A 25 years old shouldn't have a car!

35 57
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🤠 a very warm greeting to you all, how are you today? I had a surprise visit from an old friend today and I ended up leaving my house for several hours (I hardly leave home). I finished fetching water in the morning and was about to start coding when I heard a knock on my door, I opened it and saw a friend I lost contact with many years ago, I was surprised he still knew the directions to my house 😆.

I was even more surprised when he said he now owns a car and for real I checked outside my house and saw his car parked in front. We talked for some minutes and we decided to go to his house, I got back in the evening after spending time in his house playing video games and watching movies. I was telling my sisters about the whole thing and my mom overheard, she came close and I knew a heated argument was about to start 🥶

I thought it was going to be the usual; "I hope your friend is not into cyber fraud, don't get jealous of his life now and start scamming people as well". I was just going to nod and agree with her coz I didn't have the time to argue, but then she said; "that your friend should be around 25 years or so, he is too young to own a car".

Image source

I asked what she meant by too young to own a car and she said; "What business is he doing that will make him enough money in a short time to buy a car? If it's someone that has graduated, he will still have to work for a while before he will be able to have the money to buy a car", I looked at her in disbelief, meanwhile my sister was already laughing at this point 😂 I dropped my phone coz I knew this was going to be a long argument, my mom needs to be schooled 😆.

I asked her if it was only through cybercrimes that a young person can buy a car and she said yes! (yeah I know, it's unbelievable). I suddenly realized that this mentality has eaten deep into the society and so many people believe that the only way to make money is to go out everyday to a physical place and work for several hours just to receive a meagre salary at the end of the month.

My mom believes that a person who isn't going out to work everyday but is still making money is doing something illegal on the internet, so I asked her if she has seen me going out to work everyday and she said no, "then how was I able to buy this phone in my hands right now that is worth over 100k NGN ($200)?", She was looking at me unable to say anything.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Meanwhile, my sister was in the background dropping her own points about people making money on TikTok and Instagram 😂 but I decided to focus on cryptocurrency. When I mentioned buying a phone while "jobless", my sister backed me up and asked my mom if she never wondered how I got the money for a new phone or does she also think I am into cyber fraud?

I told my mom that the internet and Blockchain are now the latest trends in town and people are making money from them daily. The era where one has to go to college, get a degree and start working before they can be earning money is in the past, these days many people are now doing different things on the internet that they can earn from.

The COVID-19 lockdown period saw an upsurge in the number of remote workers, a lot of companies switched over to the remote work system and their workers were working from home and still getting paid monthly. The lockdown also saw an increase in the popularity of cryptocurrency, a lot of airdrops were done in 2020 and I knew someone who made over $4000 just from airdrops!

Image source

Aside from cryptocurrency, we also have people comfortably working from home and earning comfortably well more than the ones that go out daily. Two of my sisters go out every day to work and I was about to brag to my mom that I stay home every day and still make more money than both of them but I remembered the current cryptocurrency dip and decided to keep my mouth shut 😂

I met someone online who is a software engineer working remotely for a company in Australia and he gets paid $2500 monthly, which means he makes $30k in a year and he doesn't even leave his house (lol). I watched a YouTube video earlier this week of someone who was an ex-Google TechLead and he earns around $500k, he hardly visits the office in person and mostly works from home, isn't that crazy?

There are a lot of ways people are now utilizing the internet to make some really good income from the comfort of their homes, from blogging to vlogging, social media, affiliate marketing, graphics design, freelancing, programming, just name it! As long as it's something that happens through the internet, people are making money from it daily.

Image source

I made all these points to my mom and she was just staring at me in silence. With me working the cryptocurrency and programming angle and my sister hitting her with the TikTokers and YouTubers, she knew she has lost this argument already 😂 She finally admitted defeat and asked us to get her Panadol coz she was already feeling headaches 😆

I was surprised that my mom had that mentality, what did she think I have been doing all these years on the internet? From blogging to ponzi schemes to cryptocurrency to graphics design and now blogging again, I have always made my money with the power of the internet. Gone are the days when someone has to have a physical job before they can make money, things are now easier because of the internet.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Tuesday June 21, 2022

14
$ 1.93
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Marts
+ 9
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

Doubtful, my opinion. If a 25 yo boy can afford to get a car then why not let him do that. If he can't afford there are opportunities to get some car finance even if your credit score leaves much to be desired. An old school chum of mine last year got a new Tesla with the help of https://carplus.co.uk/. I see zero problems with it!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In Nigeria most people have this belief that 8am to 5pm work is the only way to be successful and when you try to educate them that there are more possible ways, they never seem to believe because they all assume that it's scam

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am telling you. The worst thing is that it's not only the old generation that thinks that way, I have seen young people that also have that mentality, especially girls

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes when I see youths around this age bracket working really hard at factories from dawn to dusk in my area.i feel really sad for them. This is the kind of jobs that their uneducated and unenlightened fathers did for year's without any considerable improvement in the financial conditions of the family. How can a young man of 25years spend five years of his life workin at a plastic factory and yet nothing to show for it. Soon, he would be planning to get married because he's not getting younger and then he would live the kind of average life that his parents lived( from hand to mouth) with his own family while working continuously at the backbreaking job. If only he's exposed and enlightened enough, I don't think he would even spent up to three years learning the most difficult digital skill which would continueee to reward him handsomely for the rest of his life without putting his health and life at risk.... Although, hes still better than the others causing problems for people in the neighbourhood.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You hit the nail right on the head with this comment. The world is continually changing and right now we are in the digital age where you can work with just your brain while sitting comfortably at home and still make lots of money. I wonder why people will still decide to stick to the old system that they know perfectly well didn't favor their forefathers, why not try something new since the old ways isn't good enough?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe your mom is just surprised for your friend having a car at early age. But i guess it's just normal . Maybe we should just give them some ideas about the modern world especially how to make money in utilizing our own skills using technology. Hehe, I'm already 26 years of age, how i wish I can have my own car too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am already educating my mom on the different ways in which young people are now making money through the internet, she should change the mindset that it's only through illegal means that a young adult can acquire enough money to buy a car, times has changed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mum is funny😂. People not even up to 20 buy car but i know why she said that. Most people don't know there are opportunities to make money online. They still believe it's a white collar job alone that brings in legit money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The older generation believes in only two things that can make you money enough to buy a car: white collar jobs and yahoo. If you're always at home and still manage to buy a car, there's nothing you will say to convince them that you're not doing yahoo 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

1 to us 0 to African parents. Comrade you have done us proud. Make your way to the headquarters for your reward nice one. Omo it’s like all Nigerian parents have the same wiring I swear 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣 Now I understand why Naija police will harrass a young man that has a car, all of them think it's only through yahoo that youths can make money to buy a car

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I swear them no understand how young boy go dey control better money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine how surprise your mom will be, our parents have over heard of yahoo boy activities and feels youths have money only through that source

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's exactly the mentality my mom has. I can't really blame her for thinking that way because the activities of yahoo boys are very rampant

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was last week I saw a post on FB about s woman was in shock. The news was captioned; "these people too dey hide things, they didn't tell me what one can make money on tiktok".

That was an elderly woman that joined a tiktok challenge and she was paid in dollars.

Opportunities full internet, it's just for us to sit, learn and engage

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's just it o, many people thing the internet is just to have fun and catch cruise but people are cashing out massively from it everyday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is quite a handful for some oldies to grasp all these concepts but, yeah! We're surrounded by lots of opportunities!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, exactly, the old generation can't seem to keep up with the fast pace the world is going right now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. But what is it about cars that makes people want to buy it quickly. Maybe it is just me who sees it as strange.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, everybody with their choice sha, some people just buy it because it's more convenient than public transport

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was nice of you to explain to mom that money could be made, in a legit way online.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I just hope she has changed her mindset about the whole thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my office mate before resigned and focus in working at home. Now she is earning not less than $1000 per month. Gone are the traditional way of working..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are lots of opportunities online that can pay someone even more than working physically, the internet has brought a lot of changes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is quite normal that there is a generational and generational difference in thought.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess so, that's what usually makes the older generation to assume wrongly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

some elders thought that earning nowadays will always be needed a degree in college. but there is a lot of opportunity here online.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, young people as are now earning money through the internet and no longer have to depend on a degree

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now a days, it doesn't matter if you are a degree holder or not. For as long as you are eager to earn and work on it in a right and correct way, lots of opportunities will be waving at you, especially in online world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's what I tried to explain to my mom, as long as you're eager to work and are passionate, there are lots of things to do online that can generate income

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Las personas adultas tienen sus pensamientos basados en su formación en otra época y está bueno siempre hablar con ellos para que entiendan que hay cambios que nos rodean en esta época actual😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You must understand your mom for her beliefs,she didnt know what our generations now evolving a kind of statics in making money or earning an easy money,try to explain in a good way that not all buying car in a young age is already a scammer😀

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, i understood she didn't know about the different ways a person can earn money online, that's why I took out time to explain it for her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we really enjoy arguing with our parents about what's old and new to us nowadays.very nice moments and sign of bonding at all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, I do enjoy arguing with my mom and teaching her things about the modern world

$ 0.00
1 year ago