Why I Plan Living (Forever?) On The Countryside?

24 40
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

I have been in the province for the past 2 years since the pandemic started. Yes, I am not comfortable at first because since I was in high school, I am living in the city already. Half of my life - teenage years to adult, I lived in Manila, the capital of the Philippines. The city is fast-phased. If you are too slow, you will be left out.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, dear sponsors! Special shoutout for @Cassandra143 !

I do not like or hate the province. In fact, I am so used to cities that when I am in the province I forgot that there is no Grabfood or nearby fast-food restaurant. I have to adjust. Eventually, I am more decided that when I get older, I want to retire in the province. So, here is my list why I like to live in the country side.

1) Cheaper commodities

Image from Unsplash

Yes, groceries and fresh commodities are cheaper here because some of the goods are produced locally. Some of the commodities like rice and corn are lower in price compared to the cities. I do not know now if it is still affordable because there is an issue regarding the government not giving support to our farmers, which affects the prices of it. I do hope that they will resolve it if ever it is true. The fishes are cheaper too because we are just one kilometer from the sea. Sometimes, ladies and wives of the fishermen roam around the town to sell fishes. We bought some to help them. Let's support local!

2) Healthier options

Image from Unsplash

In the province, you can live without not so much money because fruits and veggies are easy to find but you have to be hardworking. The trees of mangoes, bananas, pomelo, etc are just scattered around. You can just pick fruits in the backyard. For me, instead of eating junk foods or instant noodles, I sometimes opted to fruits. I will then prepare some dips to partner it. We have mangoes in our backyard and bananas planted by my father. I do not think they are in season now though.

3) Fresh air

Image from Unsplash

I always experience air pollution in the cities specially in Manila. It is because there are so much cars and trucks that passes the city. Also, the cars causes traffics. We do not have new roads but number of cars are rising. I hope the government will have a solution on this matter. On the hand, the province has lesser cars and had more trees to absorb the pollution. The province does not have big factories for industrial activities which is why it has fresher air compared to the cities. Ahhh, I can jog here everyday in the morning breathing the fresh air. I just have to be watchful of the dogs of the neighbors haha!

4) Lesser sound pollution

Image from Unsplash

They say the city never sleeps! Well, partly true! In the city, you can always hear noises outside your house. There are rallies, honking cars and trucks, random Marites, etc. There is no quiet time. There will be always people in the streets. The restaurants are always full of people chit-chatting. Sometimes, when I was in the city I was imagining that I am in a forest where I can just hear the chirps of the birds and crickets and the air swinging the bamboo, and now I am here! Ahhh! The serenity and solitude feeling is the best feeling in the world.

5) I can save more money!

Image from Unsplash

Number five is in connection with number one. I can save money here because the goods are cheaper and the electric bill is lesser too. Of course, the wage here is lesser in the city that's why you have to budget things out. Fun fact, in our province we only pay electricity because our water is pumped through electricity. Our electricity is around PHP 9,000 or around USD190. We are 6 in the house by the way. When I was in the city we are only 4 in the household and we pay PHP10,000 or around USD200. Also, in the countryside, there are temptations to go to the mall because we do not have one here. There are no Grabfood and samgyup place here, which my money is spent when I was in the city.

Final Thoughts

These are just few of the reasons that I can think of right now why I like to move and live here when I get old. This is not true to everyone though, and this is just my opinion and basing it on my experience. Maybe I am tired of the busy city. Maybe when you get old you just want to be in peace, away from the chaos. Of course, there are some disadvantages too! Hmmm, maybe I will be making an article about it next time tee-hee!

Thank you for reading my article!

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

πŸŽ„My Christmas Well Spent! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-christmas-well-spent-375c805c

πŸŽ„C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S-!Β https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/c-h-r-i-s-t-m-a-s-7a7b5776

πŸŽ„I Want To Be A Fur-parent But...Β https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-want-to-be-a-fur-parent-but-7116d60a

10
$ 4.57
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 2
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

As someone who grew up in the province, I can tell that province life is way better than city life. I also tried living in city, but it always feels different

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same feelings sis. I will always go nsck to my province. Very peaceful and the goods are cheaper compared to the city.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jiji that sounds fantastic. I mean, I live in a small town but not quite the countryside, here you still feel the crazyness of the city but in a small proportion. I would like to be able to pick my fruits and veggies, sit in my porch at night enjoying fresh air and looking at the clear sky. Wonderland!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, yeah! That is exactly what's in my mind. I just want to be away from the chaos of the city. I want a peaceful surroundings πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

also, everyone is your friend in the country side. There's hardly any jeakosy or arrogance as everyone is living a simple and decent life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Countryside are so much better than the cities. I wish I could also live in rural area. I wish your dreams can come true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That mention above is also my reason why I build a house in the province since we have land in the province so now still in a process of constructing my little Bahay Kubo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, sana ol may lupa hehe. Oo sis, iba talaga sa province nakakatanggap ng stress. Bukod pa dun, mas mura talaga bilhin dun. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe kakaramput na lupa, sa family ng partner ko sis ang lupa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our province is so nice to live because you can saved money. I don't wish to live in city because the fact is to expensive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also prefer to live in the province rather than here in Manila since the province is peaceful and stress-free, I am too exhausted here in manila since every action equals money, you can't live here if you have no money. Another thing is the prices of goods and services here are too high that people can't afford.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga e, kada galaw mo may babayaran ka sa city. Naexperience ko na rin yan nung nagwork ako as a corporate woman. Pero plan ko talaga dito sa province mag retire hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Things are way cheaper over there and also no pollution and most importantly there's no need for too much security because it is safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

actually this day, more and more people choose to live in simple way inside the farm, me too I wanted to stays in my own backyard farm rather than the city, but still siguro need din talagang sa city muna habang nag aantay hehe. nice I liked it talagang mas maganda sa countryside rather city proper.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, mas maraming opportunity sa city dahil andun lahat ng malalaking businesses at commerce. Ipon ipon muna sa city tapos retire sa province hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Jijisaur! Do you remember me? I am Sydney from noisecash. It's nice to meet you here again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, hi, Sydney! Yes, I remember you because of your bio hehe. I know you're not from Australia! Nice meeting you again! I think you have a new account. right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're same jiji! As I experience the life in the city was so much pressure in my surroundings. When I was young I love to live in the city but as I growing like in this stage. Oh come on I don't want to live where the place full of toxicity especially pollution. Province is life and province is pureπŸ’›πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yehey, apir! we have the same mentality! As we grow older, we want peace and serenity. Toxic, please get out! Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha πŸ™Œ yes sis! Live life peacefully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i wanna retire near the beach... para fresh air, fresh seafood .. at sana magka fresh mind din hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya nun pag every day nasa beach. Parang may nabasa ako na study na if you live near the waters parang yung negative ions nun napapasa sa katawan, which in turn mas madami happy hormones. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep... kaya mas gusto ko sa beach... actually ever since gusto ko talaga sa beach ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my dear, you are right. The atmosphere of the countryside is beautiful, the air is pure and its nature is wonderful

$ 0.00
2 years ago