Western Schools of Philosophy: REALISM

16 68
Avatar for Jim
Written by
3 years ago

Proponent/ Philosopher

Aristotle

Comenius

Source: https://coffeeshopthinking.wordpress.com/2013/10/04/john-comenius-philosophy-of-education/

Assumption

Experiences are influenced by the external world which has real existence.

Role of Teacher

The teacher must have knowledge of the subject matter and nature of the child. He must know their needs. He must also be conversant with the scientific and psychological methods and techniques of teaching. He must present the objects and activities before the child in their actual form.

Models /Strategies

  • Realism gives more emphasis to sense training. Lominius emphasized the importance of sense training in education.

  • Milton emphasized the importance of traveling in education.

  • Locke emphasized the importance of observation and experimentation.

  • Inductive – Deductive method is also advocated by them.

Educational Aims

  • Preparing the child for a happy and successful life

  • Preparing the child for a real-life

  • Developing the physical and mental powers of a child

  • Developing and Training of senses

  • Acquitting the child with nature and social environment

  • Imparting vocational education

Curriculum Emphasis

  • Nature study, physical sciences, and vocational training are given primary importance in the scheme of the curriculum of realism.

  • Comenius divided the educational period of the child into 4 stages and suggested curriculum and textbooks for each stage.

https://read.cash/@Jim/sponsorships-ba372684

I would like to dedicate this article to @eL-Yen and @Katlinfinity who are newbies in the platform. Their works are really worth reading. I suggest that you subscribe to them to get updated.

I also like to thank my sponsors as they continue to inspire me to publish more articles. @Lawrence @tsakf @dexter @scottcbusiness @Ching13 and @Secure

If you want to read about the other western philosophies, you can click the links below:

IDEALISM  https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-idealism-ee6a5654

PRAGMATISM https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-pragmatism-28bb0485

NATURALISM https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-naturalism-e419b6b1

Thank you also to @Sydney @Saha99saha @Sizan200 @Danny2000 @Althea @Yayaya13 @eve for giving good feedback in my previous articles. You are my motivation for publishing these articles about the "Western Schools of Philosophy."

I would appreciate it if you leave your comments below.

12
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jim
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Philosophy is really an interesting subject. It makes you think beyond what you always do. I'm happy that you are sharing this stuff to us. 💞 Missing my SHS days

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope you get to remember them even when you are not a student anymore. These philosophies could also be your guide and can help you come up with your own beliefs in life especially in education. You can read more about the other which I previously published here: IDEALISM https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-idealism-ee6a5654

PRAGMATISM https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-pragmatism-28bb0485

NATURALISM https://read.cash/@Jim/western-schools-of-philosophy-naturalism-e419b6b1

I would appreciate if you leave also your insights:)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Can't promise that. Especially when you're already preparing for your profession. Your focus would only circulate to this and that. But as long as we have you to remind us from time to time, then surely this is win-win

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can always go back to these articles I have if you wish to go back. Thanks a lot for giving such good feedback.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

No, thank you. If not for you I won't be reminded by this philosophies. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks a lot for supporting me here. You motivate me to write more.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

My pleasure.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brings back my seniorhigh days❤ thank you for sharing this to us❤ this is indeed helpful especially to those who study philosophy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not only philosophy but particularly those who are in the field of education. This could serve as their guide in making their own policies. I hope you continue reading my articles. God bless and stay safe! :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Ofcourse dear❤ Godbless you too😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

I have not so much knowledge about these "Western School". But when I read your first article which is related with this, I really interested to know something more about this. Please continue your writing of this topic. I'm very interesed for learn something new.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am just finished writing all of them. I hope you had a great time reading them.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

I read all of them and I knew many new and interesting thing from your article. Keep writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is very informative. Refreshed my mind back in college. Keep up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Can you summarize the article in your own words? I would love to read a short version from you :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago