their reproductive organs 😁 sometimes things happens that are beyond our control and we just have to blame it on the forces of darkness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I'm sorry for what happened to your machine Kushyzee. I think it was a tiring day but a challenging one. Thank you also since I learn a new from this.

Can I taste it? Your fish pepper soup? I feel it that it's tasted so good.☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was a challenging day but we also learnt somethings from our mistakes. Yeah the peppersoup tastes good 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Kushyzee. Mistakes can teach us too. I want to taste it.😁❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm Kushyzee that knows good food. I want that pepper soup. You guys had a great day even when forces of darkness were at work for you guys πŸ˜…πŸ˜… About the male and female fish from group B, I now know that females are always stronger than males πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I wonder what made you think females are stronger, probably because the male died and the female survived

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. If life gives you fish, make peppersoup from it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your resourcefulness is great that you were able to find something to use after the machine broke. Brilliant minds! I didn't know when male and female fish are put together in a bowl they will fight. This is a new info for me :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Probably because the male is trying to do something to the female and she's not buying it, so they fought 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, this makes me giggle :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh...you really had a toxic day,just make sure you rest ok so you can gather your lost energy back

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The activities of that day ended up affecting my health and right now I'm still recovering, it was really a toxic day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your classmate was really lucky. What would happen to her if you weren't there. But it was a toxic day for me. At least, it ended with a yummy fish soup there. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would have ended up a freak accident, and it looks like something pulled out of a movie when the machine suddenly dragged her clothes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

at least u eat the fight and have peace, yu cant come and kill yourself jare... lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, let me still chop life πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha, I imagine the fish when they give them that food: "And what's wrong, I'm fine, I don't eat that" Ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ they will probably end up with diarrhoea or something worse

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Chef Kushy. Next time please invite me to help with eating the pepper soup.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No problem boss 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enjoyment lord

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Na so we see am o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a bumpy day, hehe. At least in the end you finished well with that catfish soup. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am, it was indeed not a very smooth day but it ended well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fish is looking delicious. Mr cook, never knew you could make pepper soup. I think you deserve it after that stress. You're doing well!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Low budget pepper soup πŸ˜‚ I just have to make do with what I have

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I can't believe you ate the poor fish, and you didn't share it with us. It looks delicious, especially with that drink; that is a great way to end a crazy day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There will be a next time and I will share it with everyone here 😁 it's indeed a great way to end the day

$ 0.00
2 years ago