I Failed, I Passed!

3 46
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago

August 24, 2021

I was scrolling down the feed on my Facebook timeline when I saw a post regarding the announcement of passers on the universities that I've applied for which are the Bulacan State University (BSU) main campus and Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP) in Sta. Mesa Manila. It states that the release of passers will be on August 25, 2021.

We are waiting for the results for a long time that's why we are so eager to know if we passed or not. On the evening of the same day, I decided to sleep early to avoid overthinking, anxiety attacks, and panic.

August 25, 2021—6:15 in the morning

The very first thing that I do once I open my eyes is to grab my phone at the side window and start it up to see if the result has been released. Nervousness and excitement, that's what I'm feeling at the moment when I saw that BSU already posted the passers on the school year 2021-2022. My heartbeat began to quickened and my hands start to shake but I click the link anyways with closed eyes.

As I open my eyes I started to browse my name on the list of passers on the course of 'BS Computer Engineering' which is my first choice, but my nervousness doubled when I didn't find my name. I checked it multiple times hoping that I just didn't notice it at first but to no avail. I even checked my name on my second priority course which is 'BS Information Technology' but then again my hope was crushed, my name wasn't on the list of passers.

I felt like crying at that moment but my tears won't fall. That announcement awakened my senses and it felt like there's a huge boulder on my chest. 'A good way to start my morning', that's what I thought to myself. I tried to wipe off the feeling by making myself busy on my phone but I can't. I can't make myself focus because that announcement still lingers on my head. With that, I sat on my bed and started to question myself...

"Is my grades not enough to be qualified?"

This is the first thing that popped up in my mind because almost all of the universities based the passers through their academic records due to this pandemic. I know to myself during junior and senior high school years that I did my best to get high grades for the preparation for the upcoming college applications. Not to brag but I did graduate With honors in my Junior high school and With High Honors in my Senior high school. That's why this is the first question that I've asked myself. I thought that my grades are enough to pass but I'm wrong.

"What would be my parent's reactions when they realize that I didn't pass BSU?"

My parents are good people and I know that they will comfort me despite the result but I became disappointed in myself because I became too confident that I can pass BSU but it turns out I didn't.

It's been a while when I realized that some of my friends didn't also pass the university even if they had a higher General Weighted Average (GWA) than mine. I thought that it's normal until I saw different posts on Facebook about BSU that cause 'ISSUES'.

The issue is all about those students who found their names on the list of passers even if they didn't take an examination and pass the required documents on the campus. Take note, the examination is 10% on the criteria while the required documents are 70%. Even those students are confused because they thought that they can't pass yet they found their names on the list. We just find it unfair for us because first of all, we followed all the instructions. We applied once, we take an examination, we passed the required documents personally and we have high grades but how come that we are not eligible to enter the university? We are just wondering because my friend passed UP Los Baños but didn't qualify in BSU. That does mean that BSU has higher standards compared to UPLB?

This issue receives different opinions and feedback from students. Some said that BSU just rolled a roulette to select students and some said that it's because of backers inside the University. It's hard to make an assumption and point a finger at someone but we are waiting for the official announcement of BSU about this matter.

Image Source: Facebook, Rise for Education —BulSu

They also announced that only 7,000 students are going to enter the university this school year out of 35,000 overall applicants. This adds more fire to the existing issue that's why there are a lot of students who are disappointed about the news.

We are just wishing that BSU will review the passers properly, add more slots for the students, or they will conduct a reconsideration on different courses for the deserving students.

It is hard to believe and it is hard to accept but what can we do? We must accept our defeat but that doesn't mean that we are going to stop. It is just a challenge, a problem that is needed to fix. I still have another university that I've applied for so there's still hope.

August 25, 2021—3:00 in the afternoon

This is my schedule to know if I pass Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP). I am nervous and anxious at the same time but I know that it's a normal feeling. I already decided that if I didn't pass any university this year, I will stop for a while and find work then try to apply again next year. Finishing studies is not a race, some may finish it first but that doesn't mean that you can't. We just need to find our perfect time, don't rush, and enjoy life.

I logged in to my account and view the result of my application. Here is the result...

I passed my first choice on PUP which is BS in Computer Science! The sadness, the nervousness, and the disappointment in myself slowly vanished like magic. I jumped off on my seat to celebrate my achievement and said the good news to my parents. I am lucky to be admitted to my first choice at this university that's why I'm really happy! I selected 5 choices on PUP and this are:

  • BSCS-Computer Science

  • BSIT-Information Technology

  • BSCOE-Computer Engineering

  • BSBIO-Biology

  • BSID-Interior Designing

Some of you might ask, why I chose BS Computer Science instead of BS Computer Engineering in PUP? Well at the time of application, I'm not yet decided on which course should I choose but after some deep talking to myself, this is what I decided to pursue.

I thought yesterday that maybe God didn't let me pass in BSU because he doesn't want me to pursue a BS in Computer Engineering. He redirected my way to the right path wherein I can grow and be happier in the future. I'm thankful for that. I believed that everything happens for a reason because He will not give me this kind of opportunity if it isn't for me.

I confirmed my slot yesterday and I can now sleep in peace knowing that I have a school to attend. I just need to pass the required documents on the campus via courier or I can pass it personally. God has a better plan for us, trust the process and believe in yourself.

I am Khairro, your future Isko! I proudly want to say that I failed, I passed! PADAYON!!


Authors Note:

Article No. 26 (August 27, 2021)

Glad to be back here everyone! I miss you a lot! This past few days has been a very stressful days for me that's why I became inactive on this platform. I just hope that you are all doing good and you're in a healthy condition as well as your love ones. Stay safe and God bless to everyone! Thank you for reading this article of mine today, if you like it feel free to click the like button and then go S-U-B-S-C-R-I-B-E!!

Lead Image Source: Worked at Canva

Accounts

  • noise.cash: Khairro

  • read.cash: Khairro

  • PublishOx: Khairro (inactive)

  • Telegram: Khairro_alstr

  • Telegram Group: Noiseristificationism

Previous Articles

3
$ 2.29
$ 2.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Just1dood
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
+ 2
Sponsors of Khairro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago

Comments

I thought yesterday that maybe God didn't let me pass in BSU because he doesn't want me to pursue a BS in Computer Engineering. He redirected my way to the right path wherein I can grow and be happier in the future.

God is in charge all the time. We just need to submit.

As I read your account of applying and finally being accepted into PUP, I can feel the excitement. Congratulations on getting your first choice and I wish you much success in your field of study. CS should be a very fun degree to pursue. Your future is bright. You just need to seize it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uyy congrats future Isko. Totoo talaga na di ka pabayaan ni God instead His making a better path to us. Good luck sa journey and hope you enjoy your college journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck on your new journey. Keep it up, at alam ko naman na magiging passer rin ako soon. Not sure! Anyway, sana maabutan pa kita makagraduate sa tinahak mong course. Sana all muna kami hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago