Philippine Mythical Creatures

19 49
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Pssst...Have you ever experienced or encountered mythical creatures or ghosts? These are the creatures that spook out children when they do not want to sleep. Are they really real? Do they really exist? Well, who knows.

In this article, I will list my top five favorite Philippine mythical creatures. Not really my favorite but like the ones that I have interested in. Let's begin!

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

1) Chanak (baby monster)

Image Source: https://static.wikia.nocookie.net/boogeymen/images/e/e4/Tiyanak.png/revision/latest?cb=20130412194330

It reminds me of the '80s and '90s horror movies. This creature is in a form of an ugly infant. They are fed with human flesh and inwards. They have scary eyes and sharp teeth. I am interested in this creature because I saw this in the Netflix film, Trese. If you ever hear a baby crying, double-check it because it might be a chanak. Yikes! Hahaha. Just kidding.

2) White Lady (lady ghost)

Image Source: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fnextshark.com%2Fwhite-lady-ghost-filipino-culture%2F&psig=AOvVaw3sWm8qenlUORTyYDkutZ6q&ust=1636540465429000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAsQjRxqFwoTCOCa5MGKi_QCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

This is the all-time favorite of us Filipinos. Many stories and films are based on this creature. I have a story to share. I do not know if it's true because the person is under in an alcohol influence.

Our uncle was having a drinking session near the cemetery. Naturally, after the session, he will go home. On the way home, he passed the cemetery. He saw a girl with long hair in a white dress. The weird thing is she was floating and her dress is swaying. He ran very fast, as fast as he could. He was not sure if it was real or just under the magic of alcohol.

3) Diwata (equivalent to fairies)

Image Source: https://www.aswangproject.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/2511350564_333f6c3067_z.jpg

They are like fairies, a beautiful lady who lives in the deep forest. They are the guardian of nature. It reminds me of the movie Princess Mononoke. It is a Ghibli film. The guardians are not like diwata though. They are little people and create a sound when they move. Also, there is an episode on KMJS about this creature that invites humans to their world. The people would then go back to the real world from a portal deep in the forest.

4) Dwende (equivalent to dwarves)

Source: https://images.summitmedia-digital.com/esquiremagph/images/2021/06/14/9-29720210614.jpg

Dwende can be totally generous or mean to you, just do not piss them off. They live in little dunes. Our auntie had once a story about dwendes. They have a neighbor that allegedly has a dwende as pet. This dwende gifted the neighbor with money, chicken, etc. I asked her where did the money come from. She told me that it just sprouted from the little hills. One day the dwende gave grains of rice to the neighbor. The neighbor then gave the grains to her friends and family because they believe that it is swerte (good luck).

5) Aswang

Image Source: https://i.pinimg.com/564x/fc/fa/a1/fcfaa1bc5792d903e9ab54af0e0e62d8.jpg

During the day, this creature is perfect as the likes of humans. They often go from town to town. In the night, they can change their appearance to a cow, dow, cat, whichever they like. They eat and drink human flesh and blood. Aswangs are popular in the southern part of the Philippines like Leyte and Siquijor.

Final Thoughts

I am a person who finds science and logic behind things. I do not really believe in these creatures but hey, it tickles my brain. Maybe if I saw one with my own eyes, I will believe it. I grew up in a household that finds an explanation in every situation. I do believe that there is a God, of course! I am not a religious person, though. I believe that there are other creatures in this universe. Do you have a story to share too?

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

❤️ Stories About Things https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/stories-about-things-28367c41

❤️ When Was The Last Time I Did It? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/when-was-the-last-time-i-did-it-db07e63d

❤️ Answering Fun Questions! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/answering-fun-questions-995d6744

10
$ 3.50
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @IamAshrone
$ 0.03 from @Sequoia
+ 5
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Ewan pero gusto ko makakita ng diwata sis. Sana lamg talaga maamo yung utsura nila nu? Yung tiyanak yung pinaka kinatatakutan ko sis talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako rin sis pero yung mabait na diwata like tinker bell hehe. Yung tyanal sis kakatakot yung tatalon na lang sa yo huhu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weather we believe or not to this creatures existence we can't deny that we are living in a world full of mysteries. I just don't want to encounter anyone of them lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very much agree. Hoping too not to encounter any of these creatures.😂 I might passed out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to see a fairy so bad! They must be so cool! living in a harmony with nature and dancing and singing around the forest. The other creatures you talked about... they would haunt me in my dreams, so no, I would not like to see them. :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't believe in these creatures. I believe they exist but we can't see them with our naked eyes. Well! I don't have any experience with them, Haha, I just know them in books and in movies.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. I find logic in everything. But I do not like to ever encounter one lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ghosts or mystical creatures do exist and I believe that they are demons, they live side by side with us but we humans cannot see them. In the teachings of my belief that, God also ordained that they exist. I also often look for information about this from various sources and it is true what you share they have different characteristics.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, very scary. I think they are fallen angels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, very true what you say. thank you friend for this gift of yours, thank you very much. may you always be blessed in your endeavors and work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my yung aswang talaga sis. Nung una di talaga ako naniwala sa aswang kasi akala ko nun gawa-gawa lang na kwento. Until pumunta kami ng Iloilo sa lugar ng papa ko.

Doon na talaga ako naniwala na totoo talaga yung aswang. Narinig ko pa ano huni nila at paano sila tumapak sa bubong. Grabe nakakatakot, buntis pa yun tita ko nun...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nacucurious talaga ako sa mga aswang. Baka fallen angels sila. Buti ok tita mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ganun sis. Yan din narinig ko. Oo sis nung time na yun sobrang sakit ng tiyan niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Side ng mama ko capiz ang province, the aswang capital of the philippines hehe. Talagang sila mismo ang nagkekwento sa amin nung mga karanasan nila noon sa bagat at tiktik. Pero sa lahat ng nabanggit sa taas, tyanak talaga medyo takot ako kahit noon pa, epekto nung movie na napanuod ko noon na di ko na maalala kaya ayun hanggang ngayon medyo takot ako sa mga sanggol 😅, pero pag mga 5 months old pataas di naman na haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Baka bigla kang kagatin ng chanak habang buhat mo siya 👶

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have encountered white lady twice na ata. Yung isa dun is nakatingin pa talaga sa akin kaya napatakbo ako nang Wala sa oras. Tapos may mga circumstances rin nararamdaman akong kakaiba in my surroundings pero deadma na lang din hah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hala 😭🥶 buti hindi sila nananakit. Nakakatakot naman po. Deadma is the key haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have personally experienced white lady and it is terrifying. As for the dwendes my late aunt experienced it tinapik siya sa hita namaga tapos pinatawas yung nga daw dwende nagalay pa kami then baby cologne gamot. My dad also experienced dwendes when he was a kid.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Scary dear. Ayoko na tuloy maka encounter gabi pa naman huhu. Bukas na lang ng tanghali hahaha. Stay safe po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago