What Makes You Nostalgic?

15 33
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

The feeling of nostalgia you get when you see a familiar thing, such as photos or random things from the past, makes you reminisce about all those happy and fun memories you had before. It makes you want to go back in time and do those things again. Those times when we only think about ourselves and, without anything else, those memorable moments we spent with our loved ones, friends, classmates, and families, especially those families of ours that are no longer by our side.  Those people who were special to us and are part of the journey in our lives and who we’ve become today.

Today, I was inactive in the noise again because I used my phone’s personal hotspot for my laptop because until now, the cable for our router hasn’t been fixed yet, nor even the cable for the television. It’s been a month already since the wrath of Odette, but there are still some wires and cables that haven’t been fixed, especially the wi-fi. I really need some internet connection and as the new year starts, I guess I have already spent more than a thousand already on my load expenses because a 50 peso or a dollar worth of load isn’t enough. It couldn’t even last two days, although it’s supposed to be valid for three days. And what’s worse is that the internet connection here is not stable and it keeps on lagging, which sometimes triggers my mood, LOL.

So, enough with my mini-rant as I want this article for today to be a fun and memorable one!

This afternoon, my family members were in the living room playing some cards. My cousins were playing Mobile Legends while my grandparents were playing card games, and do you know who their opponents were? Well, their opponents were my niece and nephews, their great-grandchildren, lmao. Mind you, people, they’re not gambling, or you think they’re being trained to play some card games or poker to gamble, lol. It’s just for fun, the seniors versus the kiddos. HAHA. We always played along with our grandparents to take away the boredom since they couldn’t watch television yet because there was still no signal on it.

As everyone was so busy doing their things, my other nephew came out of the other room, laughing hysterically while holding a photo album in both of his hands. Then we asked him what was so funny about that, and then he showed us a pic of a teenage girl in a school uniform. And it was his mother, my older sister. That’s why he’s laughing because it was his mom. What made him laugh even more was the hairstyle of my sister, the iconic bangs. I guess most Filipino kids have tried that hairstyle before. It’s like Dora’s hairstyle, that’s why we called it Dora.

He gave us the other photo album that his left hand was holding. It was an old photo album. It even has a date imprinted on it. We all stopped what we were doing and just looked at all the photos that were in a photo album. There were photos of our grandparents when they were a bit younger, when my aunts and uncles were still teenagers. There’s a photo of our old house and the Lansones tree that my great-great-grandmother planted, my grandfather’s mother. I am glad that I was still able to see her face and experience her very strict attitude. LOL. I was a very little kiddo before, as far as I can remember, I guess I was 5 or 6 at that time when we snuck into the back of her house and grabbed some Lansones, even though they were not that ripped yet.

As seen in the photos, the view in our place before was so beautiful. Everything was visible with lots of trees and the wide space where we used to play tag and hide and seek. But right now, there are already lots of houses everywhere and most of them are for rent. Most trees have been cut already and there’s no more wide space because it’s full of houses already. The place where we used to play tag and hide and seek is getting so small, or I guess we’re just getting older and older.

When you see the places that have been a great part of your childhood, it really gives off a great feeling of nostalgia, reminiscing those fun and memorable moments of our lives. We can’t bring back time, but we can bring back those moments anytime by keeping them through our memories.



Lead Image


Jini's Note:

What is up everyone! How's it going and how was your day so far? I hope that you had a great day and a worry-free day.

I just wanna say thank you for spending a minute of your time reading this article of mine. I truly appreciate your presence here.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe buttons if you want to. I'd really appreciate it.

Arigathankyougozaimuch :>

0190102022

 

9
$ 4.46
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Kapag ako nakikinig sa music lalo na yung mga nirelease nung elementary pa ako bigla na lang nagfaflashback sa utak ko tapos bigla ko narerealize ang tanda ko na 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oyy sameee hahha yung mga kanta dati na naging part narin ng ating childhood memories haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here po. It's really a hassle at work when the internet and electricity are unstable. Which area do you live po? I'm from Southern Leyte.

Old photos really give a nostalgic feeling to me and other things such as objects we used before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean, the electricty is already stable but the problem is the internet connection. btw, sa Cebu ko teehee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is somewhat irritating that the unstable Internet does not allow you to enjoy the time to do something. Old photos always give that nostalgic feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, that's one of the reasons why I couldn't interact more even if I want to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A photograph is a captured memory of the past. We live our memories, they are like flashes in our memory.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a precious gem that always reminds us with our memorable past

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A good childhood memory is always worth remembering

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeaahhh that's so trueee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All sorts of things make me nostalgic. In fact, it will be a lot. Some childhood memories remind me of something over and over again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, there are lots of things that brings us to our childhood memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me the one thing that makes me so nostalgic and brings me back to the time when I was a kid is when I see two little girls in uniforms walking with their father one girl slightly taller, it reminds me of when my father used to pick us up from school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awe, that is so cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago