Do you really want to live forever?

41 74
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Death is what makes life worth living - livelimitless.net

While rounding up my last article titled if I were a god, I mentioned I will have a problem with being an immortal and it got me thinking; why will I not want to be an immortal?

Image credit: Background vector created by iconicbestiary - www.freepik.com


Being an immortal means you get to live forever, you will probably stop aging in your 20s so you can retain a youthful body. Sure it will be fun at first, living life without any care and having enough time to do everything you want to do, but it will get boring over time.

Do you know what will make it worse? It's If you're the only immortal around. You get to watch everyone you know and love die of old age (or something worse). There's a high possibility that you will end up really depressed and stay away from humans, but it gets worse again; you can't even kill yourself!

(Lucifer spoiler alert!)

If you have watched the Netflix series called Lucifer, there is a season where Cain came around (yep, as in Cain and Abel in the bible) and he was looking for ways to kill himself. God made him an immortal as a punishment for killing his brother, and he has been on earth for thousands of years.

He was really desperate and kept looking for ways to end his life, he got tired of witnessing several civilizations and seeing everyone he loves die. Now I'm thinking; wouldn't that be what I will do also if I have traveled the earth for thousands of years?

I agree with the quote at the beginning of this article; "Death is what makes life worth living". It's what makes us want to achieve things, it's what pushes us to go beyond our limit, it's what makes every minute so valuable to us, it's what makes us strive every day to get to the top.

I mean, if you were immortal, do you think you will be worried about improving your life right now? Who cares if you get married today or 40 years later? Does it matter if you become a billionaire now or later? You got all the time in the world, right?

Image source

You can go to college today and study medicine, after graduating and working for a few years you get bored of it so you go back to school and study engineering. After being an engineer for a few years, you get bored again and return to school and become a lawyer, and the cycle continues.

You will realize after so many years that nothing interests you anymore and life has lost all meaning; you have seen all there is to see, you have sampled foods from all over the world, music now sounds all the same to you, you have mastered all languages of the world and even know some that have gone extinct.

You will probably have to move around different countries after some decades so people won't label you a witch or something. It's typical human behavior, anything we can't explain we usually call it magic. That was what happened when electricity was invented and when man flew for the first time.

To really put it in perspective; imagine you finally completed a video game you have been playing for months and you're free to do anything you want to do, after a while of exploring the game and seeing things you have seen before, won't you get tired of it?

It happened to me after playing several games, especially those games that simulate the real world (The Sims, GTA, spiderman). For example is grand theft auto, if you know this game you will know you get the chance to explore the world after you have completed the game.

Grand theft auto

Image source

There are no more missions, no more goals for you to accomplish, you have all the cars in the game and you have millions of dollars that you don't even need because you can take anything you want. After a few hours, it all gets boring because there are no goals, and that's also what makes life fun; achieving your goals.

But what if everything gets to live forever, wouldn't it be better? I mean humans, animals, and plants living forever, wouldn't that be preferable? I think I will like that too, but the world might not be peaceful because there are some problems in this world that death helps us to solve.

What do I mean by this? In most countries in the past, power was seized by tyrants who brought hardship upon people but they were killed in a coup and a new government takes over, now imagine if such tyrants were immortal. Those in Nigeria, just imagine if Abacha was still alive and is still the president.

On second thought, are we even going to be having things like prime ministers, governors, presidents? The world will be very much different and most things won't be in existence, I'm thinking it will be kinda boring, but will we ever know if something is boring if we all started off as immortals? I guess we will have fun in other ways that are different from what we have right now


Closing thoughts

My thoughts are over the place right now and I'm beginning to have headaches from thinking too deeply about life 😆

There are lots of things that came to my mind while writing this article but I couldn't even write them down because it felt like an incomplete puzzle and different pieces kept popping up as I tried to complete it.

After all said and done, I think I will prefer having a very long life to being an immortal. Now it's time for the red pill and blue pill question; two pills are given to you with immortality written on the red pill and extra 100 years written on the blue one, which do you pick?

The matrix; red pill or blue pill scene

Image source

I will be ending this article with a song by Mr. Hudson and Jay Z titled Forever young. Do you really want to live forever?

Thanks for reading 💗💗💗

October 9, 2021

15
$ 9.77
$ 9.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Extra 100 years. Death is a gift we don't value. No matter how we try to paint immortality as something good, nothing can change the fact that it is a curse. Ah! Living forever! That's unimaginable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, I remember there was a movie I watched where it was used to curse someone; cursed to live forever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I planned to tackle this article with advantages of immortal but your exposition made me speechless. Indeed death is what makes this life worth living. Just imagine living without goals, no target, no end, just living. It's worthless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, at first immortality sounds intriguing but what happens after you have achieved all your goals and end up the rishest man in the world? Life becomes too boring

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd rather live until my 50s than to live forever. I'm sure I'll feel bored living if that happen. And yeah, it is the limited time that we have that pushes us to achieve anything we want to achieve why we're still alive so, that's that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, 50s? That's really brave of you, I will love to live longer to at least 100 😊 knowing life will end one day is what makes us what to get to the top as quickly as possible

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In as much as the thought is enticing, I don't wanna live forever. What then is the purpose of living life to the fullest when we can do it forever? And the quote says it all :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly ma'am, you have given a very brilliant point. Knowing we have limited time is what makes us want to live life to the fullest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you are brilliant too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww 😊 thanks FarmGirl 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I absolutely do not want to live forever omg no... but if I have given choice, I would also ask for Omnipresence, Omniscience and Omnipotent powers, otherwise no thank you lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's basically the power of God 😆 with that you can even make everyone live forever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha yeah, if I wasn't made a God, o thank you Ma'am.. let me perish before 100 haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Or you can live for more than 100 years 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh no thanks hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really interesting, life is worthless without death, cause death is the end game, it will be boring if we just live fornthe rest, I mean it's good but it's tiring, but yes I want to live longer, and enjoy life atleast, I want to spend time with my love ones before facing the end.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, living forever tends to be boring and it will feel like playing a game without end. The best we can ask for is to live for a very long time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to live forever. But I want to live longer than my parents. Co I want to see them grow old and take care of them. I don't want to die before them coz it would be so hard for them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're so right ma'am, that's how it normally should be; our parents take care of us when we are young, then we return the favor when they are old

$ 0.00
2 years ago

your comment made me smile ear to ear, you are the sweetest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you watched The age of Adeline? It is a great movie. That's what come up into my mind everytime someone mentioned aging and immortality. If you haven't watch it, I highly recommend you that movie, it's definitely worth to watch 😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the recommendation, I will definitely check out that movie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I choose the blue pill, I don't want to be immortal. If I'm bored with the life I lead, I imagine being immortal 😩

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly, immortality can be really tiring 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly, immortality can be really tiring 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The song used to be one of my favorites in 2010 if I am not mistaken and judging from what life looks like in Twilight Saga and The Old Guard, immortality is not something that I will ever wish for in life.

The person would eventually become a god because of knowledge, money, and others but seeing people we love passing away decades and millennium after millennium would only make us broken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen the twilight saga and many other films that have immortals and although they might look like they are enjoying life to the fullest, they tend to become depressed after a while

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May hangganan talaga ang buhay natin sir kung mayroon sanang extension para sa mga mahal natin sa buhay

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's that limited time that makes life worth living I'm not Filipino so I had to translate what you said before I could understand 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sorry sir. I am thinking that you're a Filipino. I am very sorry. We need just to live life to the fullest no time to be sad because life is so short

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no need to apologize, it's a good thing that you speak your language a lot 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay bro. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your points are really valid and convincing, but I will go with the red pill, like I said before, I don't know where people actually go in afterlife, maybe they are reborn or so, but I don't want to take those chances. Is going to get really bored, I agree but is still my choice, as long as I won't be curse to remain in one place 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Las las e go tire you 😅 go watch some of those movies that have immortals and really examine how their life is after hundreds of years, life is meant to end one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I will enjoy it while it last forever before the end

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer to live many years, but as long as the ones I love will also do. And in no way would I want to be immortal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here ma'am, losing people we love can be really heartbreaking and can make life not worth living. But as long as we can live long with the people we love, it becomes really worth it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Difficult question. Watch the Dwayne Johnson movie "Jungle Cruise." It has a good plot. I don't think I would take any. The time I am on earth will be perfect for me. I want to think that it will be like that, and I work to make it so. I hope I'm not wrong Ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel you're right Sir, that's another way to look at it. The time we have here on heart is perfect for each one of us and we should all make sure to utilise it well. Thanks for the movie recommendation, I will watch it later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dwayne was cursed with immortality and they can't be far away from the water. For someone that has free will to do anything, it's a different case.

$ 0.00
2 years ago