Fishy Food Feast

19 55
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Recently, as many of you already know, I traveled to New York. I had just spent a month helping family friends deal with the death of their mother and I really wanted to see my mommy.

I also spent time viewing houses and properties. Playing with my mom's dog, Sally, at the dog park, or visiting my brother and his wife and my tiny not-quite-yet-ripe niece-to-be.

When we weren't doing that, we were shopping, cooking, or eating.

I love, love, LOVE the grocery stores in Rochester, NY. They have everything I simply can't find here, locally. Even a lot of things I can't find if I travel to the big city of Amarillo. I love to cook, and I love to eat, so grocery shopping was actually pretty fun there. Especially since my mom was paying for the groceries!!

We did eat out at a couple of restaurants. One, just Mom and I ate at a fast-food Mediterranean place. I love shawarma and sarma and tahini and all things Mediterranean. Whether the food is Greek or Armenian or another Mediterranean country, I can't get enough of it. But this restaurant was eh. Of course, I had just come from Los Angeles where there are SO MANY great Mediterranean restaurants and where my BFF's dad is actually Armenian. So I was able to feast on homemade food.

Rochester is on Lake Ontario. That close to a lake, and you're going to be exposed to fish! I guess Rochester is pretty famous for its Fish Fry. So, Mommy and Papa took me to a restaurant to have some fish.

There was quite a line and we didn't have reservations, so we sat at the bar to wait for a table to become available.

We had beer. My mom is a pretty big beer drinker. More so than Papa or I. That beer in the photo was Mom's second.

Mom didn't want a huge fish filet, so she got a sandwich instead. Her sandwich was bigger than my fish. I just got the same thing Papa got. I can't even remember what kind of fish it was. It was pretty good, though.

Mom is holding only half of her sandwich. She got chips (fried potatoes) with her meal. I stole some off of her plate.

I also stole her pickles. She didn't miss them!

My and Papa's meal came with coleslaw and french fries. I make a really great coleslaw at home, and I get pretty picky about eating foods I can make much better for myself. One of the drawbacks of being a great cook, I guess. I think I can make everything better.

Pap liked his fries and I gave him my coleslaw.

The fish was beer-battered. I'm not sure how much beer actually goes into the batter. The beer used was a local craft beer. That's also the kind of beer I was drinking. S l o w l y drinking. At least compared to my parents. LOL. Papa had 2 beers and so did Mommy.

She's making a serious face for a serious sandwich.

My mom is tiny. 5' 4" (1.6 meters). She weighs about 100 pounds (45 kilos). And yet, she drank 2 beers, ate a huge sandwich, and all of her chips. I don't know where she puts it!!

Since I've quit smoking and am still eating all the things, I thought I would share some food stories with you all in the hopes that I don't actually eat the food. It isn't working, though, because I'm getting very hungry just remembering all the food in the photos!

And of course all of my good homemade bread.

I'm so hungry I am ready to stop writing and go eat!

What are some of your favorite foods? Drop me a comment and don't forget to thumbs up and subscribe. Sponsorships are always welcome, too.

All images photos by Jonica Bradley

10
$ 4.10
$ 3.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @zolabundance2
+ 5
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Its look delicious. I like to take like this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to eat that item. Invite me in your zone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They looks beautiful and handsome. Anyway, the food looks delicious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was yummy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now you got me craving for fish and chips! And there aren't many decent ones around here. Awww shucks!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have to make your own!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That mommy's face is so serious with her burger lol. She's cute despite her age. Good thing you have this kind of bonding with your mom and dad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Since I'm moving to their city, we'll have plenty more binding!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The concentration your pops gave to that food when he was eating it was just something else, I will rightly say that is a man that knows the value of food and how well deserved he needs that food I his Tommy and and your Ma must be really enjoying what she is having too look at the looks on her face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is this part: I his Tommy?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mum and papa are cute! I love their nose hihi. My fave foods are anything sweet and chocolatey😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My mom hated her tall nose even she lived in the Philippines. She would always try to smash it down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tell her we can exchange nose , hihi kidding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you are beautiful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally enter in your whole Article in my own imagination. Your mom and dad personality is so cool. Especially I love your mother's hair.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll tell her!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me know if you can see all the images. I can't see most of them when I view the published article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago