Read.cash Writers: Do you Stock Take?

Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

13 August 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood) 

Start with your Warehouse

Imagine for a second that your daily routine can be compartmentalized and stored in a warehouse. If you can imagine that, then it is easier to tackle what I'm about to share.

If it is not, it will still be worth your time reading this to understand how to get them compartmentalized and organized.

[Disclaimer: This is not Stocking Advice. Do your own research. I'm no expert. I'm writing this partly to get myself organized and manageable.]

How many of you are fans of the TV series Fringe and the X-Files or the movie Raiders of the Lost Ark? Remember those warehouses they showed in these series and the movie? Recall the last scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark, where the boxed-up Lost Ark was put into a humongous warehouse? Without proper cataloging and systematic filing, it would be impossible to locate this Lost Ark.

If that's your intention for your daily routine, then you're fine. Skip this article. But if you're trying to figure out how to make them more manageable, then do follow along and see if my thought process makes any sense.

Take Stock

It's better if I start with a definition of "Take Stock". The online Merriam-Webster dictionary defines it as such:

to carefully think about something in order to make a decision about what to do next

If your daily routine was never organized, then the first thing to do is to do a stock take. List down all the things that needed to be done.

Compartmentalize them. For example, list all work-related tasks in one compartment; all nonwork-related in another. Break them down further if you wish. Think of it like how IKEA stack their products in their warehouse. It's all done systematically so that you can locate the item you want with ease.

Incidentally, this topic was birthed out of my need to be a little more efficient in completing my writing, reading, and commenting commitments here at read.cash and my noisense™ and Back to the 80s posts in noise.cash (I'd started two new channels for all my noisense. Do come to join in the fun if you're wacky and have a loose screw.)

Once we have a good overall picture after having taken stock, we need to look at our initial commitment on what needs to be done daily. We now have a look at our Par Stock.

Par Stock (aka Safety Stock)

Again, let's start with a definition. According to Wikipedia, it means that the

safety stock is an additional quantity of an item held in the inventory to reduce the risk that the item will be out of stock. 

Let's take my writing example above. If let's say that I have committed to do the following:

  1. Post one article

  2. Write one article

  3. Read 5 articles

  4. Reply to all comments

  5. Comment to articles read

  6. post in noise.cash (no set number of posts)

I'll then take the following as the Par Stock/Safety Stock

  1. One article to post

  2. One article to write

  3. Five articles to read

What I've done above is that I have quantified and set what I need to at least get done daily. Anything I do above that would be a bonus. However, anything below that would put me at a deficit.

Once I have done my Stock Take and know my Par Stock, I would need to devise a strategy in order not to fall below par.

[Complete your Stock Take and determine your Par Stock before moving on to a Strategy.]

Stock Maintenance Strategy

We now know that it is important to stop and evaluate a situation to understand it first, i.e. to take stock and have a par stock. Then formulate a plan to be efficient.

This was what I'd posted in one of my posts at noise.cash using a football analogy. The gist of it is this - post my article first, then proceed to write an article for my article bank (I'll talk about my article bank in a future article and link it here once published). Once those have been completed, then I will focus on clearing as many notifications (read articles, comment on them) as possible before proceeding to have lots of fun in noise.cash.

It doesn't always end up in that strict order. I do end up replying to comments left on today's posted article and I also intersperse my time with short breaks in noise.cash.

From my experience, if I'd started the day with clearing notifications first, my schedule for that day will be all out of whack. I can get carried away reading and commenting and pretty soon realize that I'm too exhausted to write anything. My brain would have turned to mush by then. That's a recipe for self-inflicted writer's block.

You can see now that it is important to clear the quantified commitments first. Otherwise, your whole schedule will be messed up.

Stocking successfully

Being a successful stockist means that you need to evaluate this constantly. Once you are running smoothly as clockwork, then you can consider upping your Par Stock or allocating the extra time on something else.

Looking back now on my posted game plan strategy, I believe it is working. I've already posted my article for today. Replied to some of the comments while working on this article.

Now, this article is complete and I still have quite a bit of time to focus on my reading and commenting on articles read.

I do hope that my ramblings were clear and that you can derive some value from them. Have fun getting your warehouse in order and good luck!

Thank you for reading. Stay safe and see you in the next article.

Sources:

Header: Unsplash.com -noodle kimm

Image 1: Unsplash.com -  Jezael Melgoza

Image 2: Unsplash.com - Nana Smirnova

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

14
$ 7.54
$ 6.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
+ 12
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

This is a good way, I think, to go about it. At the very least, at least you have a plan, and that is noteworthy. I guess I don't think of read.cash or noise.cash as a job, and so when it comes to what I do in either place I do not set goals and have no real expectation. I just do what feels right in the moment and let the cards, and the pennies, fall where they may.

For me it mostly works out doing it that way.

Imagine what I could accomplish if I were actually trying. lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Having at it without any expectations is probably a great way to enjoy both platforms. Those pennies do add up. I bet you'd do real well if you pitch camp. Lol.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can get carried away reading and commenting and pretty soon realize that I'm too exhausted to write anything.

hahahah this! And sometimes i thought reading some will help my brain pick up something it would like to write about but it rarely does. Haha... I just end up enjoying and imagining the stories i read.

I am disorganized honestly. But this workflow of yours.. i might adapt to. 🥴🥴🥴

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is true that sometimes reading does spark ideas we can use to write about. But that's a fine line between spending too much time on that and writing our own articles.

Having said that, I do end up not following my own recipe sometimes. It's a double-edged sword. A constant balance in keeping it fun and being able to accomplish what I set out to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always end up in replying to those who commented and then I read and comment on their articles. Posting one article before I go to sleep is the last thing I do now. Sometimes I don't even get to visit noise at all.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is a constant challenge juggling with all our activities given the set hours we all have. Prioritizing is not an option. Otherwise, we'll go crazy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, your article is good and illustrative. At first, I was so overwhelmed by so many notifications. It was very difficult for me to write my own article. Now, although I don't write every day. When I have an idea, I sit down to write it without looking at anything else. Then, I'll still be overwhelmed by the notifications, LOL. But at least my article will be posted. And I definitely need therapy to hit the "mark these as read" button without feeling guilty. 😂😂

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Hahaha...we should never feel guilty about using the "mark these as read" button. Sometimes, it's inevitable. As we grow, it is not humanly possible to read every article. We have to be strict and read what we can. The rest, we 'nuke'. The plus side is that it won't always be the same writers that get 'nuked'.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. As long as we don't nuke the same writers all the time, there must be no guilt involved. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem I have is reading articles and commenting on them. I can't set a number due to my limited time. By the time I'm done with work, I'm beat already and I just shut off to sleep.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Sometimes, I am on that same road. We do what we can. The rest we nuke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope to stock up during the weekends but with house chores too much hahhaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good luck! Hope you get to do some stocking!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess not applicable to me. My hands are not mine 😂

Where's that channel you talkin about?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What do you mean? Sorry, I'm a bit slow now after posting and writing and commenting. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It means I am very busy, I dont have time to organize things hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Messy me needed to hear this!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my warehouse is too busy that my article bank is empty again...

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Oh. The weekend is a good time to stock up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nightime is my only time to stock up :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Night time is quiet. A great time to do stocking. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I got I article to write, 1 article to post, and 30 articles to read, I balancing 10 articles in the morning, noon and night hahaha.. Look like I had lot of free time LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It sure sounds like it. But for me, that's like a full time office hours. LOL. Good luck, buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir I have a question, Is it good to create lots of draft articles so that we have back up articles to do in next day? Just asking, I want to make some drafts form my ideas but I was hesitant because it may against the rules.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think it is. I do that, even if it's just a title that I think I can develop later. I'll save it under an article with just the title for later. Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I need to par stock..haha..am stocking things I want to do but sometimes it's too hard to manage them all lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Actually, I'm amazed at how you manage your warehouse. I'm sure your plate is plenty full but from your online activities (P0x, here, and Noise), it looks like you're handling them well. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dood! This is really helpful for me since i am not so organize.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's as much for myself to use. LOL. Good luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago