Are you good at haggling prices?

31 37
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how are you today? My day was very busy more than it usually is and it's mostly because I wrote 2 articles today, I had to make room in my schedule during the day to add 2-hours of writing (all thanks to the recent cross-post restrictions by hive). After writing, it was already noon and I quickly rushed over to coding, that was what I was doing until 6 pm this evening. want to see what I am working on?

It's a game 😁 and it's still a work in progress. I will add more cars later on and also increase the speed after every level. There are still a lot of things to add to it but I will just take them one step at a time. Anyway, I'm not here to talk about my programming journey, I want to discuss something all of us are familiar with in one way or the other.

Price haggling

What's price haggling? According to investopedia;

To haggle is when two parties involved in a transaction such as the purchase of a good and service negotiate the price until both parties can mutually agree on a fair price. The process of haggling involves two parties making sequential offers and counteroffers to each other until a price is agreed upon.

Image source

This is something I believe we are all familiar with and will at one point have to deal with unless you're the type who has lots of money and doesn't bother to haggle prices when shopping πŸ˜†. One thing I have learned over the years when it comes to traders at a local market is that most of them increase the real price of a product and expect you to haggle it down to the actual price or close enough.

For example, if a pair of shoes actually cost $50 (the base price), they will tell you it's $70 and you have to haggle the price down to that base price. If you don't haggle, you will be ripped off and you will end up buying the shoes for $70. Some people may end up buying it at $60, but the patient ones will be able to beat the price down till it gets to the base before buying it.

Some people are very good at haggling prices and nobody does it better than women, specifically mothers πŸ˜‚ I have witnessed my mom haggling prices so many times and I always feel pity for the trader, sometimes I will have to close my ears because of the unbelievable prices I'm hearing and do you know the crazy part? Most of the time she gets the item for the price she proposed!

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I used to follow her to the market a lot when I was a kid and sometimes when she's haggling prices, I start praying we don't get beaten up by everyone in the market πŸ˜‚. It's mostly when it comes to food items like meat and fish that it gets worse.

Mom: You said the price for this fish is what again?

Seller: it's $100 ma

Mom: I'm giving you $30

Me: (looking around to make sure no one else hears that πŸ˜†).

At the end of the day, she ends up buying the fish for $40 but I know if it's me, I will give up at $80. I can only haggle properly when I already know the price of what I'm buying, and I start haggling from below the base price coz I know the trader is going to say a higher amount.

Source

For example, if I know a pair of shoes cost $100, the seller might say it's $130, then I will tell him it's $70, from there we start working our way up until one person gives up or will meet at the base price of $100 πŸ˜†. But when it comes to things I don't know the actual price, I'm at the mercy of the seller coz I won't know the price to target.

I might haggle the price of those shoes to $110 and the seller will agree, I will leave the shop thinking I got it cheaper but meanwhile I paid $10 extra, that's a simple example of winning the battle but losing the war; I got the shoes but paid higher than the real amount. It's because of this that I usually investigate the price of an item (mostly by asking people who have bought it) before actually going to buy it.

So, that's my usual strategy when it comes to haggling prices; I start lower than the actual price because I know the seller will start higher. It works most of the time but sometimes it doesn't, especially when I don't know the actual price. What strategies do you use when haggling prices or do you always pay the exact amount you're told? Let me know in the comments below, maybe I will learn something new πŸ˜‰

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Tuesday August 16, 2022

11
$ 1.27
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JenThoughts
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Very bad, in fact, I can't even haggle because I'm too shy for that, I'm embarrassed to want to put a price on a certain product.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Some people are actually that way, they can't haggle because they are very shy but I think you should learn how to do that, it will help you from getting cheated by traders

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the best people you can haggle price with are the aboki (Hausa men) πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ these guys knows how to pick an higher price for you. Let's say, they call the price of onions (a dozen) at #600 for you, if you bring it down to #150, trust me, they will sell. They act smart in the beginning but if you aren't smarter than them, they will cheat you. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I have been cheated many times by them especially when buying Onions, not until my friend would accompany me to the market and beat the price down.

There are areas I can haggle price and beat it to my own price too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Those aboki are something else πŸ˜‚ but what I like about them is that they easily give up once they see you beat the price down to what it actually is and insist on it, you can't try that with an Igbo man πŸ˜‚ they have perfected the art of fixing high price and standing with it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Igbo doesn't joke with money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't haggle but I have someone who could do that which is my mom. At I do pity for the seller and at the same the do feel embarrassed when she starts haggling with the seller.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here bro, I always feel embarrassed when she starts haggling but now I can understand why she did it, most of those traders will rip you off if you don't haggle

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to haggle alot...and I'm still on it because the last time I went to market close to my to quickly get a fish, the woman confessed that my market is always tiring🀣. But just like you said, they top big amount to those items, if you don't haggle, you loose

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly o, you just have to be smarter than them or else they will cheat you, that's how most of those traders make big profit from unsuspecting people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your strategy is good :) It feels nice when we negotiate and then the seller gives in. But it's funny when we find out we still bought an item at a higher price, lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ I hate when that happens. Getting home with the product and your friend suddenly tells you the price you bought it is higher

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, it does happen :) We also experience it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mom is good at it. She probably knows the exact price and that for her the selling price is too expensive so she bargained for a lower one. lol.. Clever mom..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I also realised after some years, she probably know the exact price and that's why should could go very low, I learnt that trick from her πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe kushyzee to tell you honestly I'm not really good in price haggling. Ever since I didn't do it. Hehe I don't know, I think I'm not good at it. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can understand Ramona, i'm also not good at it unless I know the real price but it gets easier with practice 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe now I will practice Kushyzee. 😁 Kidding. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I can relate! I can negotiate with my supposed discount before purchasing πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜† same here, it only becomes a problem if I don't know there's a discount in the first place

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not good at price haggling my friend. I don't know why but I'm shy sometimes, that's why I have never done price haggling hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should try it sometimes, especially when buying things from a local market, you will be surprised at how much money you can save from price haggling πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, maybe I really need it to save. Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not really good at it but I do haggle some of the goods I buy in the market. I mostly hagglr those preloved items like clothes and shoes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not many people are good at haggling and it's normal but at one point or another, everyone will haggle prices when buying an item

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Good thing that there are sellers that really allowed the buyers to do it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it's always that way when I was young and I do follow my mum to the market. I guess it's a training because now, I'm following her footsteps πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ exactly, I learnt how to do it from my mom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha I know the trend in market how the sellers try to impress buyers to earn money and always I look for the things with reasonable price and go towards the price haggling. It never disappointed me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here, I always try to negotiate prices because I know sellers sometimes increase it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Me too is doing it Kush. When we bought something in the mall for sure we cannot do haggling. There is a specific store in the market that we can do haggling. I know that they gave prices 50% more or sometimes a 100%. So, I will ask for a big discount and then the seller will give their so called base price. If you don't know how to do it, for sure you can bought the item with the higher price.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. There are some malls you can't haggle prices because everyone already know they have a fixed price but some stores give discounts and you won't know unless you know how to haggle

$ 0.00
1 year ago