Prompt/Contest: Forbidden Foods

22 27
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Special greetings to you all!

I'm sure you're doing good?

It's been fine week for me here, it's just that I need money...I mean excess money🏋️.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors✌️

________________________

After writing this, I realized that it will serve as a good prompt for us and will also help us learn about various traditions around the world. Let's make it a prompt✌️.

Write an article about the foods(animals & plants) that are forbidden in your region

  • Let it be original

  • Add photos

  • It should be at least 600words

  • Use the tag #Forbiddenfoods

  • And tag/mention me @Kacy01

  • Submit to any community

Shouldn't this be a contest? Let's see how it goes🏋️🏋️

________________________

Designed via canva

Yesterday I wrote about a a particular community that forbids mushroom and that's because of the gods of the land.

I want to share with you the things that are forbidden in my home town.

  • ✨Fish from river✨

We have rivers surrounding us, infact the extension of my community harbours the source of RIVER ETHIOPE. We were told that the water is spirited and as such, people worship the river. People from different places come to the rivers to pay homage to the goddess of the river and sacrifice some food items.

We were told that the fishes from the rivers are not to be eaten because they're are children of the river goddess🤣.

From what I noticed, the law is only applicable to the indigenes and has no effect on non indigenes because I've seen where these people(non indigenes) set traps and catch plenty of fishes.

Image source

These rivers have a lot of fishes, we see them come out from their hidding places to play when the river is calm, and each time I see them, my 'long throat' becomes longer and want to catch some but no way🤭.

One day I had to ask my father to tell me the reason why non indigenes are enjoying fishes from the rivers while indigenes are not allowed to eat it and my father couldn't give a reasonable reason.

So I made up my mind to enjoy those fishes too because I don't see any reason why non indigenes are enjoying that alone. I and my immediate younger brother went to buy fish hook and went for fishing. That was the day that I knew that fishes are stubborn to catch, we didn't catch a single fish, maybe it's because we are not professionals.

Asking what we would have done with the fish had it been that we caught one? It's food of course! I don't believe in all those Superstitious.

  • ✨Coco Yam✨

Till today, eating Coco Yam is still seen as a taboo in my community. I don't actually know the reason behind this.

Image source

I don't eat coco Yam because I don't like yam itself (and that's because we produce yam in our farms), if it were something I like, I would have be enjoying myself because we have it in surplus in my place.

  • ✨Tortoise✨

I still don't know the main reason or story why it's not eaten in my place. If we see or catches it, we sell it off to people that eat. We have some Westerners in my town that talk how sweet tortoise meat is.

Image Source

During my school days, I and my friend once caught a tortoise in our fish trap, we threw it back to the river. When we got home, I told my course mate about the tortoise we caught and he screamed at me and blamed me for throwing such delicious meat away why he eats. Hahah🤣

I haven't eaten tortoise because it looks scary and not because I'm forbidden to eat it.

________________________

We have many things that we eat in my community, I mean a lot of anyhow things.

Disclaimer: The content below might be disgusting and annoying to you. Feel free to skip

I haven't tasted snake once but some people in my community eat it. According to them, snake is very delicious. During NYSC, I met Yoruba friends that eat snake and ....😂😂😂. I didn't joined them. I found it weird and not because I forbids, no!

Some part of my region don't eat snail, but I eat it. It's very delicious.

In my community, we have a large percentage of people that don't eat dog and I'm one of them. It's not like I forbids, no. I finds it more domesticated and so it's somehow for me to eat.

We eat bush rabbit and other many bush meats like grass cutter, antelope etc in my community. I know of some people that don't eat these too.

I made a google search about this subject and I was directed to nairaland. Mehn, I laughed a lot at the things I saw. This life is not balanced 🤣. One man's food is another man's poison.

Thanks for reading💝💝💝

12th October 2022

12
$ 1.05
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Bilqees
+ 6
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hehe😅😅😅. If I live in your town, I'd have eaten fish from the river😅. I love to eat fish. Also, you said another man's food is another man's poison. Snake is not somehow ooh. I've been eating snakes since I was small. I've eaten alligators too. Eating tortoises seem to be very weird. I can't eat it. I have friends who eat monkeys too but I will never taste them 😅. I don't like to eat dogs too. I'm not a fan of that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not sure if there are forbidden food here. Probably endangered animals or animals in general because some organizations like PETA are against it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing that I know is forbidden in my village is snakes, especially python, we are not even allowed to kill them because they say the pythons are symbols of gods of the land. I remember when I saw snake in the house one day and I raised alarm but my uncle came and simply use stick to push the snake outside 🙁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're from Imo, I once stayed there and they gave us this orientation of not killing snakes, I think it was a particular one because I killed two tiny snakes during my stay there 👼

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm actually from Anambra, but Imo also have similar beliefs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fresh fish is best and that's best when you catch on your own

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I know how fresh fish is especially when you catches on your own. My current city, there's no restriction to fish of this nature and it's very sweet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every person has his own beliefs we should not cross the line and we should be respectful towards their religion and their beliefs it is upto them what they want to adopt

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure, every region has their own beliefs and it's they belief is what works for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have heard that tortoise meat can be eaten but I haven't heard that it's forbidden in our country so yeah maybe the reason behind why it becomes forbidden is our different types of belief's.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

These things work individually based on the region. What other Forbid are what others are enjoying.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fish. I love fish my friend. It's really enjoyable when you catching some fish the you get one. Super enjoy and it's fresh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why I and my brother decided to go and catch some in the river despite the law of the land but we were unfortunate that we didn't catch any. We wanted to enjoy ourselves with fresh fish

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend fresh fish is the best always. 🥰 I want to experience also catching fish in the river.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi! I'm thinking if we have forbidden foods as those here... just a lot of regulations, and about allergens or chemicals, etc... but I will think about it. Good to know about the coco, and of course tortoise!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes some say they forbids eating some food because of allergies and not because their gods are against it. It's funny.

Thank you for stopping by☘️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cocoyam is my favorite and it is eaten by everyone in my community. Dog meat is a no no for me. I can't finish playing with my pet and still feel comfortable eating it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've heard a lot about the sweetness of cocoyam but I'm yet to try it out...and that's because I don't fancy yam🤣. Eating dog is someone...that animal is too domesticated

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First two is one of my favourite food but after that is not legal to eat according to our religion.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wonderful! They don't eat fish from river and cocoyam in my side but they eat it in my country... That's how these things work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cocoyam is quite rare though. I have only eaten it once in my life... With palm oil 😋

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I've heard about its sweetness and it's common in my side(was common). Maybe I'm gonna try it out one day...🏋️

$ 0.00
1 year ago