Day 15 of 365- a long and boring journey

28 51
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Struggles, Travel

15th of January 2022

Lead Image

10.48 am- I’m currently at the park (OJOTA park, Lagos) waiting for the vehicle to get filled, there’s a shortage of passengers today which means I’d be here longer than planned. I got here about a few minutes to 10 am and got lucky to meet a vehicle half full, unfortunately this luck went down the drain because the available seats were not the kind of places I’d like to sit as I’m a very selective person. Once a certain thing or situation wouldn’t be convenient of me, I’d run away from it as much as I can without considering what anyone says or thinks, after all you only live once, hence I must make myself as comfortable as possible. The drivers and conductors at the park initially thought I was joking until I took my bag away and told them I don’t mind waiting for the next vehicle as I’m not in a hurry, my comfort matters more to me than anything else.

Speaking of comfort, I stay at Ikorodu for those that are familiar with Lagos, hence going from Ikorodu to Ojota is a really stressful journey especially since the only available buses are the long ones which we refer to as Molue or something (Lagosian in the house, I hope I got the spelling right). It’s gonna be a stressful experience since my travelling bag is heavy. I’m not as strong as most people my age, in fact I get sick as soon as I go through an insignificant amount of stress hence I do everything within my power to avoid stress regardless of the cost. I wanted to be as comfortable as possible hence I had to order Uber from Ikorodu garage to Ojota park. Surprisingly, for the first 10 to 15 minutes, the Uber app kept saying there are no vehicles available at my location, but I had to relax and kept trying since the stress wasn’t an option. Minutes later, a vehicle was available and off we went. As expected, it was more expensive than the usual passenger Bus, but the difference is the comfort which is my number one goal. The usual vehicles should be about 700 Naira or so ($1.25 or so), but the Uber price on getting to my destination was 2500 Naira (about $4.46). A necessary expense for my comfort seeking nature.

I should have left home early in a bid to meet up with the first bus which is long gone already but I couldn’t leave home as early as expected because a body at rest needs to remain at rest, hence I got up from bed about a few minutes to 7 am, instead of the initially planned 6am awakening time. I’ve actually been awake since before 6 am but was lazy to leave my ground state. The night was a rough one, I didn’t sleep until a few minutes to 1 am, with plans to get up as early as 6, but it turned out that I woke up multiple times at night while checking the time in each case to confirm if I had actually woken up at the right time. Surprisingly, I checked the time the first time and it was only a few minutes past 2am, woke up next and it was 4am. My sleep was so messed up that when I eventually woke at the right time, I decided to stay on bed much longer in a bid to compensate for the lack of sleep from waking up multiple times at midnight.

Fast forward to the present- I’m in an 18-seater Bus, but since it’s a long journey it’s only gonna be accommodating 14 passengers; three (3) passengers in each row (should it be column?), and passengers at the front seat (the front seat is designed for two passengers). Surprisingly, I was the first passenger to get into this vehicle hence I was able to select the most comfortable spot which would provide me with enough space to use my laptop during the journey in case I got bored or something. At the time of writing, there are only four passengers in the vehicle hence we’re waiting for ten more for the journey to commence. At this point I can conclude that this is gonna be a very long and boring ride- the annoying thing is I FORGOT MY SAMSUNG EARPIECE, no words can explain how I feel right now, Samsung users will understand the special feeling you get from a Samsung earpiece, iPhone users will never understand, they fail to realise that iPhone lost it’s purpose since the death of Steve Jobs, all they do now is fancy camera arrangements, something I refer to as a cash grab strategy (I do not intend to start a Samsung vs iPhone battle). Let’s get back to point- forgetting my earpiece means I wouldn’t get to listen to my UK rap songs as usual, at the same time wouldn’t be able to watch movies on my laptop during the journey because I wouldn’t like to raise my laptop volume to a point that would be uncomfortable for those beside me (I can be selfish but also considerate, in fact I’m the nicest person you’d ever meet).

Closing thought

I didn’t expect I was gonna be able to write an article this morning, the plan was to wait till I got to my destination, unfortunately the vehicle isn’t full yet, we’re lacking passengers, hence I seized the opportunity to write. I have a very weird feeling that this is gonna be a very long and boring ride, my earpiece is left behind, my stomach worms are beginning to bite in something called hunger, altogether I’m beginning to wish I had the ability to teleport to my destination just by thinking. I guess I’d have to locate the nearest restaurant at this point in a bid to make myself comfortable. Toddles!

11
$ 4.67
$ 4.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.03 from @Eylz2021
+ 10
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Struggles, Travel

Comments

Don't worry it cost 10$ here already for that long ride 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, that's a lot of money!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about that brother, I live in Lagos and I know how stressful, tedious, tiring and boring long journeys might be. Hope you arrived to your destination safely?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was really tiring and devoid of fun. I got tired of sitting at some point but had no choice. Finally got here few minutes past 10 pm. I just woke up but I'm still tired- no church today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about that. The Lord's your strength

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen! Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, I would rather chose comfort for a long ride eventhough it is more expensive. If not , i might end up puking the whole ride😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Puking? lol. If I don't stay in the most comfortable place, I'd regret my decision throughout the journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I had low tolerance in long land travels. I had a tendency to throw up the whole journey. Most of the time, if I gonna travel I made sure the scent of the bus was okay and I can sit comfortably😂.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope it goes well

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Journey was so stressful that two days later I still feel pain all over me!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right......just take care of yourself and rest, you'll be okay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ajahh my brother! Same to you, I also want to have a comfortable seat when I am travelling. Hehe.. Well, it maybe tiring or boringbut I hope you have still enjoyed it. I mean, the experience:))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was a very tiring experience, I got home late night. 10 pm precisely. I'm never doing these long journeys anymore, I'd take a flight the next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like me also when it comes to travelling. Im very picky to get a comfortable seat. Your not really ready for your journey coz you forgot your Samsung earpiece😉.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Forgetting the earpiece was really annoying but I just couldn't go back to get it. The journey was altogether tiring, two days later and I'm still in pain. I got body pain all over.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol....I am amazed to hear that you left the vehicle to get the comfortable seat. But thats good your comfort means more than anything else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Of course, my comfort is number one. the vehicle just moved and I'm getting ready to lose my mind in this four hour + journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were you, I would also choose the one that gives me comfort more than anything else 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Our comfort should be number one since we only live once. I agree with you. Looks like we have something in common.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what's important is your comfortable and safe :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, those are the only things that matter to me. How are you today?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i'm tired but I'm good :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest is everyone's need. Have a good rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Need to take a break, nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What break are you talking about?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you are safe although you left some of your stuff hehe. Take a rest, my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I forgot my almighty Samsung Earpiece... So sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago