My Favorite Filipino Desserts!

12 30
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Are you also craving something sweet after a heavy meal? I am a person who has a sweet tooth. Frankly, sugar is a big no to my diet because as a family, we have a disease history of breast cancer, diabetes, etc. I am trying to be healthy as possible. I am not a sweet tooth but I cannot release taking a spoonful of dessert in my mouth. But do not worry, I try to balance my diet.

In today's article, I will be mentioning my five Filipino desserts! I will briefly narrate why I love them. I will try to describe how it tastes to our fellow foreign friends here.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

One day I will be a Sponsor. I am just waiting for a certain number of subbies!

By the way, I reached 1000 views already!!! A milestone for me!

1) Leche Flan

Image from Unsplash

I mentioned in an article before that we have a little egg farm. Not days are always a good day. We also incur bad eggs such as in bad shape, broken, any eggs that do not pass the quality measures. For this eggs to not go to waste, especially broken eggs, we make leche flans.

The ingredients are just eggs, sugar, evaporated milk, and condensed milk. You just separate the whites from the yolk. Set aside the white because it will not be used but for us, we make meringue. Back to the leche flan, we just mix the kinds of milk and the yolk. In the tin, put the sugar and caramelize it. Let it harden. And then, pour the mixture to the thin. Let it steam until it is giggly. Yum!

2) Mais Con Yelo

Image Source: https://pilipinasrecipes.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/How-to-make-Mais-Con-Yelo.jpg

Our countries are influenced by many cultures. The Philippines is a mix of cultures and so is our food. Mais means corn, yelo means ice. So basically it is a mixture of ice, milk, and corn. It can be drizzled with sugar or corn flakes for decoration. Best to eat when the weather is scorching hot. I cannot remember the last time I ate this. This is definitely my childhood.

3) Kutsina

Image Source: https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/proxy/xufGs-JEN8li4TOwjtRl3Deho8AM1Iid-82ZMWWhEs9F_gH_T_uFGFW4c3lCaAeCo1K9lmf2cSRhY4tTnQMAvxlSQ2bsy-ePlhxnYXTJsUuErFNOfNeG-FbLk1yXA6k2_w

This delicacy is made of glutinous rice flour, brown sugar, and coconut. I like the texture in my mouth. Very chewy and bouncy. I like it when it has a lot of shaved coconut on top. Reminds me of when I was in elementary I always buy this outside of our school gate. Best to be partnered with coffee or tea while raining. Ahhh... perfect day with kutsina.

4) Buchi

Image from Unsplash

I believe this dessert is Chinese influenced. A few days ago, this is my snack with green tea. I always buy this in Chowking, a famous Chinese fast food restaurant in the Philippines. It is a ball of sweets covered in toasted sesame seed. It is a filling food so I better not eat too much during snack time because I might not eat at dinner. We attempted to make this but failed.

5) Banana cue

Image Source: https://sweetsimplevegan.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/03/filipino-Banana-Cue-sweet-simple-vegan.jpg

One of the easiest desserts to make. We sometimes have too many bananas because our country is tropical. It is natural for bananas to just grow abundantly in this land. For these bananas to not go to waste, we turn them into a dessert. It is just sugar and oil. Coat the banana with sugar and then deep fry it in hot oil. It is not healthy but hey, very delicious and filling.

Final Thoughts

We have all the chance to eat dessert but we should always be reminded that we should also take care of our health. Too much sugar can make you sick. It is hard to be sick these days especially that the hospitals are always full. So, it is better to eat healthy and balanced.

I am grateful that we Filipinos are blessed with many delicious desserts. I would love for these desserts to be known around the globe. I believe that our desserts are globally competitive and will not disappoint the world. Take care and stay safe, guys!

Cheers - Jijisaur.

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

❤️ Building My Brand For The First Time https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/building-my-brand-for-the-first-time-8d6db5a1

❤️ Philippine Mythical Creatures https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/philippine-mythical-creatures-1d329f76

❤️ Stories About Things https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/stories-about-things-28367c41

5
$ 2.29
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Tamia
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Best po para sakin yung kutsinta at banan cue, nakakatakam sobra. Newbie here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy congrats for reaching 1000 views frenny!! Nabasa ko to ngayon 10:34 pm bigla ako nagcrave sa mga images haha. Lalo yung banana q, mais con yelo at kutsinta na may napakaraming kinayod na niyog. Sakto mamalengke pa naman kami bukas, bibili talaga ako nyang kutsinta 😁.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po! 😊 Haha ansarap niyan for sure! Enjoy your day po. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainis naalala ko yung turon na binili ng tatay ko kahapon. Walang asukal, lumpiang saging ang labas hahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha kemalas naman dear, pero at least may lumpiang saging pa rin hehe! Stay safe sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat marasap sis. Lahat kakainin ko talaga.🤤🥰 Yung mais con yelo talaga gusto ko.🥰 Ang sarap niyan tyaka yung kutsinta tagal ko ng di nakakain. Sa Cebu pa ako lagi kami kumakain ng banana cue.❤️🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

San ka sa Cebu, dear? Pumunta ako dun sati nagtour heheh. Ang daming seafood na masasarap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa malapit fuente sis then nag stay din ako sa Manadaue sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pudding is also my fav. All the desserts look so yummy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, best when you just had a savory meal. It balances it all. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best for me is a leche plan,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too! Can't resist that smooth leche flan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago