Childhood myths; finale

35 44
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

I started this article yesterday and I didn't complete it because I noticed it will be too long (there are just a lot of these myths πŸ˜†). You should read the first part here in case you missed it. I will be continuing from where I stopped yesterday, which is the 4th myth.

4. When your right hand itches you, money is coming.

Image source

This one was quite popular and one of the favorites of many people (especially me). According to the myth, if your right hand suddenly starts itching you then it means you're about to get some money. Some people said it actually works for them, but it has never worked for me πŸ˜†

Back then when I heard about it for the first time as a child, I started looking forward to my hand itching so that I will receive money miraculously, my hand will even start itching on its own with that hope of getting money πŸ˜‚ but it never worked. My hands itched, but money wasn't forthcoming. It's probably itching for me to go steal or something (sometimes that's the only excuse some people need).

5. Don't pass under a clothesline

Image source

The only reason I heard about this one was that passing under a clothesline brings bad luck to the person and as of then, I believed so much in it that whenever I see a clothesline in my path, I never passed under it and will instead follow around it.

Another one similar to this is that you shouldn't pass between two people when working on the road. I still do this sometimes but not because it brings bad luck, but sometimes when I see two people coming from the opposite direction and there's a space between them for me to pass, I don't follow that space and will rather go around them.

It's just that I don't feel safe passing in between two strangers, it's just being cautious πŸ˜‰. And also, I feel it's kinda disrespectful to pass in-between two people that are walking together (I don't like it when someone does it to me). But sometimes, there are some situations when you just have to pass between two people.

6. Don't let anybody walk over you when you're lying down

Image source

I heard this one from my mom and her reason was that you will stop growing if you allow a person to walk over you 🀣 I don't like the idea of remaining small and being seen as a dwarf, so I always made sure to watch out for my siblings walking over me whenever I am lying down.

There was a day I jumped over someone lying on the ground and she ordered me to jump back to where I was coming from (maybe jumping back will nullify the curse πŸ˜‚). I didn't know when I stopped caring about that myth, it's probably when I got taller and I realized my siblings have mistakenly walked over me in the past but that didn't stop my growth sprout πŸ˜†

7. The devil has eaten food on the floor

Image source

Who hasn't heard of this before? They even have a version of it in the United States called "the 5 seconds rule" (it means food is safe to eat if you pick it up within 5 seconds of it falling to the ground) but in Nigeria, we don't even get 5 seconds 🀣

As soon as your food falls on the floor, it immediately becomes Satan's own πŸ˜‚ I believed it coz why not? The devil lives in the ground (also one of the crazy things I believed in my childhood). The reason behind this one is understandable; it isn't safe to pick food from the ground and eat it. They should have just told us the truth instead of featuring the devil, but I know some of us wouldn't listen.

8. If you swallow seeds, they will grow in your stomach

Image source

I was already laughing while typing this one, coz wtf?! 🀣 The belief was that if you end up swallowing the seeds of a fruit, it will germinate in your stomach and grow. As usual, I believed this one as well and was always careful when eating fruits with lots of seeds (an example is a watermelon).

My mom even told me that swallowing seeds can lead to appendicitis because the seeds won't digest and go straight to the appendix. I believed as well, but I found out it was bullshi*t when I got to high school and discovered biology. But this is not an avenue for you to start swallowing seeds (yes I am talking to you πŸ˜‰).


Honorable mentions

  • Don't beat a male child with a broom or his private part will shrink.

  • Don't whistle at night because you will be inviting evil spirits

  • To stop a baby from hiccuping, put a thread on their head

  • Don't leave clothes outside overnight because evil spirits will live in it

  • When the sun is shining while it's raining, a lion is giving birth

  • Rubber bands will suck your blood if you wear them on your wrist

And so on!

There are still a couple of them I haven't talked about and I have forgotten about a lot more, but maybe those in Nigeria have some and will like to share with us. I will also love to hear about the myths in the Philippines and other countries as well, if possible you can even write an article about them πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday April 5th, 2022

14
$ 2.31
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£, You've done a great job putting these together. You remind of one of the myths I've heard several times as a kid, it says "Eating the head of a fish makes a child dull". I can even remember there was a song in Yoruba language about a dull child eating fish head. Sorry, i can't remember the wordings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, this is the first time I am hearing that one about head of fish, maybe it's peculiar to the Yorubas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents have told me all those myths, and I came to believe them, I like to think when my hand itches that it is money that comes to me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also believed it but money never comes no matter how hard my hand itches me πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the reason I dont use rubber band at all is because of this superstitious nonsense. I can't even go back to liking rubber band

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Vampiric rubber band that sucks blood πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

still a bunch of superstitious nonsense

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As kids, They told us that bald head is a sign of money. But our maiguard in our primary school have Baldhead and up till now he's still a maiguard.😭....... "When the sun is shining, raining is falling. The lion has just given birth to twins". This has got to be an Edo proverb. I even know the song 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣 I have also heard that bald head own, and I believed it but later I found out it's a scam. They also said that people that have grey hair when they are still very young will end up becoming very rich in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If the right hand itches, money will coming. I heard it many times Kushyzee. They said it's really true because they experience on it. Hehe the seeds t I have a childhood memories about it. My uncle reminded me with that when I was a child. 😁 "Don't pass under the clothesline" this is new to me Kushyzee. This is my first time to hear this one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Passing under a clothesline is a popular myth in my country, I guess it's not common in the Philippines 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Again! The clothesline had us real good because they said if you have ODESHI in your body it will disappear once you pass under the line.

The passing over while lying down; I'm still cautions of this one and it's kinda different from what they told you...ours is "the person will collect your destiny"

This is really Funny. Thank I initiated a topic via this idea

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I also remember hearing that collecting of destiny version, as well as your odeshi getting cancelled if you pass under clothesline πŸ˜†. Some people also said that passing in between 2 people will cancel your odeshi also. I will check out your own version later 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so relatable. These myths are exactly what we also are told in our childhood, by the way we are told that if it is raining and sun is shining then a marriage of Jackal is happening. hahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I guess it's a slightly different version that is told in your country. I have also heard that if it's raining and sunny, then an elephant is giving birth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a long list, most of the things were formed to prevent us from what's wrong. Picking food from the floor is not hygienic, kids wouldn't just listen to you telling them not to eat what fell from them but since they have been taught not to like satan, it is easier to discourage them by saying Satan has eaten it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what I think too, I quite understand the reason behind that Satan's own but some of the others don't have a good reason behind it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that lying down and devil has eaten you food. lol that one is used whenever puff puff, cheese balls, chinchin, and many more if it fall they (most especially beggars) will say satan has eaten it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And then they will end up picking it later πŸ˜‚ childhood was crazy sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now finally found the 4th part hehehhe my right hand itches yesterday why no money HAHAHHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ it's just a myth, but it seems to work for some people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was scammed because of this myth haha. Like I was literally scared that time when they said that when you swallow seeds it will grow in your body and your body will turn to branches.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I was also very scared of swallowing seeds back then, I always imagined a tree growing out of me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Number 6 & 8 is commonly beliefs that we believe here hahaha when I was a child that was also I believe. Hahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those myths aree widespread and isn't only believed in my country 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha I remember my Mom used to tell me not to leave clothes specifically my underwear overnight as I might got pregnant by supernaturalπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ That horrible

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ this one is a bit extreme, I can't imagine an evil spirit getting someone pregnant

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha but I believe in that when I was young. So imagined how worried I am when one time I left my underwear?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 You must have been going crazy with thoughts of having a spirit baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yessssssssssss! ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I didn't hear most of these oh and the ones from this list I heard were from my friends in primary school

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I heard all of them back then and it's mostly from my mom

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚Confirm woman

$ 0.00
2 years ago