They came for the food

17 39
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Hello People!

It's Thursday afternoon here(the time of writing) and the sun is doing what it knows how to do best. I felt the hotness of the sun when I went outside to wait for a bus bringing us a product and I couldn't just bear it, I felt like my skin was burning. To a certain point I checked my skin to see if it has turned black already. Lol. You won't blame me, I've been staying indoors with my fair complexion 🤦.

Thank you 💌
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty

Before today, we received a letter from a health body that they'd be coming to inspect our company as regards to hygiene and standard of practice. They issued some processes the company must meet before they come which include making all the chefs and the kitchen assistant to go get their original blood and genotype certificates. Thank God they did include taking the covid-19 vaccine, my people here would stop work or forge a fake report on that, trust me, none of them would be willing to take the vaccine.

Image source

Since the day they dropped the later, our manager has been coughing out series of works from every corner, engaging us in every angle not minding if this is a kitchen work or not. He'd call anybody to put this and that in order, getting ready for the day of inspection. He pleaded to all of the cooks to go for their certificates which he sponsored them with transport fare too. They submitted the certificates to my custody and I neatly filled them waiting for the D-day.

Not that the manager was afraid of them, he's just trying to make everything cool to avoid unnecessary wasting of time when they come. He called all the staffs yesterday for a brief talking and told everyone of us to behave well in terms of being on their required wears(handgloves and hair covers-cap). I wasn't having any problem with the instructions he gave because I'm just free being as all that concerns me is money.

Today being the D-day, we resumed work and as usual, boss instructed some of us to run a final check & clean up and put things in order. To be sincere, I've not seen the kitchen as neat as it was today for a very long time. Everywhere was sparkling as if diamond was used in painting the wall and covering the floor.

They supposed to come by 12noon(as their letter stated) but they came by 10:00am and our boss was not around. They entered and walked straight to my direction thinking I'm the boss, yeah, they looked well because I don't often put on company's shirt and I dress like a boss often🤭. We exchanged pleasantries and they asked if I'm the boss and I told them that the boss is not around that they should sit while I put a call through to the manager. I called the manager and he told me to inform them to sit and wait for him because they came before the time they fixed. They agreed and felt relaxed on the big sofa, under the exact spot of AC.

I looked very well and I observed that one of them used come on to check the standard of the company(I'm sure that's on a personal level) and the manager usually dodge her because free food was all she come for. Seeing the woman among them, I knew that once we gave them a bottle of soft drink, they'd forget what they came for.🤪. I know what I'm saying.

Few minutes, my boss called and told me to arrange a little refreshment for them while they wait for him. I did as was instructed and gave them the refreshment and they thanked me so much for treating them good. Yeah, I took the glory. Lol🤪.

Manager came and within five minutes they were done with the investigation. Manager walked down to my desk to collect $4 to give to them as transport fare. And I asked him why were they going so soon or did they forget their documents at the office, he laughed and said they are done with the inspection. Haaaa!

Me: But they didn't checked anything nor moved away from their table, not to talk of entering the kitchen.

Manager: The refreshment you gave them made them to cancel all the checks they were supposed to do.

This is Funny! They left like that without doing what brought them to the place. What would they write in their reports?

That's how the system of my society is, just a little gratification and you are good to go. The system is more concerned of the stomach and not considering the due service to be rendered. This is almost in every sector of the society.

I remember the days of school when some staffs that where incharge of authenticating some payment receipt and preparing final results on certificates would collect Money to sell out a good grade just because they're in power to write it. You've not seen? Yeah, my friends then bought good grades on the spot of issuance of certificates.

Should we talk about the police? This is a full article on it's own, I better not open that chapter now.

Thanks for reading

3rd March 2022

10
$ 1.99
$ 1.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Kiingsley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiingsley
2 years ago

Comments

Haha I lol'd at this 🤣 your stories are a refreshment to mind

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣 thank you dear friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very funny! It's similar to what happened in my college those days. As they came, the proprietor feed them with delicious food, and they forgot the reason why they came.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha🤣, it's everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!!!!!🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂... You always have the funniest stories, you never fail to impress me with your right up, I love how they thought you're the boss.. Keep the good work boss

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you my brother 🤸🤸

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn! I'm disappointed at their behaviour, but it's funny 😂 To be honest, I'm not even surprised they didn't even check again, that's this country for you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And what we gave them as refreshment was very small ooo🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 Imagine that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's all about the money and refreshments. Just like when I was in secondary school, whenever inspectors came the principal would sinoly entertain them and give then t-fare and the rest is history.. haha... messed up country!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seems they all of the sector passed through same orientation on this features 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. Reminds me of the external invigilators that comes to our school during waec once or twice. As soon as they had arrived, our principal would give us us money and instructt the female students in senior classes to cook a very special meal for them alongside assorted drinks... As soon as they had finished eating, they would start to take their leave. Some if them wouldn't even bother about collecting money from the principal again 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahah, this a typical example of " the way to men' s heart is through their stomach". The food won their heart and made them to forget the business of the day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅 I remember one time that some tax force came to our office and said that my boss is owing them 90k, but if he doesn't have the 90k, he should pay 2k for negotiations fee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is hilarious 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Just 2k. Madd ooo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago