Teen Horror movies you should watch!

27 62
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago

 26th of May 2022

Lead Image

5. Final Destination

Source

Though the third was entertaining, the first released in 2000 is the only one in the franchise that holds up. The film follows Alex Browning who is embarking on a trip to Paris with his school. But, while on the plane he experiences a premonition of the plane exploding right after take-off. In a panic him and six others get off, with the plane exploding just moments after.

Following that, all seven passengers that left the plane must fight to cheat death as it hunts them down in the order they would have died on the plane.

The first film is excellent, as there’s novelty in its concept. However, the rest of the franchise falls flat, with them essentially being a gore fest. The series is noteworthy among other films in the horror genre in that the antagonist is not a stereotypical slasher but is instead Death personified. Manipulating circumstances in the environment to kill off the heroes.

4. Urban Legend

Source

This movie is an absolute classic and perhaps one of my all-time favourite teen slasher movies. Released in 1998. This film follows a university that is beset by a rash of gruesome murders that resemble classic Urban Legends, leaving the college campus transformed into the hunting ground for a crazed killer.

What makes it so great is that numerous comparisons can be made between the film and Wes Craven’s Scream. Though it received negative reviews from critics, it was a financial success, and was incredibly entertaining for fans of the slasher genre. Not only that, but that cast was stacked, with people like, Jared Leto, Joshua Jackson, Tara Reid, and horror legend Robert Englund (aka, Freddy Krueger).

Even if you’re not a fan of this movie, the opening scene will sends shivers down your spine- as a young teen leaves a gas station in the middle of the night with the stuttering clerk yelling after her that someone is in the back seat.

3. I Know What You Did Last Summer

Source

Released in 1997, this American slasher is a classic, and a fan favourite even to this day. A year after running over a fisherman and dumping his body in the water, four friends reconvene when one of them receives a frightening letter stating, “I know what you did last summer”. What ensues is the battle between a group of teens and a man with a meat hook for a hand. It’s grisly, and bloody, and just downright amazing.

 Like most of the other movies on this list, ‘I Know What You Did Last Summer’ comes from the same self-aware, witty, slasher horror style as Scream, and it was even penned by the same writer.

The film is very 90’s, yes, but that’s not a bad thing. Many elements of the film have stood the test of time and the slow-walking murderer and brutal kills though a classic slasher trope till holds up.

2. Halloween

Source

When you think teen horror, you think Halloween. Aside from this, Halloween may just be the most important and influential teen slasher to date. It follows deranged killer Michael Myers, 15 years after he brutally killed his 17-year-old sister and was subsequently locked away for 15 years.

He breaks free from his restraints and heads back to his hometown, Haddonfield, Illinois, hunting for his next victim.

But why exactly is this film so popular? Upon its release in 1978, John Carpenter’s horror-thriller became the most successful independent movie of all time, setting the bar high for modern horror movies. One of the main reasons it’s such a hit with horror movie fans is that it pays respect to women.

While Carpenter wrote the majority of the screenplay himself, producer Debra Hill wrote the dialogue between the three female high school leads, which gave it authenticity. It’s funny and believable. Not only that, but the film itself is still highly influential to this day.

While the slasher formula has been duplicated repeatedly, Carpenter’s distinct style continues to inspire young filmmakers. From synth music, retro feel, and audio-visual aesthetic, you can find influence of his work in many films and tv shows today.

1. Scream

Source

Scream has gone down in history as one of the greatest slasher horror films to date. And was arguably the most influential trailblazer in the slasher subgenre, with an iconic final girl at its helm.

Now upon its release in the 90’s, the slasher genre had all but died down, creating an opening for a brand new, blood-thirsty horror, and as we know, slashers are a hit with the teens. Now, what set Scream apart was that it approached the genre with a meta-awareness, something that was so vastly different for horror films at the time.

It was transparent about horror movie tropes, gifting us with a group of characters that were painfully aware of the slasher genre, and what comes with that. Scream ultimately ushered in a wave of 90’s teen horror, and meta films, and was arguably one of the most influential films in the slasher genre.

12
$ 1.86
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago

Comments

That's one of the scariest thing that I have heard before, "fighting death" . Can anyone do that? Well, I am scared of horror movies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Owemji that Final Destination. Another js Saw, Wrong Turn and many many more. They are rrally a good movies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Did you watch the final movie for the final destination franchise? Oh lord.. you need to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I havent yet, I will check rhat OMG

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too bad I haven't watched any one of them. I have heard of "The final destination" movie though. Maybe I should go check it out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You'd be glad you did.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Horror movies generally increase adrenaline. I liked them all the time, although in some movies, I keep the blanket on my head.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Most of the American horror movies aren't that scary. I prefer the Japanese ones.. those ones get my heart beat up each time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The 1,2 and 5 I've already watched that movie kristoff. I love the Final Destination. You can feel the fears. It's really horrible especially when you feel that there was going happen again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The annoying things is.. they can see the death before it happens in final destination but they can't escape it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Horror movies isn't for me. The last i can remember watching way Something Rush , i can't remember the title again, but it has Rush in it. The scenes still play in my head till date

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is it gold rush?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm not sure but it's about some high school students who took a sabbatical and went into the woods to have fun but where attack by cannibals. They killed some of the students before they got arrested, but they attacked the police station too and burn the officers to ashes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was expecting to see some other horror movies that I haven't watched, but I have already watched all of these. And these are all good movies tho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not a fan of horror at all. I have tried to like it, but it just isn't my thing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been a fan of horror movies but why haven't I seen any of these? I should add them to my list if they are on Netflix. I love watching horror movies and I guess these ones would be super interesting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate, detest and find horror movies depressing after I watch them. Well amongst those you mentioned here, I think I saw Halloween and it wasn't funny for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you should see the movie 'saw'. You'd be glad you did.. haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I cannot deny that I loved horror movies. I actually watched all the films you mentioned. My favorite is I know what you did last summer. It has a remake which released recently.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. I think the remake is a TV series. Saw it online during a random search.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can i get some erotics taste too? Horror without erotics aren't necessary 🥴

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright. I'd inform you when I write something like that. Perhaps in two days from now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okk fair enough.. Make sure to tag me in your post

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

owww no, again fear. I never watch horror movies. because I'm afraid. my friends used to watch the genie movie, I didn't

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You should try watching them. They're not as scary as you think.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ohhh no I can't watch it. i tried a few times i couldn't

$ 0.00
1 year ago