I don't think OWLS are ordinary

22 39
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Myth, Superstition, Owl

Special greetings lovely souls!

I'm sure your environment is treating you good there. Please be fine.

Saturday was filled with fun for me because of the FA Cup Finals, congratulations to the winners. Like I've always said, I'm not into league fans, I watch those matches for fun and majorly to tense vawulence to the loosing side 🧘.

Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Thank you sponsors ✌️

________________________

My topic today will be talking about the owl(a bird) and its general view from people in my country.

Incase you don't know the bird Owl, check the photo below

Lead image

Photo source

Owls have the following characteristics

  • There are around 200 different owl species.

  • Owls are active at night (nocturnal).

  • A group of owls is called a parliament.

  • Most owls hunt insects, small mammals and other birds.

  • Some owl species hunt fish.

  • Owls have powerful talons (claws) which help them catch and kill prey.

  • Owls have large eyes and a flat face.

  • Owls can turn their heads as much as 270 degrees.

  • Owls are farsighted, meaning they can’t see things close to their eyes clearly.

  • Owls are very quiet in flight compared to other birds of prey.

  • The color of owl’s feathers helps them blend into their environment (camouflage).

  • Barn owls can be recognized by their heart shaped face.

Reference

Disclaimer: What you are about to read is solely my opinion. No discrimination

What prompted me write about this bird?

Okay, we were watching a Nollywood movie in the afternoon today and the movie was all about witchcraft. The witches would use this bird to journey to their spirit world and after their meeting, they return as owl also, flying till they get to their compound where they transform into a full human. A typical Nigerian will know what I'm talking about.

One of the major characters used to portray the presence of witchcraft in our local movies is the owl then followed by cat. I'm not going to talk much about cat here because I know that you love your cat and won't like it when I'm saying scary things about cats.

The movie today really reminded me alot about the series of encounters we had while I was at home town. I was brought up in the country side and I saw the funny side of life based on superstitions and beliefs.

We were made to believe that owl is a bird from the spirit world, infact it's not an ordinary bird when compared with others. They said in every ten owl, there's tendency of meeting three to five witches or wizards camouflaged in owl's form.

I'm talking about spiritual things here.

These witches and wizards I'm talking about are the ones with Spiritual powers, that have power to transform into another form or seize breath for a long time (partially dead), while their spirit move away from their bodies while they attend meetings or functions. I know most of you don't believe in the existence of such thing but it's what we were brought up to believe and I'm sure witchcraft exist.

I can't remember whose article I read some weeks ago where he said beautiful things about owl and he said he was ready to adopt it as a pet. And I wondered if it's same owl that I know or there's a breed that's lovable to the point of having it as a pet?🤷

Now let me tell you;

There was a story I heard about a woman that went for meeting(witchcraft meeting) at night, she was not able to come back on time and the day bad brightened before she could flew to the roof where she's supposed to transform into human. People saw the bird flocking around the roof and they killed it with catapult immediately they noticed it's an owl. That same morning, an elderly woman refused to wake up from sleep. This made People to conclude that it was the mama that was killed in the form of a bird (owl).

Another one;

My elementary school was situated near the community cemetery, I mean a full horrific cemetery and not the modernized cemetery with gates, lights and security. This is a typical bush where they bury People in a shallow ground and do all sorts of sacrifices.

Owls flock around and make us scared every morning when we go out to sweep the school compound at the early our of the day (5am). They'd be flying and with their screeching sounds. Some would fall and became heavy to fly again and they told us that anytime we see this, we should kill it ASAP because a witch is doomed. Lol.

Yes, we do kill those unfortunate ones. The non feary guys among us would butcher them, cut out their hearts and lock them inside a bottle. Guess why? So that the witch will not be able to rise again. Lol🤣. Superstition at its peak!

The screeching sound;

Oh! This sound scares the most if you're not brave. Since we've related owl as a witch, anytime we hear the sound we conclude that a witch is around and it's usually Night because owl is a nocturnal animal.

I remember when a cousin slept in my room, he asked why my window was opened and I told him that I don't lock windows because of heat. I gave him the go ahead to lock it if he's scared but he told me there's nothing to fear.

Just some minutes after we were laid on bed, an owl blew its sound and this young man rushly went to jam the window. I laughed to so loud that night.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Closing Remark

I don't know, maybe it's just a myth but till this exact point of my life, I still think owls are possessed or let me say most of them are being used by Witches just the same way some cats are being used too.

Maybe it's just a myth.

Thank you for reading.

14th May 2022

11
$ 1.19
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Bilqees
+ 5
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Myth, Superstition, Owl

Comments

Owls are ordinary jare just that its the Nigerians witches that normally put their witchcraft spirit inside some animal 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so common among Africans to feel some certain animals are meant for some certain things but I can't blame them, it's because they don show us plenty pepper 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nigerians and their stereotype of some certain animals, why is it that it's only in Nigeria that witches make use of cats and owls? I don't believe in that for the sheer fact that my grandmother had lots of cats when she was alive and I have grown to love cats. As for owl, I don't have a problem with them as well, innocent animals are being discriminated by humans for being tools of witchcraft, meanwhile nobody has a problem with goats, that animal is the true representation of the devil (even more than snakes). Satanic rituals potrays the devil as a goat, but for Nigeria we dey chop am while we label cats and owls as witches, lmao

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahah, this made me burst into laughter 🤣. The goat like features of the devil is true through because I've seen and heard such stuffs, but I think cats and owls are more fiery because if their eyes plus the the nocturnal characteristics.

But some people dey eat these animals Sha🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao, so because of their eyes and nocturnal habit that's why you people label them as witches, if na so then fox, leopard and wolves are also witches 💀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Animals like birds or in your case owls do have significance in every culture. There are also certain beliefs in every culture.

This reminded me of the owls that used to visit us yearly. They stopped coming some years ago though. I always look forward to their visits back then.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah, some animals have their different tags of beliefs with different region and countries.

So this means that owl has a good symbol in your region? Wow!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A owl shows dangerous look I feel afraid of it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The eyes alone is scary. It can't look at it twice🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also heard stories about owl being a tool for witchcraft. Infact most nocturnal animals like owl, bat, cat are believed to be used by witches and wizards. Even though there are local evidences, it's not yet scientifically proven

$ 0.02
1 year ago

For science? YES it's not proven scientifically but the percentage of this belief is large and that has dominated so many minds. Even if you don't believe, the thought will appear to your mind anytime you come across these animals

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, this is also some people's belief's here in our place 😅. However I also cannot tell if this belief is real or just a myth.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That means the belief is wide. It may be a real fact or maybe it's just mythical 🤷

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Owls are famous but I never see one in my entire life.. hehe, I can see it through pictures and videos. .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It seems you're are born and brought up in an urban area, I don't think it's common in cities. But in villages, it's everywhere just as normal birds

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No.I am a villager but I never see one hehe.. I grew up here and never live in the city.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting. That means it's not common in your place there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we can see it only maybe in the forest where they put all the endangered spieces..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Owls are synonymous with mystical things but basically these animals are harmonized by the night world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh! I thought it's only my country we attach the mystical stuffs on owl. So it's everywhere 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, nothing can change our mindset and we will be stoning it down, the one that fall, we shall kill it and call it winch

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol🤣🤣. Till today, if I see owl flying in the night I don't assume it, I believe that a witch is passing. No mercy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago