Detrimental to my mental health; body contact

14 57
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I don't know if everyone else feels this way but I don't like being touched; I mostly feel uncomfortable and mostly excuse myself from a situation that would require me a person to come I'm contavt with me way more than a few seconds, except you're one of my two sisters or probably my best friend.. you may find this weird, In fact I sometimes search it on the internet as well- the keyword is "why don't I like being touched" unfortunately I havent seen any satisfactory anewer. This weird feeling gets even worse during depression... one moment I'm okay, the next I'm depressed and I simply wanna be alone while avoiding the slightest form of communication and contact with any living organism.

Lead image

Yesterday was a really weird one; my cousins were around me as usual came to my room to keep me company but I guess it was quite the opposite as I do not need anyone to keep me company but myself...I guess thay needed some company hence decided to come over to my room- at that point I was feeling like me; zero depression and mood was exactly perfect and whatchamacallit until for no reason depression set in and I had to excuse myself from the room. I've been thinking about what could possibly have triggered depression at this point then I realised it was probably due to the fact that there was constant body contact with my cousins while they came to my room, I avoided this as many times as possible with everything within my power but some thing just can't be controlled... I'd get into this shortly;

Those kids; one 19, the other 15 came out of nowhere and decided to keep themselves company by coming to stay in my room, they were on bed with me at some point but some mistakes really happened, big mistakes; they were watching videos on their smartphones but it turned out that not everyone had the discipline of keeping to themselves; there was body contact at some point which wasn't comfortable because I don't appreciate being touched, I had to move few inches away but few seconds later one of my cousins placed his hands on my shoulder (at this point I was beginning to lose my mind); moved few inches away once more but it turns out body contact is a part of human relationship that can't be escaped afterall they came to the room to keep me company but I didn't need this company as I enjoy my own company and "alone" has always been the keyword from childhood.

I at some point couldn't take it anymore; I simply like the "me" thing and human contact is a bit detrimental to my mental health hence my mood moved to the upside down lane and I only had to excuse myself from the room without giving them a hint of what was happening.... I couldn't tell them "your company is enjoyable but don't touch me". I excused myself from the room and simply went to the dining room for some privacy as I couldn't take it anymore and was already beginning to feel depressed...... was there for about 30 minutes until I noticed both cousins were out of my room before finally returning to my privacy.. mood didn't get better because depression doesn't simply leave like a switch that can be turned on or off..

It turns out that my depression is sparked by a very insignificant factor but body contact is a very significant factor for me; I have no idea why I feel like this each time body contact is maintained far more than the usual 5 seconds of pleasantries (hugs and handshakes).....

Maybe I need to see a psychologist about my problems of not wanting to be touched because it's getting worse as time passes and I'm constantly risking depression from a simple handshake...

I'm depressed but I won't commit suicide, I'm stronger than that...

Toddles!

Lead image from unsplash

13
$ 4.84
$ 4.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 9
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

I like being touch, in fact I like being touch !!!. But some don't and if you feel its can be a disaster to your health, I think communication go a long way, you can explain to your cousins or people around you, I'm sure they will understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hated it too. My best buddy in highschool labelled me autistic which explains. Well, even if he was my best buddy, I get mad at him when he initiates skin contact. Sensing and knowing this, he evaded unless I initiate the contact. I never really get to trust him so, to this point he is careful not too and most of the people who knows me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Some people simply do not understand the concept of boundaries; if he doesn't want to understand them maybe he isn't meant to be your friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! Dont misunderstand, oh! He respects my space... Its just that, he doesn't want us to be just friends. He's been loving me since highschool and he want us together, for a lifetime.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow... maybe you should give him a chance...😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh! He is gone. I toyed with his ego which he loves the most... I'm only 2nd to it. hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey brother. It’s ok. You just expressed your feelings. It's ok. Those feelings were bothering you, you spoke out. Now it's ok. Don't be upset or feel stressed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To avoid body contact, you gat to leave the planet. Lol🤣. But that's not possible. Even if your don't have tender/younger relatives that calls you "uncle" and jump on you, what about your friends outside? Normally, at some point we our body repels that but it hard to avoid in some situation. You've not had visitors and your parents direct some to pass the night in your room?🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once witnessed a nurse giving advice to the mother of a small baby at the hospital I went to for another reason. She advised him to massage the baby's front and back body with small touches. He said that this would help prevent some discomfort and tics that may occur against touching in his later life. I guess this feeling of being untouched is a discomfort from childhood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also don't enjoy body contact but it's been said that it's part of what establishes human relationships. If it continues I will advise you to seek professional help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember this with my classmate kristoff she under a serious depression. She wanted to be alone. She didn't want to go outside. She felt scared mostly then she didn't want someone touches her.

Just pray kristoff. Everything will be fine. Don't let yourself bring up due of depression. Fight it. Divert your mind into a happy one kristoff. Take care always.🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are, I think, awakening. You might be an empath, you feel emotions from other people when you touch them and you think they are your own. You got to know that they aren't and you have to shield yourself from other people's energies.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nothing related to emotions... I simply don't like being touched.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that is what you say :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago