Optician's inferno; don't break it this time!

18 44
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I’m writing this as a follow up to today’s article "Getting a new Glasses today; I deserve a Hall of carelessness badge" where I mentioned I’d be going to the hospital to get another pair of glasses; hash-tag my carelessness and constantly  breaking my glasses by always sleeping off with it on my face. I had to call. Based on my discussion with the optician the previous day, he asked me to call him early morning so he’d know when he’d be free to attend to me; which I did, after which we fixed 12 pm WAT (west African time). Had to do a little bit of interaction here on read.cash before having breakfast after which I dressed up and convinced my cousin to come with me plus I had to convince him not to mention this to his mom because I didn’t want her to know I had broken the previous glasses as she has been too busy to even notice: she paid for the last one and wouldn’t like to place on her the responsibility of getting a new one since I have the ability to do this myself. I wouldn’t forget to mention that breakfast was a mess; my cousin @Temimay was meant to make breakfast of yam and fried egg but he turned it into Yam and raw eggs. For me it’s basically raw eggs because my taste buds interpreted it to be so; he actually fried the eggs but wasn’t properly fried, I don’t think those eggs used more than 30 seconds to 1 minute on fire hence it tasted like raw eggs with seasoning and spice. He’s a very good cook but he decided to torture me this morning in a very weird way.

Lead image

Let’s get back to track; as mentioned in this morning’s article, I didn’t have to wait in line like everyone else since I’m not exactly booking an appointment but calling him casually as a friend who needs to get another pair of glasses for his not-so-perfect eyes. Coincidentally it was people-free when I got there basically because it was already mid-day and they were basically through with appointments for the day; I guess this was why he asked me to come by 12, thus making it easier to fulfill my purpose without any form of delay. I didn’t expect I was gonna be tested again since my glasses prescription was already known and but I guess it’s all standard procedure…damn…thinking about this just now made me realize I haven’t had a eye test in about six months, hence I think testing me again was the best decision; he’s a professional after all.

Left eye has always been the problem

The test was a really weird one as usual but I’d rather not go into this because it was basically all about me looking at letters through a mirror while trying to identify them with a special device on my face; I was feeling like a nerd at the moment but it was a really hectic one because I had difficulty in seeing some of the letters and we had to switch between lenses in a bid to get the perfect one; this led to the observation that I see better with my right eye than with my left, I’ve always known this but the tests made it even obvious because I could see certain letters when my left eye was covered and had to see with my right only, but could barely see clearly when the right eye was covered and had to identify letters with the left. The problem has always been my left eye; I sometimes wake up in the morning with my left eye totally red but right eye absolutely normal; turns out it’s a reaction to over exposure to sun light or any form of bright light as I’m photo-phobic hence my glasses has to be slightly tinted to reduce this reaction.

The testing procedure was over and I had to select another frame which was rather stressful process because I’m a very selective person and wouldn’t just take anything unless I’m convinced from within me hence I had to thoroughly search for a preferred lens which I couldn’t find. The optician had to put a call through to someone who brought another set of frames hence I had to wait an extra thirty minutes for the person’s arrival. New frames came in after the long wait and kaboom; I made the selection after which we concluded I’d be coming back tomorrow to get the glasses and I’d be making a payment of seven thousand Naira ($13) via transfer as soon as I got home. $13 may seem small but it’s a lot of money for me considering I’ve got too many expenses on me at the moment; this is the part where I add the crying emoji but I’d pass. Had to remind him not to forget the glasses was to be tinted due to being photo-phobic. The glasses will be ready tomorrow and I’d be glad to share the picture as soon as I get it.

I'm considering trying out contact lenses as suggested by @Theblackdoll but I've got no idea how this is gonna feel or if I'm gonna be able to adapt; I'd never know until I try.

@CoquiCoin; I break more glasses than you but this time will be different- watch out!

At the time of writing this I’m hungry for Bread and fried egg and my stomach is beginning to pill me downwards; at this point I’m guessing my worms are beginning to munch on my intestine already, unfortunately they’d have to try harder because my stomach is made of indestructible metal. I’m hungry for fried egg and this is exactly what I’m gonna have as dinner since I’m mostly in the business of satisfying myself without holding back.

Toddles!

 

Lead image from unsplash

8
$ 7.17
$ 6.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Take your time to eat well. If you will like me to get the glass for you for free, I can do that. But you might need to come over to Ondo state... Smiles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For free? But how? Now I'm interested in this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The eggs we're well cooked and I told you repeatedly they aren't fried eggs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right they aren'tfried eggs; but raw eggs 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope these last you a long time, hehe. Because mine are easier to replace because they are only for reading. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine are for reading and for walking and for seeing and for doing everything the eyes does; including watching adult videos....🤣🤣 just kidding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you do not break it this time Then check out for the contact lens It’s a good idea

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😂😂 I hope you change the attitude of always sleeping with them on, I like walking with you cause you always look smart with your glass on😏😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it's time I started looking unsmart so you would stop walking with me lol.. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

👀👀👀 heart breaking Joke

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in my place, lense are very expensive for me, I don't know from others if they can easily afford it, but for me ? I used to have it but never been used hahahah scared to break it. I hope you'll never do the same thing again take care of those friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd be more careful next time; especially since I had to pay a lot of money this time. I can't afford to break it or od have to be spending my BCH earning on it everytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays lenses are so expensive that we can't break them for anything in the world, please take care of them,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bitter truth; lesson learnt and will try not to break this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago