How Do I Prepare Before No Electricity?

14 38
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Hello, guys. A lot of articles are about the storm Odette. The storm bought so much damage to our properties and to our mentality. The storm is so strong that it can travel 80 mph. That is such a strong wind.

Up until this time, some of our kababayans are struggling to be back at their proper state. I pray that they will recover very soon. No one is left so let's help each other by either material things or just for moral supports.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

We experience no electricity for 24 hours too. I made an article about my experience about it. You can read teh article here https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/no-electricity-for-24-hours-593399eb It is my first time that I experienced it. How much more if we do not have it for a week? So, kudos to people who remain strong through tough times.

Because of that incident, if I feel that the weather is not good, this is the things that I do to prepare for no electricity.

1) Charge my phone, and two powerbanks

Yes, I have two powerbanks. The 10,000 mah brand is Romoss. I bought it on Lazada 5 years ago if I am not mistaken. I bought it during sale. I forgot at this point of how much it costs. I believe I got it on discount. The other one is a 5,000 mah which is a free item when I bought my Huawei phone. It has a double charging port. One for type C and one for type micro B. Most of my sister's gadgets are type micro B so it suits well for us. I charge these over night. It is safe because it has a technology to protect it from overcharge and overheat.

2) Charge my rechargeable fan+light

Image Source:https://cf.shopee.ph/file/6854a9076dc46432d9f89879253890f1

I bought this rechargeable fan+light during the sale on Lazada. I just got it for PHP600 or around USD 12. I have this since 2019. I can say that it very sturdy and very reliable. The light and fan has two options, high and low. It has a charging port for cellphones, and electric gadgets that has a USB port charging. It has also port for a car-type plug. The light and fan can be up to 6 hours. The bad side only is you have to charge this for 20 hours. In my experience, I only charge this for 8 hours max. I only use the fan and light in low mode and it can be used up to 5 hours for an 8 hour charge.

3) Fill our big bucket of water

Image source: https://sc04.alicdn.com/kf/HLB1rVgQUxjaK1RjSZKzq6xVwXXaj.jpg

In the province, if we do not have electricity, we do not have water as well. Unlike in the cities, the water is pumped using electricity. So, it is really a bummer when there is no electricity. What we do is we fill up these kinds of containers for us to have water when there is no electricity. We use the water for washing plates and taking a bath, and flushing. We just limit the use of water during these times. If have a poso or a manual pump but it is too far from our house. It is hard to fetch during storm because the road is very rocky. So as much as possible, we stock water before the storm.

4) Clean the water drainage/canals

Image source: https://www.columbiaprecastproducts.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/road-drainage-solutions-columbia-precast-products.jpg

Actually, it is my father that check the canal or water drainage before there is a storm. The canals are sometimes have many leaves on it. It is inevitable for it not to be clogged by things such as twigs, plastics, muds, and sometimes dead rat. It is important that we have a clear passage of water so that our place will not be flooded. The water can damage some of our things. Also, it can have a bad smell because of the things that are stuck in to it. In our municipality, the drainage are not that good. I am so pissed off the mayor because he does not care at all. He always do road but not having a care to the water system of our town. Ugh, when will the Philippines have a good leader.

5) Buy food in case of emergency

Image sourcehttps://survival-mastery.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/72-hour.jpg

We mostly prepare canned goods, biscuits, instant noodles, and rice if ever there is a big storm coming. It is hard to find food when the road is unpassable. We also have water in big gallons stored. Although there are rations given by the local municipality, I do not like to be dependent to them because it might not reach us or the rations might ran out. We always have canned goods in the house all the time. I prefer the canned goods that do not need cooking or just need reheating it. It is easier in that way that in case we ran out of gas, we still can eat it. Also, instant noodles are good to warm us up during the cold storm.

Final Thoughts

It is really hard to be positive whenever there is a storm that hit us badly. The storm cause a big damage to people especially from the south. I am hoping that he government are doing there best food forward to help people who are devastated to start over again. I am lucky that I am safe in my home and has a roof right now. I do not want to take things for granted at this point. So, guys, let's always be kind to one another because we do not know what others are going through.

Thank you for reading my article!

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

🎄Random Questions (#4 Is My Insecurity) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/random-questions-4-is-my-insecurity-b54011e6

🎄Why I Plan Living (Forever?) On The Countryside? https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/why-i-plan-living-forever-on-the-countryside-88a8fdbf

🎄My Christmas Well Spent! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-christmas-well-spent-375c805c

11
$ 3.13
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 3
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

You have got some plans that are really necessary for calamities. Nice work! And of course, keep safe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po! Yes, super prepared dapat para hindi nagsisi sa huli hehe. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true.. kelangan tlga prepared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every one lived before electricity and have a happy life,we would got a good moment that we feel a right times of feeling by electricity and now if would be gone for a day my first thing is to got charge my phone as like you😅 and then shower myself early as i can from other family members 😅 or in hostel from friends and then took a restful life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag may calamities talaga is dapat maging ready tayo gaya ng mga nabanggit mo sis , mag pundo ng tubig , mamili ng mga ready to eat na pagkain pero hindi lahat nakapamili gawa ng kawalan din ng budget so struggle talaga sa mga mahihirap kapag may mga ganitong sakuna.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama po. Kaya po yung gobyerno natin sana mag setup talaga pag may calamities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well, natural calamities are something which cannot be avoided but with proper planning and organisations we can minimise the devastating effect and in this concern India has been so leading recently I guess there needs to be some bilateral or multilateral talks among countries which are most prone to these calamities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prepare talaga dalat ate, lalo na kung may araw pa kasi, madilim na pag gabi. Praying 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Preparing for the up coming calamities is one of the best and important thing to do. Just like what you've done ma'am. We doesn't even know what will happen but still we need to be well prepared and alert. Praying that all the damages will be fix and you can recover from the typhoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly in this country that we experience a lot of typhoon. Being prepared is the first step to prevent damages. I hope you're safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing that you already prepared something before the calamity strike. But it's still devastating to see the damage have done by the Typhoon🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po e, sobrang sad na andaming nadamage ng bagyong Odette. Pero laban lang dapat lagi tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of it are important sis. We should be alert when there is a typhoon will coming. We should all prepare the important things to be needed like what you've mention above sis. It's really important.

The foods must be prepare always since it's the key of surviving then the water, we should maintain hydrated. Yes sis the power banks, then flashlights and clothes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow good to know sis that you were prepared in times of calamities will come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago