I was ready to shoot the tailor

20 38
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nigeria tailors

Hey People!

I wrapped off Saturday with a bugging mind, a mind looking for solution to a tough challenge. I'm the type that advices people not to think too much on a case because what will be will be, but I found myself on this zone, thinking and reasoning on how to draw nearer the next two days,,,I can't just wait to let it come and and go.

What happened or what's happening to me?

A very good friend of mine is getting married this coming Monday (Easter Monday) and of course I must be there. I was informed last month on the upcoming wedding party and as a means to spice up the day, he drafted me among the GROOM'S MEN for that day. You know the requirements, one must dress out with suit.

Image source

Meanwhile, I gave out my last suit to my younger because I saw that I added a little weight (it was too fitted for me)and I stopped using it, ever since then I've not been using suit and the interest was not there anymore even though my church dressing code required most of the time. I've been improvising and all these was because I wasn't ready for any massive spending because I have a target to meet with money.

After considering that I don't have a suit dress, I felt like opting out from the being among the groom's men but I saw it to be a slap to friendship, so I considered to get one before then since he told me earlier (I was told a month interval to the wedding date).

I decided to get a tailor to sew the size that will fit me and not buying from the shop because I'll slim fit afterwards, and you know, slim fitting suit dress doesn't go well sometimes. I had the money to go for it at that moment but I decided to wait a little bit, waiting for the increase of BCH so I could generate and spend from there instead of spending from my main purse. Yeah, I waited and waited till this time.

That same week also, my friend called again that he want to add more vibes to the wedding ceremony by making the groom's men go on a native dress after the church wedding ( he meant the reception ground). He analysed the kind of native dressing he introduced and that would cost each of us $22. I was shocked upon hearing this and that odd info I heard about wedding couples extorting money from people joining them of the train of their wedding especially the "bridal train", entered my mind instantly. Hope this man is not trying to extort money from me? I questioned my soft instinct and nodded my head to the agreement to his suggestion.

Image from Facebook.com

I agreed and told him I'd send the money at month ending (month end of March), which he concurred.

Last two weeks, I sold out a Portion of my earning to sort out the bill of the native attire and kept the remaining to work on the suite dress.

I sorted for a good tailor that can work on Suit perfectly but everyone kept referring me to a close by City. At a time I wanted to go for BUYING but I changed my mind because It might not fit me well. So my boss recommended his personal tailor at the same neighboring city (Ughelli, Delta State) they've been referring to. I agreed to go for the recommended tailor because I've seen his work on my boss's dress. Yeah, he "Sabi" the work.

My boss scheduled a day for us to visit the man. The day came and we moved around 1:00pm, we got to the town and headed to the market where they sell clothe materials, we bought the the size that I want, that cost me $9. From there we went to the tailor's shop, we met him, I explained and he took the measurement. I told him when I'd be taking the clothe and he assured of delivery before then. We exchanged number and I paid him in full, my boss was there as a witness and he was joining him to give me assurance of delivery.

Look at how he does his work; the machines he uses to work are not in that town(they're at his main office at Aba, Abia State). So he collect work from the town we went to visit him, and he travels to the state that harbors his main office.

Lead image

Image source

With this, he said he'd waybill it to me incase he wasn't ready to travel back before the date I told him.

Fastforward, I didn't know that the date I gave to him was today. My boss reminded if I had called him to know if he's done with my work...I said no and assured that I'll give him a call once I'm through with what I was doing.

I put a call to him around 9:00am and you know what? He said he hadn't done any yet, that something came up and pulled him out of work since that day

Jeez! You need to see how I charged up like the burning furnace used to punished Shedrach, Meshack and Abednego in the Bible. I wish I was with a gun and it wasn't a call, I was ready to send him to the road to heaven.

Image source

I shouted at him not minding he's matured whatsoever. I was very angry because I never expected him to display the regular trait of a Nigerian tailor, my boss that took me to him gave me 100% assurance of delivery. The anger was much and i lost awful words to use, I just hung up.

The worst thing is that, I have just two days to go and no solution to it, because he said said that he hasn't done anything yet and he's not doing it within the weekend because he travel.

I'm not the fan of borrowing clothes to wear for occasion except it's my brothers' but right now my brother's suit is not black. It's too late to go to market and get an ALREADY MADE, with which money? After I've spent so much.

Why are tailors like this?

Actually this is not the first time I've been played or disappointed by a tailor but this one really got me hard.

Yes, it's my fault, I should have given out the work earlier considering the shortcomings of tailors but the whole situation got me like this.

I'm just here thinking and trying to cook up a way out while time is ticking as well.

I'm too certain there must be a way out.

Thank you for reading

16th April 2022

13
$ 1.28
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 6
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nigeria tailors

Comments

That's are most tailors are when you make full payment they tend to attend to those that just gave them work to do since they are yet to pay them. I really hate that idea of tailor working in such way, I have been a victim if this too and since then I don't make full payment at once

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too, I don't like making full payment because they'll totally forget you and aim at the ones that they're expecting money. I never thought of this, I just paid because the assurance of delivery was 100%, the full payment Also was to encourage him to get it done quickly, but look at me now🤷🤷

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! And the day is already here, suit never ready. It's total disappointment and I hope you won't be missing out.

That is people for you especially tailor. Even if you give them work to do earlier, they will still disappoint especially when you have paid in full. Once money gets into their hand, they are in control. I just hope something can be done so you can attend the wedding.

Wait! Wedding on a Monday? 😬😬 I have only heard of Saturdays which is very common and Thursday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Borrow of the tailor I went to borrow suit🤦🤦. Yeah, wedding on Monday bexat it's public holiday or so. Anyways, my church won't allow that, if it's not Saturday, they're not doing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooh! sorry about this. Such type of peoples are really annoying and its totally disappointing, I think almost everyone has experienced such tailors lol, I hope you have some alternate for wedding ceremony

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, thank you so much. I've gotten an alternative, I took from someone, to return it once I'm done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah, so sorry about this. I can't believe he has not started jeez

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Till this moment oo! Even if he has a good record of delivery, he has succeded in blocking his chances of getting work from me or getting recommendable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At this rate, there should be a law against tailors that don't deliver ah ahn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we were still in third year college, we had to go to a tailor for our volleyball jersey and it dissapoint us a lot because the sample that we gave and the outcome from a tailor is different and it was very expensive..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigerian tailors!, Lol. Kay; I'm guessing you might just result to lending a suit from someone else. Two days?! And he hasn't started, two days! And he travels on weekends, which means he'll likely start on Monday and that's the day you'll be needing it.

Sorry about that though and wow! Are you a Delta boy? You mentioned my hometown in your article; even though I've never been there. (Ugheli)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I'm going for lending, that's the quickest option for me now. I'm a proud Deltan. Where have you been that you haven't visited home for once... you're a typical foreigner. I know say your urhobo name go funny as usual 🧐

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is really awesome to know. lol, I've been in Lagos since birth. Lol, my uhrobo name is "Oghaleoghene"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice. I just asked for the meaning and k was told it's GOD'S BLESSING🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so disappointing. If I was you I would also get mad. However since there's no any other choice I think it would be better if you just ask the tailor for a refund and buy a readymade clothes for you to use on Monday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've given him ultimatum to return the money via transfer and waybill my material. I know it's not going to be easy for him because he might have touched the part of money. I just hope it comes through

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Nigerians. I like their hair style and dress up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh! My brother! Thank you so much. We are unique like that. Thank you for stopping by💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think there's anybody that haven't been disappointed by Nigerian tailors. Because of a bitter experience, I wanted to start wearing English wears to weddings

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes oo! Everyone of us have experienced the blow from tailors and they like doing it a critical time. English wear to a a party like wedding is what I still find awkward, I like dressing big even though the pocket is bankrupt🧘. I fancy People that wear English to a traditional occasion,,,like their courage is superb

$ 0.00
2 years ago