Five (5) of the most expensive countries in the world

13 77
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Countries, Expenses

29th of April 2022

Lead Image

The cost of living can be expensive. Paying for provisions like rent, electricity, water, groceries, clothing, and gas for your vehicle can really add up. But in some countries, the cost of living is very expensive making it difficult for many hard-working individuals and families to make a living. This article brings you five of the most expensive countries in the world.

5. Denmark

It is an expensive destination located in northern Europe, where the cost of living is high even by European standards. It has a cost-of-living index score of 83 (eighty-three), which is the second highest ranking among Scandinavian countries.

Its restaurant prices are the third highest in the world and many people here live in shared accommodation. Luckily, salaries are relatively high to balance the high cost of goods and services in Denmark. In addition, Denmark has the world's lowest level of corruption and the highest personal income tax rates.

4. Japan

It is the 11th most populous and most densely populated country in the world. Tokyo, the capital of Japan has been rated as one of the three Asian cities where it is most expensive to lead a luxury lifestyle. To rent a one-bedroom apartment in Tokyo is about $1370 a month or $111 a night in an Airbnb.

Japan is the fourth most expensive place to do your grocery shopping. The cost-of-living index in Japan is also 83 points. Japan has the world's second highest life expectancy with men living to 81 and women to 88 on average. It is ranked the second highest country on the human development index in Asia.

3. Iceland

Iceland is a Nordic Island country in Europe. The cost-of-living index in Iceland is about 100.4. Icelanders pay about forty-four (44%) higher than the EU (European Union) average for accommodation and eating out costs about fifty two percent (52%) higher for transportation.

The average wage in Iceland before tax is $3160. They pay about thirty seven percent (37%) income tax on their salary. A one-bedroom apartment in the city cost about 1500.

2. Norway

It is ranked first on the world happiness report since 2009. Norway has the highest human development index in the world, the country has the fourth highest per capita income in the world. The cost-of-living index is 101 points the average wage in Norway is around 68,000 a year. Even McDonald’s starting wage is more than $18 an hour.

They usually work for five hours per week and have six weeks of paid vacation in Norway. The income tax is around thirty percent (30%). Rent is expensive especially in major cities like in Oslo, hence there is an increase in homeless people.

1. Switzerland

It is one of the most developed countries in the world with the highest nominal wealth per adult. The cost of a living index score is 122 points which is over 20 points more than the runner-up Norway.

Even the big mac holds the esteemed position of being the most expensive in the world. The Swiss are the highest paid people with the average wage being a little over one hundred thousand dollars a year. But one of the reports suggests one in 13 Swiss people live in relative poverty. Switzerland has some of the highest rental costs in the world.

Disclaimer: This article and all material used in this content is used for entertainment and educational purposes only.

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

23
$ 4.61
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @QueenOlivia
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Countries, Expenses

Comments

firstly, i must say I loved your article and it made me familiarize with the high cost of living in these countries that you mentioned. However, you should visit most countries in Africa and most especially my country, Nigeria. That way, you would understand that no matter how difficult life is, we should always be thankful to God for the life we have regardless of the situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here I was thinking I'll go live in Iceland some day. Now I am reconsidering. lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Switzerland is not the first...LUXEMBOURG The richest country in the world in 2022 is Luxembourg. A small Western European state with only about 641,900 people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So, if I don't have money, I should run from these countries abi? Hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Switzerland was in my travelling list for future, but now I will replace it with Turkey due to the expenses...lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Japan, Denmark and Swiss, all three are one of those places I love to live.. wish I was born rich though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought you mentioned my name? Haha. I'm the first one to be called there in your list though. Just kidding! Your top five's is very consistent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol😂😂 so funny

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love this places but I know I can't afford to go there..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love Switzerland kristoff. I love that country. I saw it from the movies. I want to go there. Also the Japan, my aunt work there and she said that Japan is really awesome. Yes my aunt said that Japan is an expensive country kristoff.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

one being the top or the 5th being the top? Woohoo... I'd like to day dream and stay in those places TO TOUR. IF BCH will allow me. But who knows, right?

Of the five, I've visited Japan but only for work.

The one I'd really like to visit.. SWITZERLAND.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well, Denmark offers free education though, and by the way I think tokyo is also called the fashion capital of the world right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Japan won my heart during the last Olympic #Tokyo2020. Tokyo is a fine place with good facilities especially road. I'm just imagining the cost the people encountered during the event.m because they harboured a world

$ 0.00
1 year ago