Writing Prompt #24: Bad Habits

Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I'm sitting here on the morning of March 11, 2022, trying to think of something to write. But all I can think about is having a cigarette.

Today is day 3 of not smoking. I am jittery, hungry, and irritable. I have a headache. I have strange pains in my body which my brain is telling me will go away if I just have a single puff of a cigarette.

I knew this would happen. I have successfully quit for 3.5 years in 2013. I had all these same withdrawal symptoms. I knew it would be hard. But knowing something intellectually and going through it physically are two very different things.

Cigarettes are honestly just about all I can think of right now.

So, I got the idea to do another writing prompt.

BAD HABITS

Smoking, for me, started as a fun way to feel included in older girls' groups. In Germany, my soccer coach's daughter taught all of us how to roll and smoke cigarettes in the locker room before and after practice.

When I went to the Ponyhof, a horse camp for kids aged 10 to 14, I learned how to properly inhale.

I don't think smoking became habitual until I was back in the U.S. buying my own and smoking in school. Very quickly the habit became an addiction.

So, here I am at age 53, after having quit all of my previous addictions including hard drugs like heroin, meth, and cocaine, trying to quit smoking. Again.

Originally, I had set a quit date of February 14. I wanted to treat my heart well on the day celebrated with hearts. But, of course, life happened and complicated my plans. My desire to quit was still strong, though so my quit date only got postponed by a little bit.

I used up all of my cigarettes 3 days ago and refuse to buy any more. I did buy some lozenges with nicotine in them to help me through the worst of the withdrawal and to help me break the habit of smoking.

The lozenges are disgusting. But I will continue to use them as necessary. Because they are so nasty, I feel confident I will not replace one bad habit with another.

I have to be very careful this time around to not gain as much weight as I did when I quit in 2013. Back then I allowed myself to gain as much weight as I needed in order to quit smoking. I gained 50 pounds.

I lost a bunch of weight when I started running. But I stopped running when I started working more and eventually began to gain the weight back. Eating is a bad habit I used to quit another bad habit.

So, I have to be very careful this time. I'm still eating a lot, but I'm trying very hard to eat more healthy foods instead of all the bacon and all the chocolate. I'm eating fresh fruit and vegetables and drinking more water.

I am still jonesing for a cigarette.

I am replacing my behavior ( smoking) with other behaviors. I smoked menthol cigarettes, so whenever I really can't stand it I will go brush my teeth. That way I get the minty flavor in my mouth and I am doing something that is hand to mouth.

I do have other bad habits, though. Sugar. Carbs. Especially chocolate and bread. These foods comfort me when I'm stressed. There is a noodle dish I make which is my favorite of all time. It is something my mom made for me when was a very little girl. It reminds me of being cared for and comforted.

The dish is called Tuna Noodle Casserole. Only my mom never put it in the oven. She just boiled a pot of noodles, added cream of mushroom soup, a can of tuna, and a little cheese.

It is slimy and warm and comforting. I could eat a whole pot of it by myself!!

I won't, but I could.

What are some of your bad habits? Have you been able to stop them? Are any of your habits so strong they could be labeled addictions?

Tell us all about it!

If you would like to participate in this writing prompt, please follow these very simple rules.

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about bad habits

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

Don't forget: there are no time limits! You can write any prompt and time as many times as you like forever. Please find links to all the writing prompts, including this one, here:https://read.cash/@JonicaBradley/the-promptlyjonica-writing-prompts-linked-in-order-5a576c94.

All images license free from Unsplash

11
$ 12.04
$ 11.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.03 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 3
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

It's really hard to stop smoking when someone who used to smoke before because she's /he's really used to it, it's like my grandfather until now he can't really stop his smoking. But I believe that you can really stop it maam. Anyway I will write my entry for this prompt later. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this! As someone who is trying his very best to change his bad habits, I will write about this prompt. I was about to say that my uncle's remedy when he is tempted to smoke is he brushes his teeth but you also do that. It is hard at first but we can change for the better. :")

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I sure hope so! Looking forward to reading your bad habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have received advice to replace cigarettes with chewing gum or candy, and that makes me crave a cigarette even more! Like you I drink lots of water and try to keep myself as busy as I can, because over here you aren't allowed to smoke in closed spaces, so if I'm at the office busy busy busy, less time to smoke, and I'm not allowed to smoke at home either so, that's a plus. Today I had a 30 minute break and had one, that's it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Smoking isn't allowed indoors in most of the U.S. either. We've never smoked in the house. But I have a very nice garage. . .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a backyard and not even there I'm allowed so, not much choice 🥴

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's probably for the best, though. Don't you think?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, for my health and my pocket 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So glad I never picked up the habit. And I'm rooting for you to finally kick it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me, too. Both good you never picked it up and rooting for me to finally kick it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's never going to be easy but what makes it worth it is you make it, at last, you will be happy that you made the right decision

$ 0.01
User's avatar Nk
2 years ago

Yep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of habit that you can hardly resist is what I've observed in those people who are addicted to cigarette smoking.

This article somehow helps some people to not try this kind of habit as eventually, it's hard to get rid of it. I'd love to try this prompt mam thanks for the idea.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm looking forward to reading your story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have friends who are able to quit smoke... chewing gum and menthol candies became their diversion while trying to beat the temptations...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is so hard. It is especially hard not eating all the things. I have a lot of food. eweeNot all of it is healthy for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been trying to kick the habit for a year now. I quit in 2018 only to start back up 8 months later. I wish you luck!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The first few times I quit it was because I was pregnant. Then I spent nearly a year in jail. I still managed to smoke once in a while being locked up. Then I quit for 7 months in order to have a much-needed surgery. Finally, I quit for 3.5 years. Hopefully, this time will be a lot longer. Hopefully, this time will be forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I never counted being in jail as not smoking, I cut way, way back in jail though. in the past 20 years I have probably smoked 15 of them. Your article actually inspired me to use some lozenges that are nasty as can be. However it does help. Good luck on forever!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I got some nicotine replacement lozenges from Amazon. They were less expensive than the gum. They are disgusting. They taste like a minty cherry or a chewable pepto bismal, but not as pink. Thanks for the luck.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do have bad habits as well. Will surely join on this prompt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm already fascinated to find out what they are!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for another prompt that saves the day. I will participate in this now😊.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't wait to read it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago