Friendship Over Politics? (True Story) Part 2

9 34
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Hello! Happy Friday.

In the last article, I shared a convo with my friends that have different beliefs about politics. I summarized the convo that they had last time on that article.

So in this article, I will be also sharing what I said to the BBM supporter. By the way, if you missed the first part, you can click this link Friendship Over Politics? (True Story) so that you will not miss anything.

Before I start, I would like to give thanks to my four remaining sponsors! Thank you so so much! I will always be grateful to you guys.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

The last part of the story is giving my reply to the Leni supporter 1. Now, this time, she replied with this (nonverbatim):

Leni Supporter: Exactly. I felt hurt because that is how she lowly valued our friendship. I can not deny the fact that sometimes I do not know how to view her because of what she is posting. But it does not mean that I do not like to bond with her ever again. I am just hurt because I feel like I am the bad guy here.

Before this Group chat drama began, both parties were posting about the other candidates. It is normal to post something bad about the politician because it is politics! In the end, she said that she is willing to talk with her but the way they bond will never be the same. Now, let me summarize the BBM supporter's convo with me.

BBM supporter: I was really shocked by what I read in the group chat. Since day 1 in college, we are together. And just because of the politics, we will be ending up like this. Instead of being happy with BBM's victory, I am crying because of this. I am sorry if you are the only person I reached out to. I have a ready-heavy feeling right now.


We had more conversations and these messages are just parts of it. I am really saddened to see what happened to my friends. I never thought in forever that there will be a time that we will fight about politics. Yes, we are not perfect friends and we fought about little things. This situation has gone beyond respecting each other.

I told them to stop hinting (parinig) on their posts because someone will just get hurt. The BBM supporter is willing to have a talk and to say sorry to the Leni supporter. She said that she is willing whole-heartedly that she will forget whatever happens and bring back what our friendship is. On the other hand, the Leni supporter just want to clear the air that she never want to disown (takwil) her. She just want to make peace, but she is not sure if the same friendship will be back.

In the end, the BBM supporter still greeted the Leni supporter a happy birthday last May 12th.

Final Thoughts

At this point, I exhausted all my power to make them friends again but I cannot force them to because I know someone is still hurting. I just let the time go and do the healing. This election broke a lot of relationship.

What I can say is, I will never say bad things or below-the-belt comments on to someone that is supporting a person has different beliefs. We are humans, not robots. We have different perspective and should be respected.

Right now both of them are calmer compared last time. I do really hope that our frienship will be restored.


That is it for today. Thank you for reading. I will see you at the next one.

Banner edited from Canva. Image from Unsplash

Please follow me on my new NC account. Thank you!

Date published: May 13, 2022


My other articles:

🥺 Friendship Over Politics? (True Story) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/friendship-over-politics-true-story-b0139c90

🍕My Post Election Thoughts https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-post-election-thoughts-ec227f75

🔥 I Am A First Time Voter https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-am-a-first-time-voter-dcb1609d


8
$ 2.49
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Captainkay
$ 0.03 from @LeticiaFelize
+ 2
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Comments

Yung True friendship dapat hindi naapektuhan sa ganyan, magiging okay din yan hehe it takes time lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, think positive lang tayo na maayos lahat in God's name. Hindi naman forever na magkagalit yun hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, time talaga ang magpapahilom sa kanila. As for now, they are not really talking to each other.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Makakalimutan rin yan sis hindi man ngayon Malay natin the next few days or months. Kung talagang magkaibigan wag sanang gawing pagitan ang usaping politics. Sorry to tell you pero yung mindset na ganyan na dahil magkaiba ang gusto e sisirain na ang pagkakaibigan di yan genuine friendship. Yung Totoong friendship marunong magpahalaga nang friendship sa Kabila nang differences.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. And I feel like I am in the middle and the one who is always catching their anger towards each other. I do really hope that time will come and they will set aside their political views.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It happens in friendship...and we shouldn't quarrel with the topic of politics...just say sorry to each other and solve it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that was my point to them. They are still hurting at this point so it is understandable that they are not making amends yet. But someday, I want them to make peace at each other.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pasasaan ba at magkakabati bati din, friendship will still prevail. Goodluck sa kanila sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga sis pero for now, hindi pa rin sila okay. I will just let time to pass and heal the situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago