Day 5 of 365- a little bit of disappointment

23 54
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

5th of January 2021

Lead Image

Some days are better than most; I have no idea what this sentence means but it’s the only thing that comes to my head each time I think about the events relating to our electricity supply from yesterday evening till this morning. The electricity supply for my apartment ran out without notice yesterday afternoon while I was busy with work on my laptop, coincidentally I had been using my laptop for hours without charging hence the sudden cut-off in power supply was disadvantageous for me. In order to recharge the electricity in our building we needed the special device with some buttons on it (I’ve got no idea what it’s called), unfortunately it is locked up inside the landlady’s apartment and she had gone to “god knows where” since yesterday morning which means I’d have to wait till whenever she gets back before the electricity could be recharged (what a weird lady!). I waited till late night yesterday but unfortunately, she didn’t come back, and this was a disaster for me because my laptop had been down since 5 pm and I had a lot of urgent work and emails waiting for me. The only saving grace I had for my smartphones is my power bank. I’ve got a 27000mAh power bank which I used to keep my two phones active as going off would be detrimental for me, but unfortunately my laptop cannot be charged with this. This is 12.38 pm at the time of writing and the landlady isn’t back yet, that’s exactly 21 hours since our power supply got cut off and no one has any idea where she went, perhaps geography was her favourite subject in high school, and she has decided to explore the globe by taking a walk here and there without a fixed direction (scalar quantity at its finest).

In a bid to bypass the lack of power supply, I had to make several calls; called a friend but his number was switched off for hours, called someone else but they didn’t have electricity in their region due to certain reasons, the last person on the list had already gone to work hence calling him wasn’t an option. U decided to try anyway but my guess was right, he was at work, but he mentioned he always dropped his key somewhere around which I could go get- it sounded like good news, but he wasn’t sure if the electricity would have been restored because at the time of his departure there was no power supply in his home. I didn’t want to risk it as it would be a waste of transport if got there and the power had not been restored yet, hence I decided to pass and simply took my mind off anything work related for today. It’s really annoying but I got no choice. In fact, I got a lot of trading signals which I intend to implement at the moment but zero electricity means zero trade entry and bla bla. Coincidentally, I stumbled upon a neighbour whom I’ve known for quite some time, I actually thought he must have gone to work or something but surprisingly he had been home for a longer than I expected, hence I didn’t bother to check. Long story short, I gave him my laptop for about one hour so it could have  little bit of power in order to set up my trades and write an actual article- I actually intended to write a very informative article, something history related based on research as I’ve been doing for some time but the setback caused by the lack of power supply made me lose interest totally hence I had tom simply put the entire ordeal into writing. I’m so angry at the time of writing that I have lost appetite, lost enthusiasm and lost the motivation to even do anything work related, I’m simply forcing myself to write this article because not writing this would defeat my “yes to writing everyday”, after all this is a new year and I do not see myself skipping any day except in special cases where I fall sick or something (I do not see myself getting sick anytime soon as I’m being more careful this time to avoid those mosquito bites, while also ensuring I get enough rest as deserved by my body).

I sincerely do not appreciate these kinds of setbacks hence I’m going to be watching out for the signs beforehand after which I’m going to avoid them by any means necessary so history wouldn’t repeat itself. Few minutes past 2 pm at the time of writing and the land lady isn’t back yet, at this point I feel like breaking into the land lady’s apartment to pick up the device for recharging the electricity so I could have access once more. You may find this confession weird but I don’t have the land lady’s number as I deleted it a long time ago out of necessity (do not ask me in the comment section), she’s a troublesome lady and deliberately does certain things, even if I called her I don’t think she’d be willing to leave wherever she is because of her tenant (she isn’t so useful, I guess I’d have to get her arrested pretty soon in a bid to teach her a lesson after all I have my rights). I guess I’d gave to do a lot of shouting as soon as she arrives so she can know that her actions are wrong, I do not care how she’s going to feel after all she didn’t care about my feelings when she left without doing the right thing. In fact, she recharged the electricity with an insufficient amount hence it got exhausted faster than it should have. I consider her a fraud that deserves to face the long arm of the law.

Pardon my rants. I’m angry!

Closing thoughts

In lieu of the above events and the slight setback experienced, I’ve only decided to be more vigilant by taking note of the signs of discontinuity around me and acting fast enough to curb them before they lead to an inevitable setback. In the end I realise there are various signs around us that tell us when things are about to go wrong, unfortunately we get so busy that we sometimes take note of this sign but ignore them out of negligence, we sometimes think the effects will be negligible. Always take note of your environment, it will save you from a lot of stress and unplanned setbacks, you’d be glad you did.

Today’s article is a rant, pardon me!

16
$ 3.85
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

set backs suck, but at least now you will be more vigilant and listen to the signs around you :) it's all about learning my dude

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will be. It's really annoying when these setbacks come through but I face it by thinking of the next logical solution. Right now what I want is to notice the signs before the setback comes so I can defeat it before it even manifests.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, while reading this, there's no electricity in our place. The good thing is although I only have few battery percentage my phone doesn't get lowbat easily and I'm not using laptop. That's okay you're just saying what you feel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My phones hardly go low because I use Samsung devices with very strong batteries, but my laptop can't last as much as those phones since it does more work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh so sorry to hear that friend abour your electricity supply. Its really disgusting once its gone. All be pending.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lack of electricity is like lack of life... I mostly feel like a very important part of me has been taken away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It hurts to see your garget out of power and there are no means to get them back up especially when you have a very important thing to do with it.

$ 0.00
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

That's the kind of country I find myself in... hashtag Nigeria. Once I have enough money, I'd leave this country and never come back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being attentive about surroundings, is a good wat to develop a strength.I can understand how difficult it would be without electricity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being attentive is the new strategy I want to develop, I take note of the signs of setback and defeat it before it has any chance to appear. It's not as easy as I maker it sound but I'd try my best to be more vigilant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like torture for me because all things work related had to be out on hold and I was beginning to lose my mind. It even affected my mood at some point but had to make myself cheerful once more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is something I really hate too. I have been enjoying electricity in my village and now, I am back to school where bringing light would become a hard task for them. I just hope I can cope seeing that I am now used to working online with my laptop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the thing, once you get used to working on your laptop it becomes difficult for you to switch back to using your smartphone. Working with my smartphone has always been a pain in the ass... haha..

I sometimes wish I had enough funds to install a solar panel and inverter in my apartment that way I'd always have electricity without having to worry about a black out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you will soon be able to put an end to your electrical problems. And you can write what you like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sincerely hope so. Until then I guess I'd have to find some place with power supply.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry but when you said your landlady's favorite subject might have been geography made me laugh. Maybe you can save some BCH for a generator my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The light is very stable and we don't need a generator here. The last subscription simply ran out and she locked up the recharge device in her apartment. She such a demon.

Of course her favorite subject must have been geography after all she's used to going to and fro and up and down like the devil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, some landowners can be annoying and they see it as being themselves as the landowners.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will be the same with me today that it was raining and the light went out and my mobile was not charged.You put it with your laptop to charge my mobile but I also had 60% of your battery. I charged my mobile 20% and turned off the laptop and I turned it on 20 %And let our lights come on at five o'clock in the evening

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lack of electricity really causes a lot of setback especially these days when all things work related is done on our smartphones hashtag the internet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really ...it's a problem of every country ...can I ask why u put an emoji in your profile

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. my profile picture? It's actually a picture of I and a friend. I simply used the emoji to cover up his face. Funny thing is that I don't have the original picture anymore except this emoji-fied version.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O I see I can edit your pic

$ 0.00
2 years ago