Five (5) signs that you're having an anxiety attack

18 55
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago

13th of May 2022

Lead Image

1. A Racing Heartbeat

Anxiety is when you suddenly feel like you’re not in control and you begin to panic. Eventually, the fight or flight reaction kicks in. This is your brain telling you to either attack and manage the situation, or simply flee. We’ve all felt our hearts skip a beat when we feel nervous. On the other hand, a racing heart, or chronic heart palpitations mean you’re going through something more serious.

If your heart feels like it’s about to burst out of your chest, you’re probably worried about something. When you notice this symptom coming on, try to calm your breathing, or take your anxiety medication.

2. Shaking or Trembling 

During an anxiety attack, your hands may begin to tremble and your body becomes wobbly. This is another sign that your body is in fight-or-flight mode. It’s a reaction to anything that has stressed you out such as a difficult day at work, or a bad breakup.

Everyone has a fight-or-flight response. This can help you make fast decisions in life-or death situations. Chemicals like adrenaline and cortisol rush into your body so you can act quickly. But, if your body remains in fight-or-flight during stressful moments that don’t immediately put you in danger, symptoms like these might occur. 

3. Mouth Feeling Dry

During anxiety attacks, your mouth may suddenly become dry. You feel like saliva in your mouth has suddenly vanished without reason, and you find it difficult to speak up. This is commonly referred to as “cottonmouth”.  It can occur if you suffer from acid reflux, or if you breathe with your mouth open. To deal with this problem, you need to drink lots of water! 

However, dryness in the mouth can also be a side effect of several meds. If you notice this happening after taking your pills, talk to your doctor

 4. Tingling, Numbness, or Burning

A common indicator is sudden numbness in certain parts of the body such as the arms and legs. This happens because blood has been drained into specific parts of the body, thus getting you ready for fight or flight because the brain believes you are in danger and you need either run from the source of danger or attack.

5. Breathing Difficulties 

Breathing difficulties may occur during anxiety episodes, thus making it difficult for you to take deep breaths. But you end up with shallow breaths which makes you feel like you’re choking. You do not need to panic when these occurs. Breathing exercises can help you gain control of your breath.

There are many more symptoms to help you recognise an anxiety attack. Do not depend on these alone but consult your doctor immediately if you think you are having an anxiety attack. Your health is your priority!

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

11
$ 3.53
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
$ 0.03 from @Itsfarah
+ 5
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago

Comments

Thank God I haven't experience this when I had my depression..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you haven't experienced it. But if you know anyone with such symptoms, advice them to go to the hospital immediately.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I know a lot from my friends experienced it so what I did was give them the best advise that I could.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never knew before that mouth also start to dry when we are having anxiety attacks. Thank you for pointing out its symptoms.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You learnt something new.. it's my pleasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really i had all those symptoms.. Maybe I've to check myself asap

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I guess you need to. Do not hesitate but go right away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Anyway i wanna die too man.. This racist society is too much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh gosh that's how an anxiety attack is. I feel like I've been through this. I'm just thankful that I passed that stage.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If you think you're having such symptoms, I'd suggest you go to your doctor right away and without hesitating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No it's okay I can handle. I don't have enough money to go to Doctor, medical services is so expensive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never really experienced an anxiety attack, but I have been anxious. Does this make any sense?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I just find it hard to breathe for no valid reason and then I will snap out of it and wonder what made me feel that way for some seconds.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think I have had all these experience. But I do have sweaty palms whenever I am anxious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very happy to say that I have get rid of my anxiety attack! I have been there and sometimes you feel like you're going crazy and you cannot breathe. It's a hard battle. If I was able to get out from it, so as the others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago