During planting season in our farm

18 31
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Hello world!

I bring greetings to you all!

Hope we're good?

Just be fine🥰

Today being Monday, decided to join among the list of my days in this week here. Although I've been productive in other platforms but here(Readcash) just kept pushing me away with writer's block.

But nevertheless, I'm here with something special and common, although it's not common to those wealthy families that don't know any amount crop farming and in a big farm land. I once used this blog as an entry to a contest in my other platforms.

  • I would be sharing with you some of the tricks we use in our farms.

First of all, I grew up in a rural part of Nigeria, that's what we call countryside. Farming is the major occupation there, so I was well groomed with all the faming skills especially the hard/tough part of farming. When I was in high school, living with my parents, weekends are basically for farming and that's not negotiable. When other rich children are jubilating because weekend was coming, we will be frowning our faces and never wished for a weekend🤗.

Planting season☘️

This stage follows immediately after brushing, clearing and burning down the thick forest. Our farming process is the mixed cropping, we have maize, melon, yam, pepper, pumpkin, cassava etc., on the same piece of land.
We were brought up to believe that, if you want your crops to produce well then you must eat well before going to farm or before planting. My dad was so much keen to this believe and he's still holding onto it till today lol🤣.
I don't know where they picked the believe from, I finds it laughable🤣🤣.

Image source

I and my siblings used to give my dad trouble time on this believe, sometimes we would go to farm around 6:00am and he expect us to eat at that odd hour before planting and we always refuse because that moment is too odd to swallow food. But at the end he wins because he wouldn't allow us to plant anything without eating first.


When we are tired

Whenever we are tired of digging holes and putting seeds therein, we device the method of packing the seeds in a plentiful manner so as to quickly exhaust the quantity given to us.

Image source

This works perfectly well for us but the problem comes when the seeds begin to germinate. At this moment, the house would not contain us once my dad goes to farm and return(when he goes to farm and detect our over packed seed germinated from a spot)

But there's another trick we used to curb it which only works if my dad had not seen the seeds germinating.

Image source

Let say, we planted the seeds today, the seeds are expected to germinate within the next seven days, so anytime we go to farm within the next seven days, we would move around to be removing the excess germinated seed from the spot sot that my dad won't notice the first attempt😂.

But if luck wasn't on our side and he sees them plants before us, then he'll go and invite some devils from hell to handle our case🤭.

________________________

I almost forgot to show appreciation to my newest sponsor. A very big thanks to @NanV. I really appreciate it. Much love!🥰

________________________

Thanks for reading🥰🥰

24th October 2022

11
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Bilqees
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 5
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

That sounds tough. I only have a slight idea of how hard and tough farming is but I only have little experience of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes you are saying it right that when you have to seed something then first you should have good diet 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mmm, I never did planting on that manner even if we are all tired. I hope he did not beat you out of it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I raised and grew up at the country side and we are planting our own food ,we had also a garden for vegetables and some rootcrops.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That means you have a good idea about farm and planting of crops. That's nice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe that belief is true 😂, because if you're a good eater then it means you're also good on planting because you love to eat crops..😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow I love planting too friend. I missed planting. In our province I always helped my mom planting in our garden even it was really tiring I enjoyed it a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, farm work is stressful and always tiring. But if you're used to it, you won't get tired easily.

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend planting give us an enjoyment also.

You're welcome friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I agreed with your father's believe here also people specially when they go for farming eat well, so that they can get energy to work there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's it too, if you don't eat while working in farm, you'll easily get tirwd because of lack of energy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eating at 6AM is not easy at all. You will have plenty of food in your house since your dad farms

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, it wasn't easy to eat at that early hour. Also, it's very true, we have enough food at home because of farm. Yam is always surplus and I don't like to eat yam🤭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it's a hard work so people need to eat well to feel strong and do all the tasks, with advices!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that's very true. But the reason they insisted that we must eat well before planting seeds was basically on superstitious stuffs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your most welcome dear friend... I don't really love planting, right from school days I hated agric

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahah😂. It seems you were brought up in the city that's why. It's good too because agric work is stressful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Funny you, even at village too Some people still experience same thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago