No Electricity For 24 Hours

9 35
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Hi, read.cash fam! How was your weekend so far?

Mine was a bit rough because there was a superstorm in our region. The superstorm is named "Maring".

There is news of flash floods, strong winds, broken bridges, etc. It was an eye-opener for some of us because I never experienced a flood in our community before.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

My biggest thank you to my sponsors!

10/11/2021.

It was Monday morning that we noticed that the wind is picking up. We heard the news that there is a super storm coming towards our area. We are currently in Northern Luzon. We charged our batteries and packed some emergency stuff in case we have to evacuate. We are waiting for announcements at this point.

12:00 PM. At noon, it started to rain very hard. The canal is quickly filled with rainwater. In our 20 years of living here, this is the first time that our family experienced such a flood in our community.

We heard that the mayor is doing mining near the town that disrupts the water system. What kind of official is he? In the Philippines, there will always be an issue of misuse of power. I never liked our mayor.

5:00 PM, the current was shut down. Good thing my batteries and power banks are full. We also have the solar-powered lights in case the current will be gone until tonight.

The lights went on again for an hour. I thought it will never be off but it did. I have not yet taken a shower at that point yet. Good thing that we still have water on the tank. In the province, if there is no electricity, there is no water also.

7:00 PM. So, we took dinner with lights from the solar-powered lights. We are scared because of the sound of banging roofs, and cracking branches of the trees. We also heard the breaking of our plant pots. Too bad that those were broken, though.

9:00 pm. We checked our windows to make sure that they are tightly closed or else water will come inside and will damage our appliances. We call it a day and hopefully tomorrow at 6:00 AM there will be electricity already.

10/12/2021

6:00 AM. Still no luck. We checked outside and it looks like the house was in a big washing machine. It was a disaster. There was rainwater that managed to enter the house because of the strong wind despite tightly closed windows.

8:00 AM. Leaves and debris from the storm were scattered around. We collect and dumped them away in the bin.

9:00 AM. To take time faster, we painted together with my sister. This time I am painting fishes on the pond. Finished it in an hour. The room is not well lit and I had a hard time painting.

10:00 AM. At this point, I am really bored. I took a nap until lunchtime.

1:00 PM. After lunch, I let my sister have my toenails to be pedicured. Her passion right now is nail art. She got the tools from Shopee.

3:00 PM took a nap and woke up after an hour.

4:00 PM. Eating our meryenda pancit. I like the fried kikiam with it. After eating, I cleaned the terrace. I first mopped the floor and then swept the debris, leaves, and little rocks.

5:00 PM. I organized my cabinet. Fold my clothes. Sort my socks. At this point, I am really hoping the lights will be on at 6:00 PM.

5:55 PM. Finally! The electricity is on! I can now take a hot shower. I am exhaust from waiting for more than doing physical activities haha!

Final Thoughts

Sometimes not having electricity can force us to clean, which is a good thing! The bad side is we are delayed in our work and really disrupts the whole situation.

What I learned in this experience is we should be always ready during calamities. Mother nature is harsh, and so we should be always ready.

I just hope that the rain will not be this worst the next time it comes around.

You can read my other articles here:

❤️ Get To Know Me Better: Random Questions Part 2! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/get-to-know-me-better-random-questions-part-2-9623b7f7

❤️Covering the Earth with Pudding. Is it possible? (Answering Weird Questions) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/covering-the-earth-with-pudding-is-it-possible-answering-weird-questions-f762f037

❤️2 Online Shopping Platforms Review (Lazada vs. Shopee) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/2-online-shopping-platforms-review-lazada-vs-shopee-3f1f3b59

6
$ 2.64
$ 2.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @Niazi420
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Its good to know sis na okay lang kayo, but pretty sad for those na naapektuhan talaga nang malala dala nang bagyo. Let's pray for all of them talaga.

Anyways, Ingat po kayo palagi. Hmm.. Napansin ko din yung nail art, ang ganda (No Kimis!) Hanggang tingin nga lang ako, maikli kasi kuko ko kasi pag mahahaba, panay kamut ako kaya nagkakasugat-sugat balat ko.. Skl.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s very hard to spend time without electricity because nowadays everything is dependent on electricity in-fact it’s become our use case. But still, you made w day productive in that time and make your day productive. Have a good day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabuti naman po at okay na sa inyo dyan.. Useful din talaga ang mga solar lights... Sa oras ng emergency atleast hindi kayo mangangapa sa dilim..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingat kayo diyan sis. Nakita ko talaga sa Facebook parang maiyak ako. Grabe yung damage sa mga Lugar at epekto sa mga tao. Nakakaiyak talaga tas my landslide pa.🥺 Praying for them.🙏

Ang ganda naman ng nails mo sis and I like the color.🥰 Good morning sis.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis. May nawalan ng buhay na mga menor de edad dahil sa lanslide. Nakakalungkot at nakakaawa. Ok na kami sis, salamat sa pagiingat. Nawa'y maging ligtas ang lahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great to hear that you are all okay. We can do a lot of things without it. We take time to communicate and be with our family. Take care and have a great day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Really had the time to reflect. It has an advantage. I cleaned my closet haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, sis! Sisipagin ka lalo. Ok naman kayo jan? Ganda ng nails. Mapapashala ka talaga hehe. Good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, po okay na po kami. Yun nga lang madaming nasira. Babangon pa rin. 🙏🏻🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago