My Work Experience In A Japanese Hotel

30 61
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago
Brisa Del Mar

Visiting Japan is really one of my biggest goals in life, and being able to work and have experience in a Japanese hotel is a huge opportunity for me. Learning their tradition and culture is an amazing experience. I was scrolling through my Facebook feed when suddenly a memory from a couple of years ago passed by while I was scrolling. I took a look at it and it made me remember those days when I was still working for their company. I remember leaving early in the morning and walking for a kilometer towards the hotel. We are lucky if we can catch up with the company's service bus. 

The hotel that I've been working at is a Japanese hotel owned by a Japanese as well. It is a huge corporation located in the centre of our city. Because of these Japanese people, our place is one of the reachiest in Cebu. I don't literally work or have a regular job. We were just students at that time, and it only served as our on-the-job training or our work immersion. 

Getting up early in the morning is important because you do not want to be late for your first workday. My friends and I literally woke up at 3 am and went to the hotel at 4 am when our check-in time was at 6 am. They were shocked when they saw the three of us arrive so early. LOL. At first, it was a bit awkward, but later on, we got used to our environment and the people we encounter every day. Our senior ate and kuya were the ones who briefed us on what to do, and then the manager also told us the things and rules inside the hotel. To tell you the truth, these people are so cool and awesome. I thought kuya, the manager is a strict manager, but the day after, we became close and the rest of the crew and staff. Except for the head chef, I don't like him, honestly, because he's too strict. LMAO. 

This is the Kenshin or the kitchen side. The right side of it was actually the kitchen, and the left side was where the dormitory for the Japanese workers was located. These Japanese people are managers and owners of their company. If you're wondering why, this is a huge corporation owned by Japanese businessmen. They also have a company in Japan, but the main one is located here in Cebu. 

They call it Kenshin, and I and my other friend were assigned to Kenshin while my other friend was assigned to the hotel. They call it a hotel because it's only for those guests who checked in at the hotel. It is actually two dining areas, the Kenshin and the Hotel. The Kenshin is the busiest, while the hotel only had 2-3 diners. So it's kinda boring, but there are a lot of good-looking Japanese young men in the hotel though. LMAO. If you're wondering why their T.V is not a flat screen, well same, I'm wondering too. Their TV is an old kind of TV. It is huge, but the back of it is like a turtle kind of TV. Both Kenshin and the hotel have the same TV.

If you get to work in a Japanese hotel, you will definitely be amazed at how workaholic these Japanese people are. At 4m, they were already eating their breakfast. I arrived at about a quarter to 5 or so, and it was still a bit dark when I first saw them. I was shocked to see them eating their breakfast at 4am or 5am. And their breakfast would not be complete without tamagoyaki, which is an omelette. Sometimes they only have lugaw and miso soup. Speaking of miso soup, it was my first time tasting miso soup. Every time they're done with their breakfast, we throw all the food left even though it is still hot and there is lots of food left. It is a waste of food, but we don't have a choice but to throw it all in a garbage bin. Before purging the soup in the sink, he told me to taste it so that I would not get curious about it. When I opened the lid, the smoke went all up my nose and it smelled so bad. I really hate the smell of it. Because it was hot, like super hot, I felt like my face was steaming. I thought it tasted just like the movie, but I was wrong, because my mouth says that it does not.

Japanese people really are awesome and well-disciplined because all of them are so responsible and well-disciplined. After they're done with their breakfast, you can't see a single piece of dirt on their chair and table, because a single piece of trash, or even a piece of eggshell, they will take it and put it in their tray, and they will also bring their tray to us. They will not forget to say, "Arigatou gozaimasu" or "Salamat." to us after giving their tray. What amazes me more is that every single person who enters the door will always greet everyone with an "Ohayo". Literally everyone, they won't stop nodding their heads until they make sure they have greeted everyone around them.

Watashi wa nihonjin ga daisukidesu

It's getting longer; I'll probably make another part of this one. We're not even halfway there. LOL

Thank you guys for dropping by and reading this article of mine. I truly appreciate it.

You can always hit the Like and Subscribe button if you want to.

Arrigathankyougozaimuch :>

010072021

11
$ 4.73
$ 4.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 10
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Well it seems like a good experience. The Japanese are well-known for being workaholic. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sana makapasok lang sin ako sa Japanese Hotel kahit saka na ang Japan talaga huehue. Ang gusto ko sa kanila ee yong pag kakain na sabay "Itadakimasu!" Yon diba, ang ano din nila sa pagkain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis that's true. The Japanese people are really hardworking. My aunt work in Japan and she said the Japanese people don't like lazy people.

Their country is really awesome since it's very clean that's why I want also to have a visit in Japan. How I wish sis.☺️

Pasyal tayo dun sis..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laag nya ta sa Japan puhon hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanindot ba sis nuh kanang okay na ang lahat kanang wanay virus. In God's will sis..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan has always been my dream country and I'd still go there someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See you there! Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems you have learned a great deal about Japanese people when you worked in that hotel :) This is not the first time I've read that they are very workaholic. I also heard it from my niece who is in Japan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bihira nga lang po kami makakakita ng mga 30+ na japanese dito kasi mostly 50+ na yung mga japanese na nag tatrabaho

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Grabe naman yung puro matatanda na nagwowork....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung mga younger generations siguro iba ang field na gusto :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I love to hear more about your experience. I have always been fond of learning more about Japanese culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Currently working on with the second one hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I always observed them in the japanese dramas that I watched you are right that is the first thing that I observed to them they are working hard person. They keep pushing their self to do the things that they want to do and other people keep in encouraging them to do it as a they supporting them.

One of my Dream is to go to japan because it was a good place and i heared that their places is always clean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly Yung mga japanese workers dito ay mostly mga matatanda na, super konti lang ng mga japanese na kasing edad natin or 20-30+ na trabahante. Grabi ka workaholic nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's what I like about the Japanese people. They are ever courteous and polite and respect each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you been to Japan kuya? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have friends from Japan. And yes, indeed they are very polite in nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are friendly and approachable too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe you went there 2 hours early!! Kahit siguro ako yung senior dun magugulat sa pag dating niyo. Haha. Question, have you ever got the chance of interacting with the Japanese people? Like having a conversation with them outside of work topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam mo na, basta first day sa work super aga HAHAHAH and speaking of japanese peeps, yup yup, I had friends at grabi yung sense of humor nila HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People won't like those who are strict but make friends immediately with the friendly and nice one. I wish to work in an hotel someday and see how life is working there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working in a hotel is an amazing job, you get to encounter different people with different races, you'll get to learn their culture too which is awesome 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ih Japan, my promise land 😍 I hope I could get there somewhere. I saved your article for future reference hehe 😁 I've saved enough for my travels when this pandemic ends 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magkita Kita nalang tayo don sa Japan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pakibitbit na lang ako Ms. Jinifer hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din sa Japan, sis. Naudlot sana yung travel ko ng 2019. Tara pasyal tayo hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag nag Japan ka ate sama ako, baka kasya ako sa maleta mo HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a coincidence friend. My roommie right here also happened to have her OJT at Japan a few years back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really??? Sanaol naka work sa Japan 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago