Where Are Their Souls? : Be Careful To What You Wish For

21 44
Avatar for Kelzy
Written by
2 years ago

The weather all day here in my country is gloomy even though it's already summer and my lazy soul enjoying the mood of procrastination when suddenly I realized that I shouldn't be rejoicing because some people are having a hard time right now. The gloomy weather here is caused by the typhoon Agaton where other places are affected. Houses were destroyed and some of their loved ones are missing because of the floods and landslides. I paused for a minute and pray for them. I prayed they can survive and surpass this challenge of life. That they shouldn't forget to call God.

I can't help but remember when I experience the super typhoon named Haiyan/Yolanda that destroy and killed lots of lives in Tacloban Leyte. Imagine their screams and cries asking for help to be saved but because of riskiness, they weren't able to rescue.

I lived in Southern Leyte before with my Uncle, my mom's brother, wherein the typhoon also hit our place. I was alone in the house at that time because Uncle wasn't there. He was destined far away because he is a soldier. His live-in partner is also not there so I manage everything alone.

Lead Image from Unsplash and edited in Canva

It was November 7, 2013, when our school declared that we don't have class because there is upcoming super typhoon by tomorrow. I, who is lazy to go to school was happy that there is no class and didn't think about what could possibly will happen. I am so immature that time and wished it will last to weeks so I can have a break in academics. Then the next day comes.

November 8, 2013. The sun is up and striking. Everything is fine and normal. I, meanwhile...

Image Source from Unsplash

"Eh? Ito na yung super typhoon? Super init." Hahaha! (Is this the super typhoon? Super hot!) Hahaha!

I laughed about it and said "Mukhang babawiin nila suspension ngayon a" (I guess they will take back the class suspension now)

Later in noon, I saw light rain starting to drizzle. I still think the news about the typhoon was a joke because the sun was there and I don't think it will going to pour. When suddenly the striking sun slowly turn to dark clouds and the raindrops started to get heavy. The wind blows strangely and I heard it scary sounds.

"Ahhhhhhh!" I screamed when suddenly the light died.

"Kelzy! Get out there! Come here at house!" My neighbor called. They are worried about me cause they know I stay alone in my Uncle's house.

After I got to their house the palm tree in our backyard fall down to the roof where my bedroom is located. I startled and cried. If they weren't called me I already die. My neighbors daughter watched the news on her mobile and we saw that in some places in Leyte the typhoon is getting stronger particularly in the Tacloban because the eye of the typhoon is there.

The weeks that I wished for class suspension in Southern Leyte turned to 4 months before we get back to normal while to the people of Tacloban until now they can't still move on from the nightmare they experience. They lost their love ones and they didn't get a chance to say goodbye and see their faces for one last time.

Since then whenever I feel comfortable in some thing or some situation I think first before saying it up. I regret and feel sorry about the wish I said before. It maybe a coincidence but I still feel guilty. I don't want to spill such selfishness words again.

After reading this, I hope you paused for a minute and give some prayers to our brothers and sisters who were battling in the midst now.


For one-time claim only. Click here 🎁


Let's connect to my other socials (✿^‿^)

Noise CashHiveSteemitBlurtTwitterTelegram

17
$ 5.06
$ 4.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Kelzy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kelzy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It is really a tough time for us, Leyteños. A week after Haiyan struck Tacloban, we went to school with fear still present in us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkkaawa noh sis ang makita natin ang mga kababayan na gusto nating sagipin pero hindi ntin mgawa dahil sa sobrang lakas.ng bagyo. Kya ingt lgi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

alam mo, ganyan din kami noon, nagtatawa pa yun iba kasi nga signal number 2 na eh mainit p. kaya madami di nagevacuate noon eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat talaga di inuunderestimate pag ganyan e kasi di mo naman masabi kung lalakas pa ba o hihina 😨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

natutro na mga tao ngayon kaya kapag may bagyo eh talagang naghahanda na sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true, be careful on what we wish for, kasi kahit naman hindi yun from the heart sometimes yun pa ang natutupad..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di na ako padalos dalos. Kung minsan masabi ko man binabawi ko agad 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so scary what nature can do and how unpredictable it is. I am very sorry for such disasters that take human lives. Terrible experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Supeeeeer! 😨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gosh, what if di ka tinawag mg neighbor mo. Bigla ako nangilabot dzaiii 😱😱. Pero naranasan na din namin yan ano na sobrang init pero may signal ang bagyo samin. Ang line namin ganyan na ganyan din sa sinabi mo. Nong kinagabihan mandin dun na dumali. Buti lang at di bumaha na abot hanggang samin. Diko na tanda when nangyari yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan nga din yung sabi ng mga nakita ko sa FB noon, noong umaga daw eh sobrang init ng panahon na di nila inaasahan na matindi ung bagyo dadating ng mga bandang hapon. Grabe din dami video lumabas na madami nga namatay jan. Pero buti tlaga that time safe ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung Yolanda sis noh? Nasa dubai ko ato na time... Hayz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko parn to. Sobra iba yung dating ng init...yung parang may something bad na paparating. At yun na nga. The next day. The super typhoon came.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang init talaga nung yolanda sis e, ung mga matatandang kasama ko kinabahan na. Alam na nila basta ganon, sinabihan kami na wag daw magsaya kasi daw panakot kapag gabon, jusko pagtama ng yolanda sumisipol hangin tapos parang magkakahurricane sa kakaikot ng mga puno na parang may humihigop pataas, dun namin naexperience maputulan ng dalawang tulay tas mawalan ng kuryebte na halos magiisang taon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

San ka sa southern leyte nun sis? Ganyan din ang reaction ng sis ko nung yolanda. Sabi walang ka challenge challenge tapos yun na. Grabe ang pinsala.

Ngayun marami na din patay almost 60 na ang counting kagabi natabunan ng landslide

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang init init kasi e nakapaglaba pa nga yung kapitbahay ko tas nung tanghali umiba ihip ng hangin 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard from my friend in Leyte that two of her nieces were dead. They are mourning today. Until now, there are some recovered body from Leyte. Nakakaawa takaga ate. Jusko ang babata pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala omg! 🥺 Yung tipong gusto mo sila sagipin kaso wala na talagang way 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really sorry that you guys get to experience these typhoons. I just wish it would go away for ever..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, glad you did't stay back in the house when your neighbours called you. Must have been traumatizing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Supeeeer! 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago