The mummified body

14 37
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hi People!πŸ–οΈ

I read a lot of post recently about Rusty's appearance and disappearance. I didn't noticed his recent moves because I'm barely visited. But it's all good that he's back.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors ✌️πŸ₯°

Let's enjoy this experience of mineπŸ‘‡

It's a story about a community's Tradition I met some years back that's weird to me. I know we have more weirder traditions in the world but this one got me because I never expected it in this morden age.

It was 2019 when I was posted to the southern part of Nigeria for NYSC(a service for graduates to Nigerian Government). When i received the call up letter, I quickly Googled about the community and I got weakened when I saw that it's a very interior village. I'm not the type that go about sorting to move to a favourable location, so I decided to go because I was sure I was ordained to serve there.

I got there
I got there and of a truth, it's really an interior village, I could count the number of beautiful houses there but I didn't bothered because fellow corpers(previous NYSC members) have survived there, so if they did, I can do it too.
I was lucky enough to get a house in a family compound where the Landlord and his family lives there, I was feeling at home because of how I was welcomed. I got acquainted with them to the extent that I get free raw food on a regular basisπŸ˜‹.

It came to pass
It was my two months there when a tragic hit the family, a news came that one of his sons Schooling in the town(but same state) was dead. It was said that he died of stomach pain(he's been suffering from ulcer). The news broke down the family and I felt it too because I was part of the family.
They moved the corpse of the young boy home to bury and I was assuming because he's a young boy he'd be buried instantly the way it's done in my region but hell no, the case was different.
I was told that the community is Keen to obeying the tradition of the land and any family that defaults would have the gods to battle with.

I asked about the tradition
One of the daughters of the landlord that I'm close with poured out all the terms she knows about their tradition to me.
Things like;

  • how they bury a pregnant woman that died which they have to locally operate the woman before laying her to rest.

  • How they bury a man that died a virgin. She said if a guy dies a virgin, he's not easily buried like that, they have to perform some rituals so as to allow the guy's spirit go to heaven because he merits it for dying a virgin (like, s3xual stuffs is a sin for unmarried ones).

I asked her how will they know if the person is a virgin and she told me they only check if the man (boy) was not married before his death and also, they have a spiritual tool they use to check the body.

She continued telling me about the process of burying a dead virgin, she said they will have to locally balm him for 7days with harsh local chemicals which they'll be going into the room that he's kept, daily to perform some Rituals for 7days before finally laying him to rest.
I was shocked to hear all the barbaric acts, and couldn't believe myself that things like that still exists in this morden world.

The first first day
This was the day that the boy's corpse was brought from school, the corpse was taken inside, some people came which I believe were native doctors, they entered and did their work for an hour. They left and the room was locked. The whole scenario never seized to amazed me.

The fourth day
It was the fourth day when they announced that anybody could enter the room to offer a word of prayer for the corpse so he'd be accepted fully in heaven.
I was supposed to be scared, right? No! That was not my first time seeing a corpse but my challenge was the smell because I detest smell. I was told that he's not smelling because he's been well balmed. I noticed that too, because for the four days living in the compound(amidst the death saga) I didn't had issues with any foul smell.

I entered inside with the mindset to see the lifeless body lying on the bed with cotton wool on his nostrils, mouth & ears but I met a shrunk body, just like the photo below;

The photo I have here is scary
I can't shareπŸ™‡

I was more shocked but I bravely stayed a minute and offered my prayer for the dead body. When I came out, I quickly went to the daughter to explain to me why the body was like that and she said it's the chemicals they used on him that hardened the body like that.

Long story cut short
Seven days reached, the last Ritual was performed and he was buried at the back of the window of my room(my block is different from the main building). On a normal condition, I was supposed to be scared of sleeping in my room knowing that I have a grave close to my window but my body system doesn't work that way. I wasn't scared at all...so far I'm not the one that killed him. Lol🀣

________________________

Fictional story you've got there πŸ’†πŸ’†

This is originally published here a month ago

________________________
Thanks for reading

23rd August 2022

14
$ 1.23
$ 1.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
+ 5
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You know it looks like a tragic story which happens to you and if I would be there I probably gets scare and I don't know how you are taking this situation but maybe I would have left my home for ever

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, it was the colonization of Nigeria by the British that toned down a lot of these things if we are being honest. It would have been way worse

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it happens with me means if they buried besides my room then i could be so scared 😱

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have different kind of traditions that reakindslly make us wonder, and everyone should respect that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nawa oo! Such barbaric act indeed. Seriously, I would be scared seeing that they buried a corpse at my window but do I have a choice? πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

But, what kind of practice is that. The way they bury a pregnant woman is different from a virgin man πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol. Ladies are known to be scared of the dead anytime anyday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kacy the tough guy. Well, you mentioned that the tradition was barbaric but I didn't see any barbarism about it, there are a lot of weird cultures out there about the treatment of the dead.

I know your story is fictional.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tor, that's because you've seen a lot Sha. It looks odd to me, with all the cuttings/piercing and trading of some parts...I didn't mentioned 🀦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also didn't know about rusty's disappearance, but just now I saw his visit in my last article. I hope you keep coming to our articles.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's wonderful to have seen him back to your account, well, it's same thing here and I'm smiling

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not surprised if such an act still exists, what are we not going to see in Nigeria. It's funny how retarded some people are about this tradition of a thing, God knows I won't even care to partake in any of the practice at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol. NIGERIA has weird traditions ehn, I've seen some and they makes me wonder if actually people doing them are humans

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People with different tradition. It's baffles me sometimes where they get all these type of practice from.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aswear, like who instructed them to be doing all these. It's really weird

$ 0.00
1 year ago