I Want To Move Out But...

23 78
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Living, House, Moveout

In the Philippines, it is normal to live with your immediate family before getting married. It is the opposite in Western countries that when you hit 18, you need to find your own place. For example, if you will get married at the age of 35, you will still live with your parents.

Now, the culture in the Philippines is slowly getting loose. We are now open to moving out with partners or living alone.

I myself thought of moving out but I have some things that I do not like to let go of or I am not comfortable with when I move out.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

In this article, I will be mentioning some reasons why I like to move out of the house but I always have feelings of stopping me.

Here are some reasons:

1) I will be missing the "home" feels.

I am always away with my parents but with my sisters when I was studying. I always feel at home when I am with my family. They are my comfort. When there is a problem in our house, we can help each other out. I am scared that when I move out, no one will help me to fix the pipes or unclog the sink. These small problems are easy to fix but the thought of getting no immediate help is what I think of.

2) No home-cooked meals.

Food is life! I always craved a home-cooked meal. There is no food compared with it. My favorite home-cooked meal is the pinakbet of my mom. We are from the south so, our pinakbet is very authentic.

Pinakbet is a bowl of vegetables such as okra, squash, tomato, eggplant, etc. and it is drizzled with bagoong. I do not know the exact ingredients but I promise you that it is super delicious.

I like mine to be very tomato -ish and have lots of squash. I always asked for a second bowl of rice. Best to eat while it is hot. Also, pair it with fried fish!

3) I will responsible for cleaning my own space.

Since I am alone if ever I will move out, no one is going to clean my mess or no one will help me with the chores. If I am with my family, we clean together. We divide the household chores evenly so that no one will complain.

I really like a neat house. I do not like a dusty house. We always clean the house because a clean house will protect us from sickness. It is better to have a sanitary space to prevent germs rather than getting sick and spending lots of money on hospitalization.

Do you also divide your house chores with your family?

4) I will pay all my bills.

Our rule in our family is that, once you decided to have your own space, you should not be asking for money anymore. It is your choice so you have to do it on your own. This is what I am scared of, haha! I am very kuripot or in English, thrifty. They say that Ilocanos, like me, are very thrifty. My say to that is, we save because we prepare for the future. It is often seen as being selfish. It was never selfish to put yourself first. Being kuripot does not equate to being selfish. At the first place, people who are saying that Ilocanos are selfish should have saved up so that they will not ask for money. Money is given not asked.

5) I want to spend more with my parents.

My parents are almost senior citizens. They are not getting any younger. As much as possible I want to spend time with them. I want to eat with them together, watch Netflix together, share stories together. I am very happy that my parents are always supportive of everything we do as siblings. Though there are times that we argue because that is what a family is. At the end of the day, we forgive each other. There is no one else to look and care for each other but ourselves.

Final Thoughts

I can say that I can support myself living alone. I can that financially, I am capable of moving out, but mentally and emotionally, something is pulling me back home.

There are advantages and disadvantages to living alone. I just have to look at what is worth it. I see some of my friends are living alone because they want privacy and do not want to be a burden to the family. I am lucky that my parents have never kicked me out of the house haha! They are very understandable.

That is it for today. Thank you for reading!

Images from Unsplash, Banner edited in Canva

My other articles:

🍄 A Month To My NFT Journey https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/a-month-to-my-nft-journey-1749748e

🍄 Jijisaur's Learning Journey -Blog #13 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-blog-13-5cdd0104

🍄 Another Hobby! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/another-hobby-ef7e5e5c

9
$ 3.26
$ 3.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @keeneek
+ 2
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago
Topics: Home, Living, House, Moveout

Comments

I am not agree with you .... leaving our home,our parents isn't a joke.... everybody' has problems but we have to deal with it and find the answers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not moving out because I am leaving my parents. I am moving out because I want to be independent because I know one day, I have to be away from home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will always be homesick. I've been away since 2019, and nung lockdown, iyak lang ako ng iyak. Ayaw ko rin tinatawagan kasi mas lalo akong umiiyak. Kahit sa aso ko nga na nagvvcall, umiiyak na ako.

Pero dahil sa pagiging independent, I can say nagmature ako. Yun din naman reason ko bakit ako nagdecide maging independent, though it came naturally lang man din. Kasi pumunta ako sa Cebu para sa review and board exam. Pero naabutan ng pandemic eh. Dec last year lang ako nakauwi. Hoho.

And totoo yang sa food. Lahat ng makainan ko, kinocompare ko sa luto ng mama ko. Cook kasi siya tapos may eatery kami. Kaya noong umuwi ako, walang diet2. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, sobrang miss mo siguro luto ng mama mo hehe. I admire your courage sis. Mahirap talaga mawalay sa fam kasi nakakmiss naman talaga hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try it getting out of your comfort zone, sis. You wouldn't know what is like to live independently if you wouldn't try. Been there. It's worth it. Goodluck, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po for the encouragement. I know I will one day. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me who's always feeling homesick, some of those mentioned are fine with me even if I'm separated from my parent or not. It's part of growing up and being a responsible person even for your finances and own space. But sometimes it doesn't matter if we miss cleaning because of other work than home organizing. I mean it's okay to be messy sometimes and never mind others' expectations in your own space as long as you are happy and minding your health while having an income. But both have pros and cons. My experience in living from afar is that they know me by name but little by little they forget who am I as a person. Provision is an endless responsibility, it doesn't matter how you get the money as long as you give. Sometimes giving more still feels like its never enough. While now that I came home, my body is more exhausted by the act of service, I'm not complaining. In fact I prayed for so long for me to come back home but now that I'm here its like my body is already buried in the ground because of still the so called "responsibilities". I guess I have to deal with them and find my own time for things that I love doing and crawling to success as long as I'm making small effort to get there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very well said, sis! Life is always changing. We should knowhow to be independent because we are not forever with our parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, we can value them while winning our personal battles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what I'm preparing myself because I can feel that I'm close to moving out na. But just like you, these things are also bothering me, especially that I am a type of person who's really namamahay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are in the same mindset. At my age, iniisip ko na rin mga bagay na ganyan, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to move out from our home but I can't leave my family behind eh. Sometimes, I wanted to just escape and live my own life sis. I am so tired with the responsibilities that's been put on my shoulder. Gusto ko mag explore and find myself through leaving alone. Because I want to grow as a person. Pero di ko magawa kasi walng mag susupport sa kanila. I mean, bat parang pasan ko ang lahat :( Napa drama namn ako agad hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, I am so sorry to know that sis :(. Alam ko yung feeling na iaasa sayo lahat. Naexperience ko yan pag mga group projects sa school. Thankfully, napaka understanding ng parents ko. Carry on, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For married you need to move out .Mas iba kasi may sarili kang bahay, magagawa mo.lahat ng gusto mo at challenge din sa couple panu magsumikap sa mga bills and needs niyo .Panu niyo makokontrol ang stwasyon at maayos and mg problema na kayo2x lang .Pero pag single naman why rush db? Iba din kasi talaga page anjan mama at papa mo na gagabay sayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All you said is true. We need to be independent when we have our own family already. We need to stand on your own feet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung may pamilya na kasi sis mas okay talaga mag separate na ,pero kung single kapa mahirap talaga iwan yung una is parents natin. Pero kapag bumukod kana talagang magiging independent ka sa lahat ng bagay dahil alam mong wala kang ibang maaasahan kundi sarili mo lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes,d arating rin na magkakafamily tayo at dapat mawalay sa parents para maging independent. It is a respect na din sa future husband ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

one of the reason talaga sis yung Parents natin, ayaw nating mawalay sa kanila, lalo na pag family bonding, pero minsan kailangan talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, dear, may time rin na kailanga natin lumayo sa parents kasi di naman forever na nakadikit tayo sa kanila. Happy weekend sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

first time ko nag work sa cebu, super na miss ko si mama, sobrang pasaway ako sa kanya, tapos nung nag work nako,she always makes tawag, asking if ok lang ba ako, at before she said goodbye lagi nya sinasabi sakin "Iloveyou anak, take care always" never talaga ako nag sabi ng "iloveyou" sa kanya nung kasama ko pa siya sa bahay, I did not expect yun kasi lagi kami nagaaway, tsaka mo lang talaga ma rerealize kapag malayo kana sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda naman Yung reasons mo sis Lalo na Yung last part na you want to spend more time with your parents. Yan di ko nagawa dahil ang aga Kong nagtrabaho at the age of 16 lumayo na ako sa kanila. Ang aga ko rin ngkaanak at wala pang asawa. Kaya Tama yan sis spend more time with your parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis. I really want to be with them as long as I can. I might regret it later pag maaga ako nagsarili ng bahay. Thanks for the advice sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

walang anuman sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago